Yokohama ADVAN Sport

The Yokohama ADVAN Sport is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 64%
Handling 65%
Wear 47%
Comfort 50%
Buy again 45%

Tyre review data from 35 tyre reviews averaging 59% over 319,562 miles driven.

The ADVAN Sport is ranked 63rd of 64 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test - 26th of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>

2011 Autoreview Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Quiet
  • Negative - Poor wet grip, poor wet handling, low aquaplaning resistance
  • Overall - The Yokohama Advan Sport scored similarly to the Bridgestone RE050A giving average dry performance and poor wet scores. This again raised the question as to whether the Japanese ship a different compound into Russia, or is it just one of Yokohamas flashship tyres really lags behind its competitors
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama ADVAN Sport
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Yokohama ADVAN Sport. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


ADVAN Sport Prices

Size Price Range  
245/40 R18 £217.90 - £224.00 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Yokohama ADVAN Sport Reviews

Given 60% while driving a Suzuki Kizashi 2.4L FWD (235/45 R18) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
These tyres have covered 33000km and are half worn, very evenly.
I have driven this car for 2000 km since buying it. The tyres have average grip in wet and dry. "Sport" is a joke. Bends I could take easily and safely in a 3.5L FWD Maxima on Goodyear Eagle F1's are now "challenging"... last week in damp, not wet, conditions I had a progressive and gentle 4 wheel slide on an urban corner at around 45 km/h which the Goodyears would take in full rain at 60km/h. I am having to relearn my braking points and speeds step by step on my daily commute. They are OK for braking both wet and dry -in a straight line- but the Kizashi's brakes are outstanding. I am no longer confident taking bends in the wet.
6 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2015   
Given 59% while driving a Nissan Maxima (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Just bought these Yokos with a new Maxima and I still have my older Maxima with different tyres and the road noise from these Yokos is nothing short of just plain appalling!! I was wondering what the heck was going on when I 1st started driving them. Shocking road noise which ruins any music you put on to try and drown them out with. Can't argue with the grip etc and haven't done enough milage to give an oppinion but there are tyres this good without the overwhelming noise factor so go get them and avoid these puppie like the plague!!
1 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2013   
Given 59% while driving a Honda new civic tourer (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,000 spirited miles
The tyres are grippy enough and if you push them will give warning before letting go.

Problem is they wear quickly. My previous 2.2 Civic on a 195 Michelin energy saver tyre got 23,000 miles from fronts and the rears did 60,000 miles with 4.5mm remaining. The fronts on this are down to 2mm in 12,000 miles and rears to 4mm. Not only is this a wider tyre than the last Civic its got 30bhp less so I would expect better life not worse.

I won't buy again
1 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2016   
Have you driven on the Yokohama ADVAN Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama ADVAN Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama ADVAN Sport >

Latest Yokohama ADVAN Sport Reviews

(225/45 R17) on for 5,000 miles
The tyres came with car. A Lotus Elise 2 a sports car often used as a benchmark in handling. In the damp at regular speeds ok but push on a bit on the bends and they will break traction. Aquaplaning , a distinct possibility on this size of rubber. Noise levels acceptable on all but the noisier forms of tarmacadam. Dry weather grip pretty decent but if you explore the upper limits of adhesion be prepared for the tyres to let go with little warning.It happened to me and I wasn’t driving that radically. Summing up, fit for purpose to the greater extent for regular driving but if you want something that will instill confidence in all conditions including some ‘spirited’ driving look elsewhere. I will be.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2021   
Given 42% while driving a (255/40 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
Had a full set of these added to my Saab 9-5 aero 2.8 xwd replacing Michelin Pilot 3.

They have transformed the car in every way: but none positive,

Drives noisy, poor feedback, stopping in rain less good, poor feel in Corners and the real kick in teeth is the mpg has gone from 32.1 down to 29.7.

Can't comment about wear but I sort of hope they won't last to long to save my hearing.

Oh yes they are ugly too!
0 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a BMW 525d E61 Touring M Sport (245/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Love these tyres. I travel 66 miles per day commuting on country roads in the dark and wet. In the dry these tyres let you know exactly what is happening for a heavy fast sports tourer. I have complete confidence in them and considering they are Run Flats, they are supremely comfortable. In the wet they break traction very slowly when pushing on in bends. Previous AVONS were atrocious. I have Pirellis on the wifes 320d S- Sport Coupe and they are much harder (but a good tyre nonetheless). I cannot comment on wear, but I have done 10,000 miles thus far and they have at least that left on fronts and rears again. I will be replacing them with the same!
0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2014   
Given 31% while driving a Volvo S60 D5 (185) (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 7,000 spirited miles
Volvo S60 2012 D5 .

Size : 225/50 R17

These are regular tyres , don't be fooled around with SPORTS written on it .

Cornering is very scary .


0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2013   
Given 24% while driving a Audi A7 S Line 245ps (265/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
Shockingly poor OEM tyre choice from Audi.

As another review here states, I thought I had a wheel bearing on the way out on a brand new car. In fact I was convinced of it as I couldn't believe a manufacturer would allow such a poor choice of tyre for a luxury car like the Audi A7.

Audi have agreed to change these to Michelin Pilot Sports which having driven another A7 with these on will make it a whole new car.

Amazingly despite these tyres being replaced after just 2000 miles I can see signs of wear already all around the outer edges so I doubt they would have made 10,000 miles had my ears and patience lasted that long.

Last word on progressiveness. Progressive is what the Goodyear Eagle F1 tyres offer, a gradual and predictable level of grip that would change slowly but surely as tyre wear grew on. These Yokos are progressive like a set of worn 20,000 mile Eagle F1s. They must suit a style of driving somewhere, perhaps Mazda RX8 for drifting but again, not for a Quattro car that is about grip and assertive handling in all weather.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2013   
Given 82% while driving a Porsche Cayenne 3.0 Diesel (275/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I am really happy with these tires, I don't think they're noisy at all.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2013   
Given 78% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra cdti (150) (235/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
i have this tyres fitted all round on a vecta hatchback 1.9 cdti, the car is lowered considerably and is tuned to 197bhp and over 300lbs/ft of torque. i have found these tyres to be exceptional, the dry grip for a road tyre is outstanding and the wet performance i have found to be unbelievably good. i originally only has these fitted to the front but had to fit 2 to the rear as the overbalance of front grip would swing the back out on a wet roundabout with worrying ease. a perfect tyre for british weather! i cannot really comment on comfort or noise as my car is extremely uncomfortable no matter the tyre and with the other noises emanating from my car i cant really say if they are a noisy tyre but they arnt excessively noisy. the wear rate as with any soft sports tyre like this is high. unfortunately if you want grip uou have to pay a price, its just one of those things. would i buy them again? if i can afford to, most certainly!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2013   
Given 79% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Firstly, the suspension on my car has been lowered, so I would expect a) better than average grip and b) quicker than average tyre wear.

Grip in the dry is great, I have much more confidence through corners than the stock Toyos gave me and braking distance is also better.

In the wet they are fine, but there have been times when I haven't felt as in control as I would like, but this is a 'premium summer tyre,' so perhaps this should be expected.

The ride in the car was already harsh and the change in tyres neither improved nor worsened the ride.

Looking at the tread remaining I would suggest I may get a total of 12k miles (inc swapping rears to fronts)at a push before needing replacements.

Overall, the performance is good and the dry grip is superb, but remember this is a performance tyre and as such is a fairly soft compound, which may increase road noise and will not be the longest lasting.

I may well use them again in the future, but these do not come cheap and I will probably explore a lesser known brand of tyre when I change these.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2013   
Given 27% while driving a Ford Mondeo ST220 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
There was so much noise I thought I had a wheel bearing on the way out until I changed to a set of Falken ZE912's, one of the worst all round tires I've ever used.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2012   
Given 39% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 350 AMG (285/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I've been using this standard fitted tyres on my car for three months and i hate it, it has a appalling ride and goddamn it it's very noisy, 30 miles per hour in town and I cant hear the audio. Very disappointing.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2012   
Given 87% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.6 105 bhp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I have these tyers on my seat leon for 30000km now and they are still very good!
0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2011   
Given 77% while driving a Ford Falcon xr6 (245/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
Generally speaking very positive all round. Unable to fault except a little or slightly noisier than I expected. Price not hapy but when buying toward the top end what can you expect?
0 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2011