Marangoni Verso

The Marangoni Verso is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 69%
Wet Grip 48%
Road Feedback 55%
Handling 47%
Wear 49%
Comfort 54%
Buy again 41%

Tyre review data from 38 tyre reviews averaging 52% over 265,079 miles driven.

The Verso is ranked 159th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 50th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 54 Tyre Braking Test - 49th of 54 tyres

View Full Test >>

2013 European Summer Touring Tyre Test - 17th of 19 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks for wear
  • Negative - Very weak in the wet
View Full Test >>

2014 Tyre Tests

  • 50th: 2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 17th: 2013 European Summer Touring Tyre Test (185/60 R15)
  • 49th: 2013 54 Tyre Braking Test (195/65 R15)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Marangoni Verso

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Marangoni Verso. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Marangoni Verso Reviews

    Given 97% while driving a Toyota aurion (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
    The Marangoni Verso XL is a magnificent tyre for long distance driving and gives great performance; I will definitely buy again when I need to replace my current batch. Garry Spears
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on August 22, 2013
    Given 73% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa 1.2 16V Life (Twinport) (185/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Only just having to get them changed after 4 years, die to outer wall cracks, tread still ok.
    Wet conditions is the downfall, loss of grip.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2018
    Given 93% while driving a Toyota granvia (215/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    THE BAD: I have had the Verso xl on a ford escort and OMG were they bad, wheel spin and slide on corners, the car came with them and I have to ask what fool put Xl (extra load) tyres on a escort. too stiff in sidewall = loss of grip/traction

    THE GOOD: Have them on a Toyota Granvia 3.4 petrol V6 Trd supercharged van converted to camper, so weight is around 2000kg. they are absolutely the best tyre for a heavy vehicle, I can corner harder, body roll is reduced, generally it has stiffened things up and reduced understeer greatly which was my want. I run them at 39/41psi as xl tyres need higher pressure.
    they are a bit louder than some.

    ONLY run XL tyre if your load/weight is higher than average and they will flex and grip enough and you will get great wear.
    Put XLs on a light fwd car and you may as well just run on your rims
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2014
    Have you driven on the Marangoni Verso tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Marangoni Verso? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Marangoni Verso >

    Latest Marangoni Verso Reviews

    Given 63% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
    Ive had below legal limit tyres on my car that had more grip than these have in the wet. I'm absolutely amazed that they've passed british safety standards. Absolute death traps.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2013
    Given 30% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Worst tyre I have ever used they were fitted when I bought the. Car but after test drive as tyres that were fitted on limit and car felt fine on test. So was happy to have 2 new tyres. Then I spent. £100.s trying to sort out the handling problems. The back of the car would not go in straight line on the straight it went jump from side to side. On high speed sweeping curves the back end would just let go. And this happens on dry roads as well as wet. Scary having to steer into on coming lorry at 60.mph. Just to straighten up .. got 2Gy.nct5.s for front after 1 year and switch them to the back transformed the backend but then the front had zero grip glad to get thi of my car ......death traps..
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2013
    Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
    Given 36% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    I recently bought a Vectra Estate with four of these on. The front ones had 3mm tread but the wet grip was appalling and the car was dangerous under acceleration as it tended to go wherever the tyres wanted rather than where I wanted. I replaced the front tyres immediately with a pair of Nokians which are fantastic tyres.
    The two on the rear are still on the car, but about to be replaced as the rear end has spun out twice on me now in wet conditions at low speeds on round-a-bouts. These tyres are not safe and I would never recommend them to anyone. Spend a little bit more money as your life depends on it...
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on August 2, 2013
    Given 41% while driving a Ford Mondeo (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Average grip in the dry, but diabolical in the wet. Replaced Goodyear efficient grip tyres which were excellent in all conditions, predictable and safe, but the Marangoni's are death traps with virtually no grip in the wet. Please do not buy them, spend a decent amount and get some far superior tyres from a recognised manufacturer
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2013
    Given 87% while driving a Rover 75 (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
    In spite of the generally poor reviews I found on this site I decided to fit a pair of Marangoni Versos to the front (drive) wheels of my Rover 75 in November 2012, because the EU Tyre Rating suggested that they would perform reasonably well in the function that matters most to me - grip, and would be good value for the money if the wear was ok.

    Now, in February 2013, having done 3500 miles in the worst possible wet/snowy/slushy driving conditions in the UK winter *and* two weeks around the Swiss/French ski resorts in the Alps and Jura, with 200cm of snow all around and hard packed frozen snow on all (snow-ploughed) passes above 1000m, I can say with some confidence: these tyres are GOOD. I had no problem whatsoever with them - they always gave me sufficient grip to pull through the steepest frozen sections and I never once had to resort to chains.

    They had 7mm of tread when I started and have 6mm now - that means I can expect to get about 19k miles from them before they wear out. I think that's a bit better than average, so I am very happy with them.

    My only minor criticism is that they are somewhat noisier than my previous tyres (Falken and Pirelli) - but that's because I deliberately chose stiffer sidewalls, so I guess I got what I should have expected.

    I have to say that I think the repeatedly low ratings given and negative comments made by most other reviewers of these tyres tell me much more about the driving qualities of the reviewers than they tell me about the quality of Marangoni Verso tyres. ;-)
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2013
    Given 29% while driving a Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC (205/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
    I have four Verso 205 x 16 on a Honda Civic, I don't drive aggressively and think they're reasonable ... in a straight line (a bit like the car). The tread pattern (I should have known) of three deep grooves and few sipes doesn't lend itself to gripping and I really noticed how the car felt skittish from Day One. However I liked the stiff-ish sidewall and the way they sat flush on my alloys.

    I'd thought that they would be quite good in the rain due to the deep grooves but the front treads have worn alarmingly. I have nearly lost it with a front-wheel skid on a roundabout in the dry, when the steering wheel suddenly kicked quite violently, first time I have ever lost grip in any car. They spin too easily and I'm now very wary of snow and ice.

    They are probably OK for everyday gentle driving but I wouldn't like kids or new drivers to have them. I estimate 15,000 miles life max. on the front driven generally moderately, 20K+ on the rear.

    I understood these were licensed from Pirelli, and I was given a discounted puncture warranty, if you get a sidewall puncture at 50% wear, then you got 50% discount off new ones. I'll not be keeping them long enough to find out. They were worth a try at £80 each but I won't buy them again. It's probably Michelin or Continentals for me.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2013
    Given 27% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
    I have now done 6000 miles on a pair of these on the rear. I have to get 'em off. They are a death trap in the wet.
    In over 42 years of driving all sorts of cars, (inc HGV,PSV, Private hire etc) I have never been frightened of pulling away of roundabouts, or going round corners before.
    These poor excuse for tyres will kill someone one day.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2012
    Given 33% while driving a Volkswagen polo 1.4cc 16V (185/65 R14) on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
    Just astonished how bad they are in the wet. In my opinion this tyres should never have been allowed to pass any wet testing. My wife is not a fast driver and complained that the car felt like it was on ice on a few corners and that the abs was kicking sometimes in when braking. So to other reviewers that feel like they have to tell others to stop driving so fast the tyres are fine, then please respect the fact that these tyres are not safe in the event that an emergency manoeuvre is required in the wet. These are grade C tyres and cost only £20 per pair cheaper than leading brand tyres. I have since contacted the garage where they were fitted and suggested they test them. They have not refused to do this and I look forward to receiving their opinion. Personally, I would not recommend purchasing these tyres purely on safety grounds. They may well be great tyres in terms of wear and feedback, but have not used them long enough to find out.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2012
    Given 34% while driving a BMW 320D (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Great in the dry, but utterly useless in the wet. Constantly slipping and leaving me to get rescued by the traction control. Going round any bend or hitting a bump and the car completely loses traction. Would not recommend.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2012
    Given 19% while driving a BMW 3 series (205/55 R16 P) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
    1 year ago mot time garage people change my two front tyres all the time road wet car is sliping i thought car problem i just change tyres to the back then back is sliping i am waiting to wear those tyers to change
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2012
    Given 67% while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,400 average miles
    Ive got these on all 4 wheels for my W reg Ford Focus and ive not had a problem with them at all and they have been on the car for about 2 months now on about 2400 miles. I do about 40 mile round trip each day with a mixture of country lanes, dual caridge ways and straight roads. With these tyres im able to got fast round the corners in the dry and I also trust them under braking in both dry and wet conditions. In wet conditions though I dont trust any tyre and only stupid people would go high speed round corners so when people say that these tyres are no good in the wet must be going hell to leather. All in all I would say a good tyre
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2012
    Given 10% while driving a Vauxhall Astra VXR (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 650 average miles
    Bought the car (second hand) and these came fitted to it. On the drive home I nearly lost the front end and nearly ended up in the nearest ditch, I'm an advanced driver and these are by far the WORST tyres I have ever had on a vehicle. They wheel spin even when your gunning it, the traction control light was on constantly on amongst other things.

    I have since replaced all 4 tyres with Toyo T-1 Sports and surprise surprise the traction control light is not on and I can now drive without worrying about ending up in the nearest ditch!!!

    MARAGHONI = DITCH FINDERS!!!!
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2012