Goodyear DuraGrip

The Goodyear DuraGrip is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 319,510 miles driven, and 3 tests with an average result of 11th.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 70%
Wear 79%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 75%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size14 - 15"
Width165 - 185mm
Profile60 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)70 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The DuraGrip is ranked 53rd of 232 Summer Touring tyres.

Tests Included

3

Best Result

6th

Worst Result

15th

Average Result

11th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 165/70 R14
6th of 15 tyres
  • Low fuel consumption and wear.
  • A little weak in the wet.
View Full Test >>
2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 175/65 R14
12th of 15 tyres
  • Good in the dry
  • Slight weakness in the wet
View Full Test >>

2012 Tyre Tests

2011 Tyre Tests

2010 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
165/60R14 75 HCC70
175/65R14 82 TBC70
175/65R14 82 TBC70
175/70R14 84 SDC70
175/70R14 84 SDC70
15 inch
185/65R15 92 T XLCC71
165/60R15 81 T XLDC71
185/65R15 88 TBC70
175/65R15 84 TBC70
175/65R15 88 T XLAB70
175/65R15 88 T XLAB70
175/65R15 88 T XLAB70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear DuraGrip >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear DuraGrip. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
165/60 R14 £88.99 - £112.63 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear DuraGrip Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Honda Jazz (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 40 easy going miles
Best front tyre I've ever fitted to a Honda Jazz 2009. Excellent wear pattern and fuel economy. The Jazz (or Fit) from this era has a problem with edge-wear on the fronts. This seems to be much worse with some tyres than others. This eventually ends up effecting handling and fuel efficiency as well as (obviously) halving the lifespan of the tyres. It's taken me 140,000 miles and 5 sets of tyres (3 of which were prematurely worn out) to get to 'grips' with this.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2021
Given 79% while driving a Suzuki CELERIO (165/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 37,000 average miles
This is a decent tire. I cross around 20,000 KM a year. The tire were perfect for two years. Tire sides are heavy duty with no problems at all. On the third year, I started noticing slip on wet roads. The rubbers started to show dryness too. I recommend the tire but not more than Max. 60,000KM.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2019
Given 71% while driving a Nissan almera 1.5 (185/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Goodyear duragrips started very well with excellent performance in snow when they were new. They've worn quite fast though and have about 1mm to the TWI after 20k miles. Performance really dropped off fast recently so will need to replace them before I get to the TWI.
Helpful 60 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2010
Have you driven on the Goodyear DuraGrip tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear DuraGrip? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear DuraGrip >

Latest Goodyear DuraGrip Reviews

Given 79% while driving a Renault 5 (155/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I bought these Goodyear Duragrip and made about 20.000 km in 4 years. In town, motorway and also curvy mountain roads. When they were new I was able to climb a hill even in snow, where my newer station wagon didn't make it even with winter tyres (Goodyear Ultragrip 7+, 2years old)! The grip was always very good.
Then (after buying a new car) I parked it in my garage with still 6 mm of profile left.
Five years later I re-registered that old Renault R5, tyres still look good, no cracks at all, I don't even feel any shaking at higher speed! But now they are about 10 years old and in a little faster driven turns it doesn't hold well anymore. It's time for a new set. For a higher millage i would defintely buy Goodyear, but for yearly max 2.000 of sunday-driven kilometers I will probbably choose a cheaper brand.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2017
Given 74% while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165/70 R14 Q) on a combination of roads for 70 average miles
I have been using this model since I own my car (5 years).
This is second set. I probably will buy new set next year. Can say just I am satisfied with durability. Although I did not have any other brand of tyre, for me this is best choice. And it has reasonable price.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2015
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 73% while driving a Mitsubishi (185/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
My second set on the car, had them for 3 years and about 35000 km's.
Basically nice tire, but it doesn't justify it's name, since mine got fairly worn and torn on the edges - guess that it's because of some macadam roads usage, mostly on holidays. I remember seeing them torn the same day when I failed trying (more than hour!) to get up the hill on some steep macadam road with sharp rocks - those sharp ends really torn the Duragirps, a little bit from every possible angle. After that they should be replaced, but I drove them a year more with no problems. Anyway, solid choice for Serbian roads.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2015
Given 51% while driving a Mazda mx 5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
Managed to almost spin my car in a car park this morning, not even accelerating!

They seem good in the dry, but I'm not keen on their wet performance!

I wouldn't buy these again.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2014
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 18,000 easy going miles
The first 17000 miles , i haven`t any problem in the way of driving i do. After thiw milage then it sterted to behaves just like plastic. It was spin every were, either dry or wet. Every brake finised with ABS ,even in dry.It became suddenly another tire, so i replace it with Dunlop Fastresponse.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2013
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki Swift SF310 (155/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
very good for light a car , very low wear, good grip dry and in wet especially first two years (20.000 km) now almost 30.000 km and 3 mm left front, 5.5 mm back. grip in wet is not so good but tires are not worn, grip in dry still very good. Very long life, way way better than the firestones i had before.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2012
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I have now had duragrip tyres for approx 18 months. Ride much quiter than old Goodyear GT2. After 10,000 miles front tyres had reduced from 7mm to 5mm. Rear tyres down to 6mm. No appreciable improvemnt in mpg. Try not to exceed the speed limit and potter along motoways between 65 & 70 mph. Car corners exceptionally well but no better than original tyres. Do not do fierce acceleration from a standing start and try to achieve good mpg figures. Pleased with tyres so far.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2012
Given 89% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.4 90hp (175/60 R14 T) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Excellent Tyres.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2011
Given 80% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
Great tyre - Excellent grip whatever the weather.
Pretty quiet even at 110 mph (on track of course ;) )
They do wear down pretty quickly though. Done 9k and only have 3.5mm left.

Most of my driving is twisty country roads at 40 - 50mph
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2010
Given 88% while driving a Fiat doblo (/ R) on a combination of roads for 70,000 average miles
only recently fitted but extremly good in wet and exceptionly good in snow
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2010