BMW E39 5 series Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW E39 5 series.

Do you Drive a BMW E39 5 series? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a E39 5 series better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin A4 (53) 88% 95% 91% 88% 94% 93%
BFGoodrich gForce Profiler 2 (24) 92% 85% 87% 84% 89% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (154) 94% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Kleber Quadraxer (42) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (34) 84% 91% 82% 76% 83% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (290) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (282) 90% 88% 81% 84% 74% 79%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (83) 86% 82% 81% 82% 78% 77%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Michelin Primacy 3 (181) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (165) 83% 75% 77% 76% 72% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Michelin Pilot Primacy (52) 80% 76% 71% 68% 85% 71%
Uniroyal Rallye 550 (9) 82% 89% 76% 78% 64% 79%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (196) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Maxxis Premitra HP5 (30) 83% 76% 73% 73% 64% 68%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Nankang NS2 (210) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55%
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Fullrun HP199 (78) 48% 28% 32% 33% 54% 27%

BMW E39 5 series Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Maxxis Premitra HP5 given 99% (225-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
According to an Article found online:
(The Maxxis Premitra HP5 has been awarded the highest honour at 2015 Motor Trend magazine’s ‘Tyre of the Year’ award ceremony in Shanghai surpassing the likes of industry leaders Pirelli, Bridgestone and Goodyear.)
I decided to give the Maxxis Premitra HP5 a try.
Not expecting much from chinese brands, I was positive surprised !

Outstanding performance in wet and dry weather conditions !
The EU - Tire label rated A for wet conditions is spot on !
Never had that great street performance experience on other tires.Not even the Continental Winter Contact tires I had were that god on rainy conditions.
I drive once a week a 49 km mountain road.
The grip on the curves is just incredible god.
Minimum vibration and rolling noise.On freeway,Highway speeds even lover
sounds like beeing in a airplane.
Wear is not visible jet. but because of its full-silica rubber compound I guess these will last for a long time.
I understand now why the Maxxis Premitra HP5 beat Pirelli, Bridgestone and Goodyear at the‘Tyre of the Year’ award ceremony in Shanghai last year.

I highly recommend these 225/55/16 sized Maxxis Premitra HP5 tires
for BMW and simmilar build and weighted cars.
Tire size 205 to 235 may be same or simmilar god.
Please do not complain later, If you need big tires for SUV or sports cars.
Big tires are different in handling and noise levels.Wait for a review with the
big sized tires you need.


tyre reviewed on 2016-06-07 11:11:37
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 100% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Outstanding wet and dry grip !! very comfortable for 265/35 ZR18 tire. I would recommand for E39 or any rear wheel drive car, pedal to the metal in wet curbs and no DSC ! i would definitely buy again you won't be disjointed of PS4. i Would go Michelin for winter as well very good tries also good wear 2000 miles and they are just like new !
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-06 09:11:32
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 100% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 50000 average miles
I was so disappointed about the comfort and steering of my 5er when her 18" M alloys wore P Zero and Eagle F1. The car drove like an overloaded lorry in ruts and on flat tyres. I was about to give up 18" in favour of standard 16" but decided to give them a very last chance, with reasonably priced tyres this time. I went for Falken ZIEX 912 (now 914) and - my goodness - what a change! Where have you been whole my life? Finally the car drives like it should! Road cracks nicely damped, great handling on wet (confident ride 160km/h on autobahn in the rain), reasonably long lasting. What can you ask more? It's a 3rd pair of 912/914 I order today. For 1,5t saloon, it's a tyre worth of every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-28 22:30:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 76% (235-35-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Sensational performing tyre - the only down side is an abysmal wear rate.

Lasted 10000 miles on the rear of a 5 Series.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-05 10:09:04
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 95% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I had several E39s over the years and the only tyre coming close to or being equal to the Michelin Primacy 3 ST - yes ST as new development made for Pacific region by Michelin - is the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 as 17" model. They are unbelievable re noise level, grip like a high performance tyre but cost less. Impressive around bends in the wet even when accelerating hard. Transformed the car completely and as I have driven Michelin Pilot Sport 3 on same E39 type before I can say they are the same but the Primacy are cheaper. Cannot comment on wear at all though.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-08 12:50:58
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 93% (225-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I found these tyre really good. I ran them on my BMW 528i for 15,000 miles, and during that period they lost around half of theor tread depth. I find that wear rate pretty good considering I drive fairly hard. Dry grip is excellent and they are very progressive. In the wet they grip is slightly behing most newer premium tyres but considering the cost difference I find this acceptable.
They are quite and give a smooth ride, and grip in the snow is reasonable for a summer tyre. I would certianly buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-26 15:12:37
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 90% (255-35-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
Been very happy with my ZZ3s. I bought my 528i with these fitted on the rear, 255/35/17s, so already part worn, and I've done 9000miles now with no concern for wear, I drive every day, I drive hard when the traffic allows, I turn off ASC for some fun sometimes, and yet the tyres are still going strong. I would suspect any issues people may have are due to incorrect suspension geometry on your car.
I'm not looking for replacements yet, but my wifes Saab needs tyres and am considering Avons again or Vredestein Sessanta due to a mate with a 530i highly recommending them too.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-30 18:03:35
Writing about the Michelin Alpin A4 given 93% (205-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Had them on my 2.5d chipped e39 and they were amazing. Just what you expect from winter tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-22 10:14:19
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 90% (255-40-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 easy going miles
I put Avon ZZ3s all round on my BMW525 two years ago. Fronts still in really good condition but rears are now ready for replacement. Not too sure about the mileage I've had out of them but certainly more than 20k - maybe as high as late 20s.
Very happy with these tyres based on value, road noise, longevity etc and will replace with same tyre
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-26 12:39:08
Writing about the Goodride SV308 given 69% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
Good on asphalt. Not good on snow, i dont understand why they have m+s winter mark, they definetly are no winter tyres but on summer they are ok. they have probably very strong construction as they are not soft at all to drive and also wear very slowly. probably you are notice difference between 3x higher price tyres but i cant say that they are bad or dangeros. i think it is good joice if u dont want spend too much to tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-03 11:10:54
Writing about the Kleber Quadraxer given 51% (225-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Just had these fitted to my E39 BMW 530i and completed a 500 mile round trip. Had the wheels aligned / tracked / balanced at the time.

The 500 mile round trip was a mixture of residential, rural, and highway.

Frankly, I consider these tyres dangerous. They are dim-witted, sludgy, unresponsive, and let go at the drop of a hat. I've driven this car on Goodyear Vector 4Seasons which, to be honest, aren't that much more expensive than these.

Hit a puddle or small patch of standing water, and the wheel(s) that hit it loose all traction. Go round anything more than a very slight curve and do more to the throttle than feather it and boom, you're off.

I was literally drifting around certain A roads that I'm used to travelling on at nearly twice the speed when wearing Goodyear Vector 4Seasons.

Plus points? Quiet and comfortable.

Just remember than when you're rolling down the cliff because you took a corner at more then 7 MPH.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-27 22:17:32
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 54% (225-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 spirited miles
This tyre has a UTQG Treadwear of 280 Traction AA Temperature A. Tread pattern is uniform non aggressive quiet assymmetic with 4 big water drainage channels. What I remember most about this tyre is how many punctures I got from using this tyre.

In 15000 miles, I have gotten at least 4 punctured holes on 2 of these tyres. I placed them at the rear and my fronts are using Michelin PS3.

This tyre is noisy, doesn't grip very well in wet and has average to poor high speed stability. It's better than my old Yokohamas but below the Michelin PP2 or PS3. It has a noisy hum when approaching speeds of 110km/h if your tyre is down to less than 30% thread life.

Sidewell is very soft and with the weight of the car it looks flat even with sufficient air pressure.

It's not cheap here in Malaysia though and for the price you have other better alternatives.

Currently on a new set of Toyo Proxes C1S on the rear as replacement and look and feel way better but then it's still too new to tell. I will update further at the Toyo section.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-11 02:27:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre