Land Rover Freelander TD4 (BMW M47R) Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Freelander TD4 (BMW M47R).

Do you Drive a Land Rover Freelander TD4 (BMW M47R)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Freelander TD4 (BMW M47R) better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Uniroyal MS plus 66 (8) 82% 94% 81% 87% 92% 91%
Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 (12) 93% 90% 89% 89% 78% 84%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (84) 91% 88% 81% 85% 89% 83%
Cooper Discoverer AT3 Sport (4) 95% 85% 83% 87% 87% 98%
General Grabber GT (17) 89% 81% 79% 75% 88% 81%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (37) 82% 74% 74% 78% 78% 80%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (229) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Continental 4x4 Contact (35) 81% 75% 70% 56% 51% 76%
Michelin Latitude tour HP (31) 79% 67% 66% 67% 69% 78%

Land Rover Freelander TD4 (BMW M47R) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 39% (195-80-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23750 easy going miles
These tires have only lasted 23.750 miles (not even 3 years), which disappointed me. Being "all-season" tires, I expected them to be more all-round but they have really let me down. They felt more like budget summer tires. Wet grip was awful, lots of understeer in corners and roundabouts, and I don't drive like a maniac. Winter was the worst, the lack of snow grip made driving very unsafe. Tires got very stiff at lower temperatures, resulting in poor grip in both dry and wet. Comfort was okay due to tire size - big sidewall. I'd say these were by far the worst tires I've had on my car, and I've gone through 10 sets of tires on one car alone. I do not recommend these tires.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-12 10:39:26
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 given 86% (225-55-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 19300 average miles
These are the best summer tires I have ever had. Dry grip is very good, but wet grip is where these tires are exceptional. My car is prone for understeer, esp. in roundabouts. With these tires, I have never felt even a slight slip of the front axle. Hard wet braking is bang on the money, very controled with no slip whatsoever. Aquaplaning resistance is superb, I have only experienced slight aquaplaning twice while doing about 80 mph in a downpour (standing water on the motorway). Feedback is noticeable and steering response is good. Handling wise the tires are very predictable and therefore safe. With the mileage driven, I predict they are on 1/3 of their life, with about 5.5 to 6mm of tread remaining (started with just over 8mm). The tires are relatively comfortable and very quiet. I recommend these tires to anyone who does a lot of driving in all conditions and wants a well-balanced and very safe tire.
tyre reviewed on 2024-02-12 09:09:44
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer AT3 Sport given 80% (195-80-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 47000 easy going miles
These are hands-down the best all-season tyres I have ever had. I have previously had: 2 sets of Goodyear Wrangler HP, Michelin Latitude Cross and some others, and the Coopers beat them in every way. They have very good dry grip but some oversteer on wet roundabouts. Exceptionally comfortable (done a 3000mi trip in pure comfort). These are not dedicated snow tyres, so they cannot compare to a winter tyre. They have had very good grip on snow the first year I had them, but later on not so much. Ice is not their forte. The one thing they really excell in is the wear. This is very important to me because I do a lot of road trips. I have driven 47.000 miles with these tyres and there is still 6mm of thread! I have decided to replace them however, as I am going for larger rims.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-22 23:47:02
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 given 86% (195-80-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
I mostly drive on motorways (70%) but also a fair bit on B-roads and in the city. These are the first winter tyres my car has ever had (19 years on all-seasons only). I have no real comparison with other winter tyres, although I have used them on other cars (FWD as opposed to my Freelander which is AWD). Ever though, I am very impressed with snow grip and handling of the Yokohamas. I can plough through deep snow, corner a snowy road as if it was dry tarmac and brake confidently. Dry grip is also excellent, I'd even say far better than the all-season Cooper Discoverer AT3s I used to have. All in all I am very pleased with the tyres and would recommend them to anyone who does regular winter trips as I do. The only downside is the tyre noise, which to me seems a bit excessive - specially around 80 km/h (50 mph). Can't speak of wear just yet.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-22 23:34:57
Writing about the General Grabber GT given 60% (235-55-19-H)
Driving on mostly town for 4 easy going miles
I changed to the General Grabber GT March 2021 and within a week I had a puncture within a week only to be told I had to replace the tyre due to a single hawthorn thorn just going in on the edge of the tread and side wall ! this was an unrepairable tyre with a hole under .1 mm ? so another £113 later another new tyre. fast forward and 3k more or less I have another puncture this time on the thread on the same new tyre . and its looking like another new tyre this time the cut is well within the tread . My question is how can they be called an off road tyre when they seem to be made of toffee ? The code on the side of the tyre MT ? is that short for molasses and Tofu . They seem not to have any side wall protection and or any type of cut protection too the underside of the tread . I should have stayed with Bridgestone T005XL as I never had a puncture with them driving on the same ground. So until all the tyres are worn down to the point the to be replaced I am stuck replacing the Tonka Toy tyres each time i have a puncture on ant part of the tyre .
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-05 10:33:08
Writing about the Uniroyal MS plus 66 given 93% (225-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Bought a set of four for winter use. I may have a Freelander but your car is only as good as your tyes. These have been great in the winter. Not just snow but when it is cold, wet and horrible. All four corners seem clued to the road. Not many people drive to close behind you due to all the water/spray they chuck out.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-12 09:22:13
Writing about the Michelin Latitude tour HP given 37% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Replaced two Michelin Synchrone rear tyres on my 2006 Freelander TD4 with Latitude Tour tyres from Michelin. Tyre vendor advised that Michelin say Latitude Tours are a direct replacement for Synchrones. Immediately I drove away I started to notice a vibration and loud rumbling from underneath the car between 2500 - 3000 RPM.
This was very uncomfortable and led me to suspect all sorts of mechanical problems. Having had the transmission and VCU checked out I had the original synchrones re-fitted and the vibration and rumbling stopped immediately. My advise would be to avoid these tyres - they are too expensive, they look rubbish on a 4X4 and will drive you mad. An expensive mistake and I doubt I will get my money back. Hold on to your Synchrones.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-25 07:18:56
Writing about the Continental 4x4 Contact given 89% (225-45-17-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-09 08:31:42
Writing about the Michelin Latitude tour HP given 37% (215-65-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 58000 easy going miles
noisey on the road please bring back the best tyre ever produced by michelin the sychrone tyre which can do well in excess of 60,000 miles may be it was to good thats why they stopped makeing them?
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-23 07:57:37
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 86% (235-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21000 spirited miles
By far and away the best Summer tyre I have tried in 20 years.
Last tyres were Michelin Pilots and before that Bridgestone ER30s that wore out quite quickly - 18,000 miles.

I'm less concerned with tyre wear than with out and out performance in wet,and damp conditions. These tyres give a greater feeling of safety at high speed.

No problems with noise and very comfortable - once the correct pressures were calculated. I reckon to get 24 - 25,000 miles from them.

Would like to try the newer ContiSport3 or ContiSport5 but they don't seem to make them in this size. Definitely stick with Continental though.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-18 09:37:38
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre