BMW 120d M sport Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 120d M sport.

Do you Drive a BMW 120d M sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 120d M sport better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (106) 95% 94% 89% 92% 89% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (19) 98% 91% 96% 98% 75% 79%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (394) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Fulda SportControl 2 (16) 86% 86% 87% 80% 82% 95%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (200) 92% 90% 84% 86% 76% 81%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (30) 86% 87% 80% 83% 87% 80%
Falken ZE914 (95) 89% 82% 85% 81% 82% 82%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (62) 85% 79% 76% 80% 68% 78%
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (25) 75% 87% 68% 72% 71% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (121) 85% 73% 78% 77% 70% 65%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (26) 82% 73% 71% 73% 70% 56%
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (28) 83% 67% 75% 71% 58% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 RFT (43) 77% 63% 68% 70% 73% 56%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (135) 72% 53% 55% 48% 56% 32%

BMW 120d M sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 93% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
This tyre has transformed my BMW. The steering feel on my model is sorely lacking, but this tyre offers so much feedback that it will not be silenced. The grip in dry and wet are both quite exceptional, but be aware that cold summer mornings (10-15 degrees C) require warming of the tyres before all the grip is there. I had the opportunity to try the tyre on a dry track, and it stood up well - so for anyone who does only the odd trackday, this tyre should be on your list. Did I mention the feedback? It has made my very capable, but always slightly dull BMW a really fun car to drive! Even at perfectly sane and socially acceptable speeds on the road the car is so much more satisfying to drive. It feels more alive and very talkative. Comfort is good, firm but rarely jarring, and it is surprisingly quiet for a performance tyre. Jonathan's review pitching this tyre against the PS4S is spot on the money.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-10 17:49:04
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 91% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
Excellent tire in wet conditions. Good steering feel as well as good dry handling with only a little bit of understearing tendency. Even after 20000km the rear tires (245/35 R18) show little wear. Overall good comfort for a high performance tire. Definitely recommended for a lot of milage and any sporty car.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-19 08:45:30
Writing about the Fulda SportControl 2 given 76% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
This tyre performs far better than some of the negative reviews suggests. Just don't mistake it for an UHP tyre. It is very comfortable and extremely quiet with large reserves of grip in both wet and dry conditions. Many tyres are relatively quiet on smooth surfaces, but this tyre makes NO noise on good surfaces. Impressive for a 245 section tyre. Rough surfaces will cause noise, but that goes for any tyre. Even so, it is never intrusive. If you are considering a touring tyre, you should shortlist Fulda Sport Control 2. If you have lots of motorway miles, you should put it high on that list. Not least for the smooth ride, low noise level and 4 wide drainage channels that allow it to deal surprisingly well with standing water. Now, if you crave steering feel...you will, like me, be left wanting. There is plenty of grip, it's just not a talkative tyre...like most touring tyres it masks bumps nicely, as it should...but that same characteristic means it also slurs your steering input and masks feedback. I have not spent the low miles I put on this tyre pootling about, I have pushed it to test it thoroughly. There really is plenty of grip, the tyre just doesn't let you know. Frustrating for any petrol-head. Even so, I would strongly recommend it over most other touring tyres. The safety reserve in grip and the low noise levels are above average. The low rolling resistance is welcome bonus.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-03 19:08:02
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 68% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have had these fitted to my car for two weeks. I got a good deal on them from Demon Tweaks (with a 20% ebay discount) hence why I decided to go for them, plus I had a good experience with the previous RS3 tyre on another car. These replaced a set of Goodyear Eagle Assymetric 3's so much of my review is going to be based on a comparison to those.
Firstly Dry grip, they seem very good in this respect. I cannot tell any difference between these and the Goodyears.
Wet grip. Aquaplaning resistance is excellent, probably down to the very deep treads. However on wet but not soaking roads they seem to lack traction when pulling away, and I can make the rear of the car step out under throttle which I couldn't do with the Goodyears so I don't think they are all that brilliant in this regard. Especially as the Goodyears were worn.
Road reedback is good, as is handling. They seem nice and predictable on the limit.
I cannot comment on wear as it is too early to say.
Comfort. These are XL tyres and I do find them rather firm over bumps. They are certainly not as compliant as many other tyres I have had. Noise wise they are quiet however.
Would I buy again? It would depend on whether they are on offer or not. I would be tempted to spend a bit more on a set of Goodyear Assymetric 5's as if the Assymetic 3 is anything to go by they will be a better tyre in most aspects and not much more cost. Failing that and if cost really was a factor I would go for the Falken FK510. The wife has them on her car and they are also a better tyre (and cheaper)
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-15 21:12:46
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Runflat given 56% (215-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I purchased my car with these already fitted. They are 6 months old with approx 5-6mm of tread depth.
They are very comfortable for a runflat, not too noisy and dry grip is good.
They are progressive in the dry.
Wet grip is average and they don't clear standing water very well. This has led to a couple of very scary moments in heavy rain on faster roads.
I think I will replace with something else when the time comes. Rarely have I driven on a tyre which lacks so much water shifting ability, I can only imagine how bad they will be once the tread wears down.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-13 11:53:30
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 average miles
Really good UHP tire for everyday use. Offers a lot of confidence on the limit, especially in the wet. After 20000km just slightly worn, lost about 0,6mm of rubber.
Feedback is pretty good but I wouldn‘t recomend them for track use.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-12 09:00:05
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept RS2 given 76% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Very good winter tyre for combined conditions, with generally wet roads.

For the price, it won't disappoint. Unless you want a sporty edge, with progressive manners near the limit, in which case I suggest trying another brand. (Goodyear Gen1, for example.)

tyre reviewed on 2019-07-23 09:08:27
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 68% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Not at all a bad tyre, but the difference in dry vs. wet is surprisingly large. The grip loss in the wet is sudden. (Maybe the Runflat design is partly to blame for that.)

I think the RE720 (yes that was LONG time ago) and the 050A were much better in the wet, not much more grip, but much more progressive slip. It's all about confidence and control.

S001 will stand up to a trackday, which was part its predecessors brief too. That makes it a good choice over some other UHPs, which tend to overheat and never really recover.

Oh, if you have lots of motorway miles, the noise is quite intrusive.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-21 22:00:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 71% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin 002, which was discontinued and 003 wasn't available locally.

In such direct comparison I have scored the Sport 4 quite low in feedback and progressiveness because the Potenza was so much more communicative, firm and direct in feel. The steering always a had solid feel, only lightening up as the limit approached.

Sport 4 contradicts itself in that the steering became quite springy/spongy and not very direct...but the ride comfort was no better than the Potenza. Like the Sport 4 is stiff only in the vertical plane, but soft in transverse.

The Sport 4 has BAGS of grip in the dry and almost shocking grip in wet conditions. THAT is an achievement and for anyone looking for lots of safe grip will love this tyre. If you want a more engaging drive, you might be dissappointed. Obviously, a lower profile than the 55 tested might improve feedback...but the Potenzas were ace in the same size.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-23 19:30:43
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 0% (215-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Before I rant, apologies, this is a bit of a premature review, but it is a review of sorts none the less.
I bought these tyres today and can only say I am already disappointed in them and they are not even on the car yet! When I do eventually get them on the car however (when I swap them with the winters I have on at the moment), I am going to have to park V carefully, due to the fact that on this premium grade, run flat, more likely than not to be wrapped around some expensive alloy due to the 18 inch diameter tyre, I find that these tyres have no rim protection edge whatsoever. The rim edge is almost dead flush with the edge of the tyre. I am a fairly careful driver and won't be mounting the kerb to park, but when it comes to replacing these in however long it takes me to get to that time, regardless of how well they perform, I can pretty much guarantee I will now have to factor in the cost of a wheel refurb as well as new tyres. So in short, although I may have saved myself £20 in purchasing these tyres, over the next more expensive tyre, in the long run its going to cost me more.
Hope you have found this review of use, I wish I had read one similar before buying as I would have gone for the next tyre up!!
Yours, Mr already fed up.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-08 19:08:41
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre