Maxxis MA V1

The Maxxis MA V1 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 69%
Wet Grip 61%
Road Feedback 61%
Handling 53%
Wear 65%
Comfort 61%
Buy again 49%

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 60% over 342,500 miles driven.

The MA V1 is ranked 140th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Maxxis MA V1
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Maxxis MA V1

Questions and Answers for the Maxxis MA V1

2017-08-15 - Are Maxxis tyres 245/50 r18 m36 run flat suitable for my BMW X3

As long as the Maxxis M36 is in the correct size and load rating for your X3, there's no reason you can't use this tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Maxxis MA V1 Reviews

Given 55% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (275/40 R17) on mostly town for 40,000 spirited miles
The tires are ok if you are not trying to compete against the big expensive brands, the sidewall is very tough and the tires can handle good, but the grip while breaking is not great ,I drove them for so long, around 50k,and they were pretty well, it's a great lasting tire as it comes to the price but sacrificing grip in both wet and dry.
32 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2013   
Given 39% while driving a Holden Vectra V6 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
I put these tyres on my ZC Vectra - can only describe them as discraceful - had to remove them with 90% tread left and replaced with various second hand tyres - why ? Because the road noise was diabolical to describe the least - it was like I was driving a flying saucer with whirring coming from every direction - terrible and could not recommend them at all.
6 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2016   
Given 50% while driving a BMW M3 (235/40 R17) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
Worst tires ever purchased. Wore completely slick after less than 4,000 miles. Customer service was a joke - says only person that can authorize an adjustment is in China now.
4 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2012   
Have you driven on the Maxxis MA V1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Maxxis MA V1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Maxxis MA V1 >

Latest Maxxis MA V1 Reviews

Given 37% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
These tyres are ok I suppose but very noisy. After they have started to ware down you'll be looking for a worn out wheel bearing, don't worry it is the sound these tyres make. They are very noisy at around 30mph, and you can feel the vibration through the steering too.

These tyres were on the car when I got it, I have also had some of these tyres before on a previous car and said I would never buy them again just down to the noise they make, you'll understand if you get some. Once you replace them your car will be so much quieter...
2 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2013   
Given 73% while driving a Fiat Bravo (195/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
ford mounted and are a bit noisy. dry and water are good is where these tires work best
0 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2012   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 33% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (215/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
They came already fitted when I bought my Vectra 2nd hand. They’re alright for general everyday use but bad on snow/ice and in the wet (I realise they’re a summer tyre). The ’tractor style’ symmetric pattern has worn into ‘wedge’ shapes, i.e. leading edge is lower than the front. The type of wear seems to be causing really annoying road noise (I’ve checked endlessly for worn bearings).

Basically a cheap and nasty tyre; I can’t wait until they’re bald and I can then stick on some NCT5’s
0 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2012   
Given 86% while driving a Jaguar S Type 2.7D (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
A bit noisier that previous Goodyears but general grip in wet and dry was fine.
Wear rate is amazing - Goodyears were lasting about 10k miles, these have lasted 35k!!
The best thing is the grip in snow and ice. I would have bought these as winter tyres. Struggled to get traction previously. Never had any problem in the snow with these despite paying about £85 each two years ago.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2012   
Given 57% while driving a Citroën Xsara VTS 167bhp (205/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good grip on dry but when still new, don't recommend to use in the wet, breaks traction quite easily
0 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2011   
Given 61% while driving a MG ZT 260 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
They seem to last very well and if that is what you want you will like them for that. Grip is mainly fair but poor on cold wet surface if pushing on. 12k covered still 10-12k left with tyre rotation. I would buy for any normal A-B use, more than good enough. Not as grippy as the Kumho fitted before but they were no great shakes either.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2011   
Given 66% while driving a MG ZT 260 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
These are a solid choice as far as mid range to budget tyres are concerned. They have nice stiff sidewalls, suit a heavier car and are well priced. They loose out a little on grip in cold and wet compared to more expensive tyres. However they offer a very good performance/price ratio. In the dry the grip is very good, they are quiet and offer a comfortable ride.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2011   
Given 57% while driving a Nissan Primera (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Had this tyres on my Primera for less than a year and it's already perished on all of them. But two good things about this tyres is comfort and quite.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2010   
Given 33% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 43,000 average miles
these tyres were fitted as standard by the dealer when i purchased the car, i had 29,000 on the clock, i now have 43,000 on the clock and have to replace both front tyres, my next purchase will not be these, i am looking at the kumho sport, or vredstein sessanta, not my cup of tea as i have 150 horses going through my front wheels.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2010   
Given 84% while driving a Mitsubishi FTO (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Great perfomance. Probably the best bang for your buck for its price range. Used the tyres for 2years until it wears out.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2010   
Given 89% while driving a Renault (225/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 118,000 average miles
I have been using Maxxis Tyres on my 7 year old Renault Espace for many years now and have not been disappointed. At less than half the price of the bigger brand names they perform just as well with the added bonus that they last far longer. So far 2 sets have covered more than 30000 miles on the front and one set covered 54000 miles on the back. I have tried Michellin and Pirelli but these do not wear anywhere near as well. I now have 8 tyres running on 2 cars (the other is an Audi A3 Quattro with a sportier tread) and I am delighted.

I will not change to another brand.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2009   
Given 55% while driving a Subaru Impreza (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
DO not fit these tyres to an All-Wheel-Drive vehicle as they create a bias causing the car to pull strongly to the left in my case. I have had 4 wheel alignments in the last 2 months and Subaru have said it is the tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2009