Continental 4x4 Contact

The Continental 4x4 Contact is a Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 52%
Wear 51%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 51%
Snow Grip 80%

Tyre review data from 31 tyre reviews averaging 67% over 614,085 miles driven.

The 4x4 Contact is ranked 16th of 19 All Season Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Continental 4x4 Contact
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental 4x4 Contact

Questions and Answers for the Continental 4x4 Contact

2020-03-11 - Hie whats the weight (kg) of 205/70R15C // Continental World Contact 4 x 4.

I'm sorry, we currently don't have any tyre weights for the Continental 4x4Contact


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


4x4 Contact Prices

Size Price Range  
215/75 R16 £101.00 - £167.90 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/65 R17 £101.60 - £152.80 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/65 R17 £97.00 - £148.00 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 23 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental 4x4 Contact Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Nissan X Trail 2.2 DCi Sport (215/65 R16 S) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
A good mix of on and off-road capabilities and noticeably less road noise than the factory fit Dunlops.
32 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2014   
Given 64% while driving a Honda CRV (225/65 R17 T) on mostly town for 4,483 easy going miles
Wrote a review yesterday on these tyres but after checking the mileage again turns out worse than ever.from feb 14 to feb 15 mot's the car a Honda crv petrol 2008 es model had driven 4483 miles.The continental 4x4 contact tyres were fitted in may 2014 brand new.When the car went in for its MOT at the end of february 2015 the tyres were down to 3mm tread.So basically they were only good for between 4000 to 5000 miles.Totally not on and ill be writing to continental to complain.There supposed to be a premium tyre and this very short life is not acceptable.
5 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2015   
Given 89% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
We've had these tyres fitted to a Freelander 2 for years. They last well and have excellent grip. We tend to stick with these as they do really well for light off-roading and are great in the snow but also handle everything you would need in a road tyre as well. They do tend to wear a little quicker than a summer tyre (we get around 25k to 30k miles out of them) and they aren't as good on the MPG as one would hope, but for our vehicle, we are talking 5 or 6mpg at the most here. They are, however, pretty quiet and very comfy, what with them having a large profile and excellent in the wet.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2018   
Have you driven on the Continental 4x4 Contact tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental 4x4 Contact? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental 4x4 Contact >

Latest Continental 4x4 Contact Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Honda CRV (225/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Came fitted to '09 CRV diesel and have done about 2,000 miles on them so far. Overall impression is they're an ok all-season tyre but not particularly strong for either winter or summer use.

Good traction on wet/dry roads, and feel sure-footed in very wet conditions.

Handling OK but need pressures on the high side or else too wallowy in the bends.

Seem a smooth ride but I feel could be quieter.

Fine for some very mild off-roading but not a priority.

No snow/ice driving yet, but the reviews don't make them sound promising. I have winter tyres for the other car though so will replace these with some more summer-oriented ones when worn (probably Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV); hopefully improving fuel economy too.

Can't comments on wear yet.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML (255/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
On a heavy car these tyres have been great. Not even half worn yet. Never got stuck on light off road use and in the snow were great. I have towed a lot so have rotated the tyres. Very pleased. If you don't feel these tyres handle well them I think you are trying to use a 4x4 for something it is not intended for. They are aimed at SUV's not sports cars.
4 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2019   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 60% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (215/75 R16) on mostly country roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Have these fitted to Freelander 2. have driven around 8000 miles on them. Wet grip is OK but should be better for a tyre that is so expensive, and the fuel rating is dreadful for a so called premium tyre. Dry grip seems good. Handling feels OK but again could/should be better for the price. The tyre is only fit for very light off road use. Going over a wet grass field uphill shows it weakness immediately, lots of spin even at low revs, only just made it leaving muddy tracks across the pasture. Cant comment about snow but I suspect given its not so good wet grip rating that its not that wonderful.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2017   
Given 66% while driving a Honda CRV (225/65 R17 T) on mostly town for 8,500 easy going miles
Bought these tyres in may 2014 for my Honda crv 2008 model.By march 2015 they are almost done and down to 3mm tread.Since the tyres were fitted the car has only been driven 8500 miles.Thats almost all town driving and very little motorway use.At the rate they are wearing ill be lucky to get 10000 miles out of them.Very disappointed at the rate of wear and wont buy them again.They grip well and are very good in dry/wet/snow/ice but the compound rubber must be too soft for a longer tread life.Not cheap tyres either so you expect better wear.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2015   
Given 84% while driving a Mitsubishi triton (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 80 average miles
I drive a 2009 Mitshubishi Triton 2.5 D/C 4x4. I have already done 80 000 km on my continental tyres and I believe that I can still do another 30 000 km which is excelent.
When I need to change tyres it would definately be Continentals. There is very little road noise or almost none, taking into consideration the size of the vehicle. People uncertian about there next brand of tyre, take my word and make it a set of continentals.
Continental you deliver.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2014   
Given 81% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
My first and second Freelander 2 have both been fitted with Continentals M+S from new. On the first Freelander the tyres lasted an impressive 31,500 miles before I changed them. I only changed them because they were a little low on the tread but nowhere illegal.

My second Freelander (12 plate) has the exact same tyre on and they have just done 16,000 miles and have heaps of tread left on them.

In my opinion the tyres are great all rounders, even when we had bad snow in 2009, my Freelander was out in all weathers and never got stuck once. Some say its the driver, I would like to think so but the 4wd system if used correctly will get you everywhere.

You get a bit of tyre noise, but the ride is smooth, much better than the HSE I was given by my local dealer while mine was in for service, that had 19" fitted and the ride was hard.

I am looking for winter tyres this year, mainly to reduce the wear on the Continentals and for a bit more safety performance with the looming bad weather.

0 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2013   
Given 54% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (235/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
Mix of motorway and urban driving, no problem. Performed well on snowy roads. Disappointed with how long they lasted...only 14k miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2013   
Given 50% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (215/75 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 14,000 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted from new on my Freelander 2. They are suppose to be an all season tyre. Very poor for snow & ice use. As previous posts have suggested. Very poor tread wear too. 14k from a full set, easy driving.#
A very average tyre, for not average cash. Not suitable for winter use.
I have found far better budget tyres for alot less cash.
Unfortunately in my size H or above rated tyres (215/75 16), there's only two makes available. The conti's & another well known brand. I have now upgraded my alloys. Far better choice of tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2013   
Given 79% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Nearly 50k miles out of 1 set on a Ford Kuga
0 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2013   
Given 44% while driving a Nissan Rogue S (215/70 R16) on mostly motorways for 21,000 average miles
They have a nice ride and they are quiet HOWEVER, they have the worst ware of any tire I have ever see. I have a Nissan Rogue with 21000 miles on it and I need to replace them. It is not like I have a car that I can drive the tires off it, it is a small SUV. I have never had a set of tires ware out in 21000 miles. worst tire ware ever.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2013   
Given 33% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (215/75 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 16,000 easy going miles
Very poor tread wear. 16k from 4 tyres.
Very poor for winter use on snow, ice & off road.
Not good value for money.
I will not be buying these again.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2013   
Given 48% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML350 (265/55 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
These tires were installed on our used ML350 at purchase. The first winter with these tires seemed OK, but the second winter proved to be a disaster. After reading some of the reviews, this may be attributed to the poor wear that other posters are referring to. There were several big storms during the winter of 2012/2013, but having a 4-wheel drive vehicle was supposed make life easier. Stopping and starting was a continuous adventure as these tires provided absolutely no grip, even with trace amounts of snow on the roads. Given that they are horrible on snow, they wear quickly, I see no reason why anyone would ever consider buying them (or their next generation replacements). Stay away.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2013