Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 60 tyre reviews averaging 62% over 775,668 miles driven.

Dry Grip 73%
Wet Grip 59%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 66%
Wear 73%
Comfort 49%
Buy again 46%

The Potenza S001 RFT is ranked 73rd of 76 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT

2017-01-10 - Is the Potenza S001 (which is fitted on my new Mercedes SLC) a run flat tyre or are there two versions ie run flat and normal? Thank you.

If the tyre on your new Mercedes is the runflat version of the S001, it will have "runflat" / "rft" marked clearly on the sidewall.


2017-02-04 - I want to buy a summer tire for my Honda Civic.. 205/55 R16.. I live in Zonguldak Ere─čli.. Wet roads.. But if I make 25000 km for only 1 year.. Half is at highway, half is at wet roads.. I wanted to buy 205/55/16 94w , XL.. Safe and hard tire.. But I think this type of tire is very hard. Are there adverse effects on road handling? Which tires can you suggest to me?

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT is a runflat tyre, so has a very hard sidewall. This will protect you from sidewall damage on poor surface roads, but as a result it will be less comfortable than a non-runflat tyre. We suggest you look at the Bridgestone DriveGuard


2019-04-02 - What tyre do you recommend on a BMW m 140I I have Bridgestone potential soo1 rf on now which I have had since new

The default non-runflat option is the Michelin Pilot Super Sport, however this has now been replaced by the PIlot Sport 4 which offers better wet grip and higher levels of comfort, at the expense of some steering feel.


2024-02-21 - When are you going to do a runflat group test?

Unfortunately due to the extremely high costs and lack of real demand it seems unlikely I'll get to do this any time soon. The good news is that a tyre that performs well in non runflat is generally good in runflat, however with a large % of runflat tyres being OE specifications the translation doesn't always work out.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT Reviews

Given 50% while driving a BMW M135i (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Skittish in damp conditions, noisy on the motorway, expensive, not much to like to be honest.
Helpful 180 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2016
Given 47% while driving a BMW 320 d (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
Not much positives I can give on this tyre apart from it having a nice sporty feeling when driving but noisy at the same time. Unreliable dry grip and wet grip is much worse. The wear on them are okay. I would overall recommend Goodyear over them as it's a much better tyre.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2023
Given 43% while driving a BMW 318 (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 62,000 average miles
I have these fittet on my 2017 BMW F30. I could stand only 1500km to these. Constant understeer and no comfort whatsoever. Never again RFT, never again Potenza S001. The only little good side of the tyre is wear. But, what you do with it when you have no grip at all.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2023
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT Reviews

Given 53% while driving a BMW X1 25D Xdrive (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Absolutely dreadful, collected my 20k miles BMW X1 with these things on and my god are these things LOUD and uncomfortable! ! my part exchange was a Skoda YETI and it was absolutely silent in comparison with Potenza S02s on it. I don't care how much ware there is left on them they are being swapped for anything that's quieter than these! Absolutely the WORST tyre I've had in 40+ years driving!
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2024
Given 47% while driving a BMW 318 (225/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
BMW F30 user.
Pros:
1. Wears out very slowly
2. No worry in case of a flat tire (RFT)

Cons:
1. Very hard tires produces high vibration and loud noise gets inside the cabin and greatly effects comfort level
2. Very uncomfortable especially when dealing with road bumps
3. Poor dry grip where the car easily oversteers when cornering at high speed
4. Very poor wet grip
Will not buy again.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 60% while driving a BMW 523I (225/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 30,000 spirited miles
Likely due to it being a run flat, but terribly uncomfortable and loud, on standard suspension. Okay grip in dry, but bumps in the road completely ruin both the ride quality and your grip, latter especially in the wet. Only positive is the wear, as my set lasted about 50.000 km-s and still have thread depth, but the ride quality is so bad with these i will never equip run flats again.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2023
Given 53% while driving a Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16 (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Expensive and lousy tyre, not comfortable at all. But last quite long.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2023
Given 50% while driving a BMW 118i Sport (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
Too many noisy and vibrating tires. I feel this is not a tyre, it should be wooden wheel which contact between the road and the car. My tyre sizes are 225/40/18 on the front and 245/35/18 on the back. I also did sound insullation on my car but the vibrating and tyre noises can not cut unfortunately.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2023
Given 43% while driving a BMW 1 series M pack (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 25 spirited miles
Very bad in all areas, handling on dry and wet ground. Comfort, all the faults of the road its accentuated power 10 and tires very noisy and very expensive (former owners invoice, fortunately that I did not pay for this Shit). The lifespan looks ok but they are so bad that I will change them long before they die. The feeling of the road and average and consumption, I have no elements of comparison.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2022
Given 53% while driving a BMW 1 series M pack (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Tire mounted by the previous owner on my 2016 bmw 118d m sport, so bad that I will change them even though they are barely worn. Catastrophic handling, insecurity, always ready to countersteer because the car stalls for a yes or a no. Very poor and noisy comfort on the fast lane. Only positive point, slow wear but degrades the quality of the car so hard to keep.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2022
Given 54% while driving a BMW 330i M SPORT SALOON (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
aquaplaning a problem
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2022
Given 55% while driving a BMW 340 m sport (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
I drove with the front tires for 73,000 km and they had 5mm tread depth left. These tires are extremely uncomfortable because they generated very loud noise after driving faster than 50 km/h. i changed them with Pirelli P-Zero RFT and the noise level dropped by 70% as i still have 2 rear Potenza s001 tires. That is my only complain but it's a big one. I was angry that i changed them early due to the uncomfortable noise level that they generate.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2022
Given 66% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,500 spirited miles
Came with the car and I haven't tried any other set so can't compare, but the tyres give me good driving confidence overall. I would say that they tend to wash out a tad on the limit when cornering, but grip has been consistently decent. Being runflats, comfort is quite compromised (hence why I can't wait to swap them for regulars), while there is some tyre noise of a strange frequency at about 70 mph.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 30% while driving a BMW M140i (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Have an m140i and purchased the run flat version of these. The comfort level of these tyres is atrocious and have had to subsequently buy another pair of the Michelin pilot sports which have been great. Stay away from these tyres if you have an mperformance car
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Infiniti Q50 (225/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 22,500 spirited miles
Very good grip dry and wet, I live in a place where pouring rain is oftenly happen,but these tyres never make me feel slippery. Very long life, they runs 22500miles and still have about 3-4mm to the wear mark. Also very expensive, almost double the price compared with csc5 and advan 105s rft. The tyres are hard as rocks, very intense response and make you so confident drive fast, it's a pleasure to cut corner. The side effect is when hit obstacles on the road will make you feel they're crashing the suspensions of the car. Very annoyingly noisy. Change them with advan v105 when after 4 years two of the four tyres have bulge.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2022