Sonar SX2

The Sonar SX2 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 69%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 60%
Handling 56%
Wear 85%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 63%

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 112,926 miles driven.

The SX2 is ranked 117th of 187 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 43rd of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Sonar SX2
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Sonar SX2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Sonar SX2 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 26 spirited miles
When being offered these as an alternative to the mid range brand I usually buy, for our fleet of vehicles, at a cheaper price, I thought I would be getting a budget tyre!
By golly, these are no budget tyre, I am getting more miles and much better performance while saving money.
50 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2015   
Given 39% while driving a BMW 530D (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Lethal in the wet!!!
DO NOT BUY!
16 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2016   
Given 76% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 130 (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
These are a good budget tyre, you will notice that most of the poor reviews for these are from BMW owner and rear wheel drive cars, anyone putting budget tyres on a 530 and expecting it to stay on the road.....!! shouldn't be buying these. They do what it says on the tin and nothing more. Grand in the dry and average road holding in wet, reasonable ware rate 16k+ miles is okay in my book.
8 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2018   
Have you driven on the Sonar SX2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Sonar SX2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Sonar SX2 >

Latest Sonar SX2 Reviews

Given 27% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I drive a 1986 BMW E30/2.5 liter stock engine [168HP].I first had Linglong tires which were as stable as jello.The tire dealer said that Sonar was recommended by BMW co and replaced the Linglongs. The dry road performance was nothing to write home about and I thought they''d handle well in the rain,but as soon as we started to have rain I was like a stuntman driving on the worst tires money can buy !! I have driven tens of cars in my life and I never experienced anything worse or more dangerous !
5 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 Kompressor Elegance Se saloon (255/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 47,000 spirited miles
Drive a C180 and clock over 40k miles a years. Bought mine in Mar 2016 and only just reached the faded markers / indicators. That's a year and 4 months. Well impressed
4 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2017   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 43% while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Good in the dry, ok noise for a budget tire.
Want to live? Dont buy those if you're living in a place with alot of bends and rainy weather!

Changing for Dunlop Sportmaxx RT as soon as possible! Life is to valuble to waste on bugdet tires!
2 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2016   
Given 47% while driving a Toyota MR2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Partially my own fault for not spending more considering it's a sports car I drive.

Very hard wearing and decent enough in the dry but absolutely useless in the wet with zero progressive warning when they are about to let go.

A good buy for an average runaround and for someone that is only really concerned about getting thousands of miles from a tyre, other than that I would avoid.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2015   
Given 89% while driving a Volvo XC90 D5 185 HP (235/55 R17 V) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
these tyres came from nowhere.....recommended by the dealer, I was typically British and sceptically resistant to change but they really are the real deal. I put them on our personal vehicle and got on very well - lasted well and evenly. Because of the positive results, I put them forward for our work fleet of 20 vehicles and our fleet manager is equally impressed.

It's not often I've felt moved to upload reviews at all, let alone something as 'interesting' as tyres but my dealer encouraged me to put something on this site.

Well done to whoever discovered this brand
1 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2015   
Given 51% while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (265/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Garage put these on as part of car purchase - keeping their costs down
100 miles on driving, being cautious.
Not my favoured tyre, and wont be driving to any limits
Not expecting them to last very long - being budget
0 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2015   
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 22,300 spirited miles
Brilliant tyres, I had Hankook on the car from the shop and was recommended that I would get the same performance and mileage out of Sonar Tyres, I would say well done Mr tyre fitter, you know your stuff as actually I got more miles and I think, better handling than I got from the Hankooks

GREAT ALL ROUND TYRE IN ALL WEATHERS!!

As a result I have now bought Sonar Winter tyres and they are excellent in the cold wet

Thanks SONAR
6 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2015   
Given 74% while driving a Ford Mondeo (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I needed to replace my budget tyres on the front, did not expect too much, but actually they were much better in dry, in wet, never had any real problems. Wear is average, fuel consumption stayed low, I would buy them again.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2014