Vredestein Snowtrac 3

The Vredestein Snowtrac 3 is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Vredestein Snowtrac 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Vredestein Snowtrac 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 76%
Wear 83%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 97%
Snow Grip 70%
Ice Grip 70%

Tyre review data from 33 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 271,289 miles driven.

The Snowtrac 3 is ranked 23rd of 88 Winter Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 - 7th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Relatively good on snow and ice
  • Negative - Slightly weak in the wet, noisy
View Full Test >>

2013 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 185/60 R15 - 8th of 17 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks on snow
  • Negative - Compared to the best little weaker in the wet
  • Overall - Satisfactory
View Full Test >>

2013 ACE Winter Tyre Test - 7th of 9 tyres

  • Overall - Recommended
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Vredestein Snowtrac 3
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Snowtrac 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Snowtrac 3 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Vredestein Snowtrac 3 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Golf mk6 GTD (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Purchased these back in September and have had them on the car since October. Found that they are quieter than the standard Bridgestone tyres and have improved fuel economy by an average 4mpg. In the snow these tyres are excellent, never once have I been stuck they always pull you out of even relatively deep snow and give you a lot more confidence in braking and cornering. I'd recommend these tyres to anyone they do everything Vredestein say they can and even better than that they give you a bit of confidence in knowing what the car will do. Will definitely buy again but that may be a while away as they are wearing fairly slowly so I should get another 2 winters out of them.
12 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2010   
Given 87% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.8 sport (195/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 17,750 spirited miles
Bought mine in December 2009 (4 for £235) and haven't taken them off since. It's now September 2013 and I've covered 17750 miles in my Astra. There's still 3mm left on the back and 4mm on the front - I rotated them for even wear - pretty good considering the wife thinks I drive like a nutter.
As they wear down they are becoming better summer tyres but I've lost count of the number of people rescued from abandoned cars in winter. If you can't afford two sets of tyres and aren't going to change with the seasons then be smart and opt for these.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2013   
Given 83% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (195/55 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 38,000 spirited miles
Have this snowtrac 3 set on a 1.2 tdi fabia Skoda power chipped to 95HP and it performs as expected in mixed winter conditions. So well we did not refit the original all weather Dunlop Eco tyres. So using these exceptional Dutch winter tyres all year round.
We had prior very positive experience with the Snowtrac2 fitted on a Suzuki Alto 1.1GL, slightly upgraded in power. The humble lightweight car was handling like a mild racetrack vehicle on snow and ice. So predictable and grippy tyres that other road users where like standing obstacles. Lots of fun that was. So according to the weight balance of the car it is fitted on this tyre shines very bright indeed.

1 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2016   
Have you driven on the Vredestein Snowtrac 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Snowtrac 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Vredestein Snowtrac 3 >

Latest Vredestein Snowtrac 3 Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Nissan Note E11 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Have had these tires fitted year-round for 4 or 5 years now (I can't remember, and I don't know their mileage -- but they are older than any sane person would have). I don't travel enough to warrant changing between summer and winter tires, but there is enough snow and ice in the winter that all-season rubber is out of the question. Don't remember how much I paid for. The wear has gotten to them in the past year, and it is evident I am going to have to replace them. I had skinnier tires on than the manufacturer recommends -- 185/60 R15. Dry grip was good throughout its lifetime, through twisty B roads, downhill, on the motorway. Wet grip wasn't phenomenal, but they always brought me home safely. Never had problems with aquaplaning, be it on the motorway or the twisties. Snow was a different story -- City slush was no problem, but when it came to actual snow, I had to take it slow, as with any other tire. I've driven a Mercedes C class (2010) with much more expensive tires and it slid around just as much as my little Note on the same snowy road. So +1 there, I suppose, but I still would not feel safe driving over two inch thick snow and ice. The response to the steering wheel is phenomenal even after all these years, but they also don't absorb many bumps in the road. You feel everything, in the hands (good) as well as in your bottom and back (not good). Noise could be lower, but with a car this light (1160 kg -- nearly no sound dampening) no tire is going to help really. In the past year, dry grip was still good, despite having very little tread left. Wet grip was abhorrent, and I'm lucky I know how to drive or else I wouldn't be writing this review today. But again, this is after 4 or 5 years of continuous torture (easily 30.000 km), over ice and snow in the Alps and through the hot weather of the Adriatic. According to the sticker, their fuel consumption is supposed to be very high (E class), but honestly I couldn't tell you if that's true as these are the first tires I ever drove with. For what it's worth, I can get an average of ~5.7L/100km if I drive patiently (official combined spec says 5.5L/100km). I would definitely buy these again, but they are not being produced any longer. I am currently eyeing up their newer brother, the Snowtrac 5, but this time with the correct 185/65 dimensions (40€ apiece). Hopefully they will be a worthy replacement.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Ford Fiesta (165/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
I bought these second hand for my wife's car and I've been amazed. The wet grip is really positive and far better than the 2 new winter tyres I added this year. The car has loads of grip, when it does break free it's progressive and accompanied by the noise and feedback you get from dry understeer. In the dry they are still good, they don't go spongy as you'd expect from a really soft tyre. I expect the wear will be higher and 2 of the set I bought were ruined by a tracking problem on the car they came from, make sure your suspension is up to scratch! That said they've already done more miles than the tyres her car came with new but these are winter-only use or course.

These tyres inspire confidence, the car is predictable and sure-footed, they are a bit noisy and fuel consumption seems higher but that's the price you pay for getting around in the bad weather. This is the second year they've been on and I'm 100% happy with them.

In fact I wish I'd fitted these to my car rather then the Pirelli's I've got.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2016   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (175/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Dependable tyres, good grip in the snow, the wear is normal, the noise is lower than other (more expensive) winter tyres such as Michelin Primacy Alpin, fuel consumption is around the same level as with the top rated Dunlop Bluresponse summer tyres. Recommended for value, especially if on a discount.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2013   
Given 100% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/55 R15 T) on mostly town for 3,200 spirited miles
Made in the Nederlands (not china like a lot of "premium" brands), great grip on wet/snow and good grip in spring/autumn too!
1 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2013   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 2.0 GT FSI (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
GREAT!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2013   
Given 79% while driving a Fiat Panda (185/65 R14) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I use these in the winter on my 4x4 panda, mainly for the snow, in which they are outstanding, could go on and on how impressed I am, (probably the best combination of car and tyre for the snow).
1 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2013   
Given 81% while driving a Nissan almera 1.5 (185/65 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 2,400 spirited miles
Very impressed. Fitted as winter tyres in October.I live in a remote rural area and need them, especially as my car is an auto. First very pleased at how quiet they are. Then noticed that the car kept complete control driving through surface water.Had to do a crash stop on cow poo (the slippiest of anything you will find!) and was further amazed at how good they are. Later in the winter we have had snow, ice and then fresh snow on top of ice. Got up the hill going to work. Everyone else had to park at the bottom except a SWB Landy and me.We ferried 12 men up to work that morning. Some of them have now got winter tyres too!
I havn't tried them at speed, no motorways or even dual carriageways around here.
During April I am going to get some performance tyres on for summer. My supplier will keep the Snowtracs, labelled as my property and swap back again in October.
These tyres are quite, and have given me a very reassuring feeling of confidence in my winter driving. Recommended.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2013   
Given 88% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (205/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
Bought these late Dec 2012, no snow until mid Jan 2013. These are fantastic tyres in difficult conditions. Loose snow, compacted snow, slush, deep water, no problem. Makes driving in poor weather conditions easy. Braking and steering excellent, traction less than braking, but maybe designed to be like that?
1 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2013   
Given 97% while driving a Fiat Sedici 16v 4x4 (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
Got these tyres for winter and they didn't let me down, I truly went anywhere I wanted in snow and ice. Fitted them at the end of October and took them off at the end of March and the tyres still have 7.5mm of tread left. So impressed I now have sportrac 3 fitted for my summer tyres.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2012   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
This tyre is very well...highly recomended. I'm driving it on vw golf mk5 1.4 80hp. driven on all types of road, dry, wet, icy, powder, fresh snow, ice and snow, -17C in winter condition. tyre gives very good feedback on the snowy road. So far the wear rating is on maximum cuz i have only 1000km with them. HIGHLY RECOMENDED...
1 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2012   
Given 66% while driving a Ford Focus (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
Had tyres on now for around 2 1/2 months on focus - moved down a size from 205/50/17 to 205/55/16 on new wheels.

Not pushed hard in dry or wet but move to higher profile and winter tyres gave a softer feel to cornering and ride. No significantly different noise - other than do appear bit noisier when cornering at slow speed - sound a bit knobbly.

Recent snow? Braking in slush, ice or snow amazingly better than normal summer tyres - can actually brake quite sharply before abs kicks in. Most impressive aspect.

Traction - good, wheels spin but gets up to speed competently

Cornering? - No problem, predictable never out of control even when pushed.

Would I recomend winter tyres, yes, buy these again yes.

Richard
1 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyre in the wet, has more grip than Falken ziex 912s in the DRY.. no where near as much grip as the toyo t1rs in the dry and warm conditions, but great in cold dry conditions aswell.
The tyre has allowed me to go for "spirited drives" to the yorkshire dales all winter giving great confidence in cornering and under brakes.
Obviously as its a winter tyre you do feel quite a bit of tread movement when you first put them on which can feel like they're transitioning to oversteer, but they aren't!
1 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2012