BMW X5 3.0 diesel Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW X5 3.0 diesel.

Do you Drive a BMW X5 3.0 diesel? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a X5 3.0 diesel better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (19) 92% 92% 89% 91% 91% 78%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (66) 88% 83% 82% 80% 87% 84%
Maxxis Marauder II MAS2 (8) 95% 83% 75% 80% 82% 85%
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (29) 88% 84% 84% 82% 81% 74%
General Grabber AT3 (21) 85% 78% 80% 74% 87% 84%
Michelin Latitude Diamaris (5) 95% 75% 58% 77% 85% 85%
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (39) 84% 76% 76% 77% 86% 70%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (55) 89% 80% 85% 82% 63% 72%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (30) 80% 79% 69% 72% 76% 78%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (70) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Accelera Iota (37) 80% 66% 65% 65% 70% 66%
Pace AZURA Pace (6) 76% 70% 70% 56% 62% 76%
Kumho KL33 (8) 71% 66% 61% 66% 65% 78%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (78) 78% 65% 67% 61% 69% 61%

BMW X5 3.0 diesel Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 90% (235-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 43000 spirited miles
These have been absolutely excellent. Numerically most miles generally round town and motorway, but frequent/significant grass, mud and gravel, plus hundreds of miles of snow each year (in the Alps). Also some green laning in Wales! As regards longevity, the 43,000 represents the highest figure I have ever got out of a set of tyres, and it is only the fronts which are now on the limit.

Traditionally I have used Goodyear Wrangler AT's and BF Goodrich AT's (and still have a set on an Jeep CJ7 that I also use - it only does a couple of thousand miles a year so they refuse to wear out...). These were significantly more expensive and definitely no better - but they are getting old and of course tyre technology is (I hope..) continuously improving each year.

I don't drive hard enough in the dry to know much about dry handling etc., but the AT3's are excellent to drive in the wet. Very good stopping distances etc. From my experience just as good as a good road tyre. Noise is not a problem either.

Incredibly good in deep snow (remember the Beast from the East?) and sub zero temperatures - the best I have ever driven.

Traditionally I swap tyres winter to summer (off road tyres used to be a pain in summer, and I have a second set of rims...) but I have stopped bothering with summers since the last set wore out - with these there seems no point.

Highly recommended. (and no, I am not being paid to say that...)
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-01 13:24:43
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Sport 3 given 93% (255-50-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 average miles
I'm only driving them now for 2 months. I had the Vredestein tires under my X5 3.0D but they were noisy. So far i love them, specially the sound and fuel consumption! Negative point: expansive to others.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-04 09:46:10
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 given 79% (305-40-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-13 14:49:26
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 89% (255-50-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 3500 easy going miles
very good tires with a high steering response, a pleasure to drive
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-25 15:45:26
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 89% (255-50-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 3500 easy going miles
very good tires with a high steering response, a pleasure to drive
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-25 14:59:28
Writing about the Petlas Velox Sport PT741 given 100% (235-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3300 average miles
I used Tyrereviews to choose these tyres and I don't regret. I have bought them at the beginning of the summer season 2019 for a SUV. The car stayed idle for 2-3 months (probably driven for 300 miles or so during this period), there was no need to balance the tyres once we started driving more often. We drove another 3'000 miles after that and everything was fine. The tyres felt just normal, no annoying sound, no problems with stability, our car is a 4-wheel drive though. So far I am happy with the tyres, given that the roads in Bulgaria are not the smoothest. I would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-12 22:58:31
Writing about the Pace AZURA Pace given NAN% (275-40-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 easy going miles
these tyres were already fitted when i bought this used car. been using them for 32 month, done 42k so far, probably can do another 8k. really desperately want to change them because after 20k they getting really noisy, losing grip on both wet & dry. really scared when cornering over 40kmh. wont buy them again or any budget tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-30 14:54:58
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-16 09:21:24
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-16 09:17:53
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 given NAN% (255-50-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Its very easy to rate this tyre - Best winter tyre I evere use. Dont think , just buy them :)
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-08 21:30:18
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 3HM given 97% (255-55-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Great tyre for the price, got them for 300€.
Very quite,good handling, i like the rim protection, it works perfectly when hitting a pothole or when just parking close to the sidewalks.
Will definitely buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-13 16:39:43
Writing about the Accelera Iota given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
I am going to be totally honest about these tyres.

IF like me, you have a LARGE HEAVY SUV (BMW X5) and you don't race it on the streets because you are not 19 any more... then these tyres are the BEST you can buy pound for pound! They where fairly well, they dont last so long on my X5 because of the rear camber on the tyres is not adjustable and there for the inner tyre shoulders wear out every two years.

They do the job, they are ROAD tyres, NOT off road. Even still I drove into a car part at the goodwood festival of speed that was soo muddy that they would ONLY let 4X4s park in as other cars got stuck and I was pretty worried with my x5 and its road tyres competing with some Landes and serious 4x4s. I have to say, it wasnt as composed as the Discovery infront of me but... it got the job done. Was pretty proud when I jumped out and they guy in the disco said "I didnt think those things did well off road?" I said well... I was pretty nervous but... I am hear! :D
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-06 11:54:45
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre