Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S

The Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S is a Ultra High Performance Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 52,500 miles driven, and 18 tests with an average result of 9th.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 85%
Wear 71%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 78%
Snow Grip 87%
Ice Grip 87%

First On MarketMay 2015
Wheel Size16 - 22"
Width215 - 295mm
Profile30 - 70
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)71 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Wintrac xtreme S is ranked 28th of 43 Winter Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme and this tyre has been replaced by the Vredestein Wintrac Pro.

Tests Included

18

Best Result

4th

Worst Result

27th

Average Result

9th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 Auto Bild SUV Winter Tyre Test
7th of 11 tyres
  • Short braking distance and generally high wet grip, Low noise level
  • Poor snow grip, poor dry grip, high rolling resistance
  • Satisfactory
View Full Test >>
2016 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 225/45 R17
10th of 13 tyres
  • Especially good in the wet, good on dry roads
  • Weak on snow, high fuel consumption and wear
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
215/70 R 16 100 HCC72
215/70 R 16 100 HCC72
17 inch
265/65 R 17 112 HCC73
265/65 R 17 112 HCC73
18 inch
235/60 R 18 103 HCB71
235/60 R 18 103 HCB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S >>

Questions and Answers for the Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S

2016-10-30 - Can Vredestein Wintrac Extreme S tyres be used in Summer. I drive to Portugal every Summer, the distance from home is approximately 1000 miles one way with suitcases etc. Thanks for your advice.

All winter tyres can be used in summer, however you may notice increased wear, and you will have a dry braking penalty of around 20% when compared to a summer tyre. We always recommend summer tyres for the summer months.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S Reviews

Given 76% while driving a BMW E90 325i (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
A good all round winter tyre. Not as good as my Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta in the dry or wet when it's warmer, but the Wintrac extreme S comes into its own when it get near freezing!!
Helpful 115 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2016
Given 74% while driving a Volvo XC60 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
While cornering on dry roads the car would be sleighting of hand, should perhaps be, from my point of view (xc60 for a year) would be only negative review. Higjway driving at 150kmh in winter has been a fairytale for now. I probably wouldn't buy it again because I will be buying the best rated winter tyre next time because of a newborn sitting behind; otherwise, it would have been a choice, why not
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2022
Chevrolet camaro (275/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I drive my car in 30cm snow and icy/wet conditions. All what I can say it is a perfect tyre. My car is a 400HP RWD but still it drives like in summer.
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2017
Have you driven on the Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S >

Latest Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Evoque (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
Astonishing snow and ice grip in a 4x4 Evoque. Up Honister Pass with side to side sheet ice without a slip or a skid. Hardly anything for the snow and ice programme to do.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2019
Given 92% while driving a Audi SQ5 (255/45 R20 V) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Reference car: Audi SQ5 2014

I bought our SQ5 second hand and these tyres came with it;

I see positive and negative reviews but people need to realise that this tyre is released in 2014
And at the time these tyres were extremely recommended for Hig Performance Cars such as Porsche 911 , Aston Martin etc.

Of my personal experience with these tyres (living in Switzerland in the Ski area) these handle our SQ5 extremely good. Never slippery or whobby. In the wet they stay safe, dry also. On my size: 255/45/20 they do good.

They are very quite and also comfort is not to bad.
I would only buy these if you are driving an HP car.

Next winter (2019) when these are done i try the new versions of the Extreme S the Wintrac Pro. :)
They are absolutely the go for high performance cars.

Just like i said these tyres are from 2014... and only if you can buy these cheap i would buy them otherwise go dor the Vredestein Wintrac Pro :))

Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2018
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 78% while driving a Audi Q7 (295/35 R21 W) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Reference Audi Q7.
Early days as yet. Just fitted within last two months, as older one of Michelins developed a bulge on sidewall. I don't drive sedately or too fast, but like to push when needed. Initial impressions are good overall. Compared to the summer Michelins they feel similar in the dry being driven normally. Time will tell when pushed. The Michelins let me down in the wet on a field, as not suited to off road even on very soft and wet grass. Wheels were sinking in to around 5/6 inches trying to pull a 2 tonne caravan! So I expect more grip under those conditions with the Vredsteins. So far in torential rain at speed the Vredsteins gave a confident feel. They seem quiet on the road so far but the Michelins were the same until the treads were worn down by half, then became very noisy.
I took a chance with the Vredsteins as they are really winter tyres, but I don't cover a high mileage in this car, so wear should not be the limiting factor. They will possibly be due replacement due to age before the treads are worn too much (hopefully).
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2018
Given 50% while driving a Mitsubishi Outlander (215/70 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
Initial impressions were good, unfortunately one of the tyres was defective, and made the car unsafe to use. A big chunk or rubber came off it. I have sent it back to the company I bought them from, and now waiting for decision. Unacceptable for this to happen on a brand new tyre, from a reputable company. That is why I didn't buy Chinese tyres..but maybe that was a mistake.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2018