Ford Mondeo ST220 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Ford Mondeo ST220.

Do you Drive a Ford Mondeo ST220? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Mondeo ST220 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (17) 91% 91% 87% 80% 84% 89%
GT Radial Champiro WinterPro HP (4) 90% 88% 83% 85% 77% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (282) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Neuton NT5000 (65) 88% 77% 81% 76% 84% 84%
BFGoodrich g Force Profiler (11) 84% 78% 83% 70% 93% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Michelin Pilot Primacy (51) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71%
Toyo T1R (284) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Uniroyal RainSport 5 (32) 70% 82% 63% 66% 69% 73%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (32) 80% 63% 62% 68% 68% 63%
Falken FK453 (28) 76% 70% 61% 58% 59% 68%
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (34) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50%
Accelera PHI (147) 69% 46% 54% 53% 67% 59%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (129) 70% 48% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Wanli Snowgrip S1083 (7) 70% 49% 60% 49% 70% 63%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Triangle TR968 (68) 54% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38%
Fullrun HP199 (77) 47% 27% 32% 32% 54% 27%

Ford Mondeo ST220 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Nero GT given 100% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Black, round and rubbery. Perfect! Your average man on the road can not review or score a tyre. Lewis Hamilton wannabe's can't really drive and they certainly don't have the equipment to measure "how good" a tyre is..
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-23 15:43:50
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 5 given 97% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 250 average miles
Excellent tyre had them on for almost a week, Wet grip when cornering just gets tighter as you turn into it can actually feel the amount of grip, My mondeo ST is on firm springs so comfort is not something thats going to change with a tyre as there low profile anyway. The sidewalls seem alot stiffer compared to the RS3 aswell. Definitely a tyre worth buying by all means.

I paid £90 a corner fully balanced with new valves.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-25 17:03:36
Writing about the Triangle TR968 given 30% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Never used the phrase ditchfinders before; however, if there is a tyre worthy of the title these are it. I drive a Mondeo ST220 estate and these tyres came with a set of Focus RS 19s I got on eBay. I’ve had the tyres on the car for a while now and I cannot stress how bad they are, the only reason they are still on is because I rarely drive the car and virtually never in the wet as it’s a second/project car.

Dry grip, very poor, the car just wants to understeer and if I go near the throttle setting off I get tyre squeal.

Wet grip, what wet grip? These tyres are outright dangerous in the wet, they don’t aquaplane too much, but again even with 220bhp I can spin the wheels up in third and it’s a long geared car. The car just meanders about as it feels. I’ve driven with bald tyres that have better wet grip than these things.

On the plus side they have lasted alright (if you can see it as a plus side), as I was hoping they’d wear quicker so I would have an excuse to get them off my car faster.

The car is in for a load of suspension work next week so will be getting these off the car ASAP after that! I’m looking for Michelin Pilot Super Sports. No matter how cheap these things are they aren’t worth it, even if you get offered a set for free, decline the offer they are that bad!
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-05 09:38:11
Writing about the GT Radial Champiro WinterPro HP given 79% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
I first fitted a set of GT-Radial Champiro Winter Pro HP's a couple of years ago and was pleasantly surprised with the all-round capabilities of the tyre, especially factoring in the price! The dry grip and handling is pretty good on these, and is certainly better than the price would suggest, but they fell a little short in the wet. I found myself backing off somewhat while cornering in the wet due to a rather understeery nature in those conditions, but by no means excessive or unpredictable.

I also had chance to use these tyres in rather bad snow and ice, and was really impressed with them in this department. These tyres got me all over the place in fresh snow, compacted snow, ice and all combinations of the above, with little effort.

The negatives of this tyre, at least for me, was the fact that they needed a LOT of balance weights to get the wheel in balance, suggesting they're not made all that precisely. And the tread blocks also wore unevenly, dispite the pressures being obsessively maintained, and with no issue with tracking or suspension geometry, etc.

I decided to go with these tyres again for the rear, so clearly I've been happy with then for the price!
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-14 22:49:08
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 93% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I decided to try the Vredestein Wintrac Pro based on the price, available reviews and comments made in the 'winter tyre recommendations' video on YouTube.
I paid £98.00 inc vat per tyre, delivered (225/40 R18).

My first outing on the Wintrac Pro's was a trip from Sheffield to Cumbria in very wet 5°C weather, with a good combination of roads to tests them on. Firstly, I was most impressed with the tyres performance in the miserable wet (very wet) conditions! I came from a Falken ZE310 ECORUN - a tyre which has performed very well for me in wet conditions, but the Wintrac Pro had a noticeable increase in lateral grip while cornering over my previous tyres in these conditions, which left a big smile on my face to say the least! Even when pushing the car a little harder than I was previously comfortable with there was no onset of understeer or loss of feel towards the limit of grip.
I was also able to perform a full emergency stop (wet road 5°C), thanks to a suicidal deer! And in and process the car came to a stop very quickly, and with a fantastic sure footed feeling....the dear walked away to live another day with plenty of room to spare.
I would describe the Wintrac Pro as a quiet, very confidence inspiring tyre with excellent handling qualities, with fantastic levels of grip in both the wet and dry. Extremely happy so far! Looking forward to testing them in the ice and snow.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-09 23:41:36
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-21 20:09:30
Writing about the Fullrun HP199 given 40% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
A serious risk to safety of yourself and all those around you. Noise is so bad that they drown out the sound of damaged wheel bearing. Potholes feel like small cliffs. Painting the edges of your rims black and leaving them off will do you a favour.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-10 16:11:48
Writing about the Falken FK453 given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Just completed 20000 miles on a set of these and for the price you will find these at most tyreshops they are pretty good value. In the year I've had these the only criticism I would have with these would be the following-

1 - They are quite noisy, on UK roads and motorways the road noise is as loud as the rest of the car

2 - They seem to have quite hard sidewalls as I could feel every little bump in the road, even joins between sections of roads result in a noticeable thud when passing over them

3 - When worn they become very skittish at high speed on uneven road surfaces (country B-roads etc), you will need to keep a hold on the wheel when on the straights as they tramline a fair bit

I wore my fronts down to the limit (or maybe just past it as they resembled slicks!) and in the wet I still found it fairly hard to break them free, and they didn't seems to aquaplane often.

If you don't want to break the bank then there isn't much else in this price range that will be any better and to get 20000 miles out of them I felt was pretty good value for money.

Overall, this is the 2nd set of Falkens I've had (prev 452's) and have never had any major problems with them, would definitely buy them again if money is tight.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-16 18:25:18
Writing about the Wanli Snowgrip S1083 given 83% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
I've read numerous reviews on how bad these tyres are and felt I had to have my say before people get the wrong idea about these tyres. I must say that they do exactly what it says on the box. They are WINTER tyres so are designed to work at temperatures below 7 deg. If you drive aggressively at 12 deg temperatures then they will break away and feel like there is no grip in exactly the same way as a summer tyre will not work if not up to temperature. For this type of temperature you need SUMMER tyres. If you do the same type of driving when the temperature is near freezing and you will think you are on your summer track day tyres. In the snow and ice they will grip like you are on a dry road. Not all tyres are the same - just ask the F1 teams. There is no such thing as a universal tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-16 11:53:20
Writing about the Event WL905 given 39% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I recently bought my Frod Mondeo ST220 which had these tyres on the front. They're fine in the dry, but in the wet it is like driving on ice! The car just wheelspins everywhere. Not good tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-12 17:26:35
Writing about the Neuton NT5000 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I have been getting these for firstly my Connect van which I do 30K + a year for over two years now, also got some for my wifes Mondeno ST they are very good, dont be put off by the name , they are a very good tyre, especially in the wet, as good as the more expensive better know names, I have had over 4 sets of these and would recommend these to everyone
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-01 19:53:06
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Sport given 27% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
There was so much noise I thought I had a wheel bearing on the way out until I changed to a set of Falken ZE912's, one of the worst all round tires I've ever used.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-10 17:31:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre