Goodyear DuraGrip

The Goodyear DuraGrip is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 71%
Wear 79%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 80%

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 317,510 miles driven.

The DuraGrip is ranked 43rd of 202 Summer Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 165/70 R14 - 6th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Low fuel consumption and wear.
  • Negative - A little weak in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 - 12th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry
  • Negative - Slight weakness in the wet
View Full Test >>

2010 European Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 r15 - 15th of 12 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         6.94kgs
165/60 R14 75H XL   E C 67 5.49kgs
165/60 R14 75T XL   E B 67 5.49kgs
175/65 R14 90T   C A 70 7.41kgs
185/65 R14 86H   E C 67 6.85kgs
165/60 R15 81T XL   E E 68 7.20kgs
175/65 R15 84T   B B 68 6.13kgs
175/65 R15 84T XL   B C 68 6.34kgs
175/65 R15 88T XL   A B 71 6.40kgs
185/65 R15 88H   F C 67 7.89kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   B C 68 7.50kgs
185/65 R15 88T XL   C B 68 8.47kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear DuraGrip. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


DuraGrip Prices

Size Price Range  
165/60 R14 £60.71 - £77.10 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/65 R14 £50.45 - £66.97 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £58.00 - £70.06 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 5 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear DuraGrip Reviews

Given 71% while driving a Nissan almera 1.5 (185/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Goodyear duragrips started very well with excellent performance in snow when they were new. They've worn quite fast though and have about 1mm to the TWI after 20k miles. Performance really dropped off fast recently so will need to replace them before I get to the TWI.
40 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2010   
Given 74% while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165/70 R14 Q) on a combination of roads for 70 average miles
I have been using this model since I own my car (5 years).
This is second set. I probably will buy new set next year. Can say just I am satisfied with durability. Although I did not have any other brand of tyre, for me this is best choice. And it has reasonable price.
4 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2015   
Given 51% while driving a Mazda mx 5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
Managed to almost spin my car in a car park this morning, not even accelerating!

They seem good in the dry, but I'm not keen on their wet performance!

I wouldn't buy these again.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2014   
Have you driven on the Goodyear DuraGrip tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear DuraGrip? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear DuraGrip >

Latest Goodyear DuraGrip Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Honda Jazz (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 40 easy going miles
Best front tyre I've ever fitted to a Honda Jazz 2009. Excellent wear pattern and fuel economy. The Jazz (or Fit) from this era has a problem with edge-wear on the fronts. This seems to be much worse with some tyres than others. This eventually ends up effecting handling and fuel efficiency as well as (obviously) halving the lifespan of the tyres. It's taken me 140,000 miles and 5 sets of tyres (3 of which were prematurely worn out) to get to 'grips' with this.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a Suzuki CELERIO (165/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 37,000 average miles
This is a decent tire. I cross around 20,000 KM a year. The tire were perfect for two years. Tire sides are heavy duty with no problems at all. On the third year, I started noticing slip on wet roads. The rubbers started to show dryness too. I recommend the tire but not more than Max. 60,000KM.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 79% while driving a Renault 5 (155/70 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I bought these Goodyear Duragrip and made about 20.000 km in 4 years. In town, motorway and also curvy mountain roads. When they were new I was able to climb a hill even in snow, where my newer station wagon didn't make it even with winter tyres (Goodyear Ultragrip 7+, 2years old)! The grip was always very good.
Then (after buying a new car) I parked it in my garage with still 6 mm of profile left.
Five years later I re-registered that old Renault R5, tyres still look good, no cracks at all, I don't even feel any shaking at higher speed! But now they are about 10 years old and in a little faster driven turns it doesn't hold well anymore. It's time for a new set. For a higher millage i would defintely buy Goodyear, but for yearly max 2.000 of sunday-driven kilometers I will probbably choose a cheaper brand.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2017   
Given 73% while driving a Mitsubishi (185/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
My second set on the car, had them for 3 years and about 35000 km's.
Basically nice tire, but it doesn't justify it's name, since mine got fairly worn and torn on the edges - guess that it's because of some macadam roads usage, mostly on holidays. I remember seeing them torn the same day when I failed trying (more than hour!) to get up the hill on some steep macadam road with sharp rocks - those sharp ends really torn the Duragirps, a little bit from every possible angle. After that they should be replaced, but I drove them a year more with no problems. Anyway, solid choice for Serbian roads.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2015   
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on mostly town for 18,000 easy going miles
The first 17000 miles , i haven`t any problem in the way of driving i do. After thiw milage then it sterted to behaves just like plastic. It was spin every were, either dry or wet. Every brake finised with ABS ,even in dry.It became suddenly another tire, so i replace it with Dunlop Fastresponse.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2013   
Given 94% while driving a Suzuki Swift SF310 (155/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
very good for light a car , very low wear, good grip dry and in wet especially first two years (20.000 km) now almost 30.000 km and 3 mm left front, 5.5 mm back. grip in wet is not so good but tires are not worn, grip in dry still very good. Very long life, way way better than the firestones i had before.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2012   
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I have now had duragrip tyres for approx 18 months. Ride much quiter than old Goodyear GT2. After 10,000 miles front tyres had reduced from 7mm to 5mm. Rear tyres down to 6mm. No appreciable improvemnt in mpg. Try not to exceed the speed limit and potter along motoways between 65 & 70 mph. Car corners exceptionally well but no better than original tyres. Do not do fierce acceleration from a standing start and try to achieve good mpg figures. Pleased with tyres so far.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2012   
Given 89% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.4 90hp (175/60 R14 T) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Excellent Tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2011   
Given 80% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
Great tyre - Excellent grip whatever the weather.
Pretty quiet even at 110 mph (on track of course ;) )
They do wear down pretty quickly though. Done 9k and only have 3.5mm left.

Most of my driving is twisty country roads at 40 - 50mph
0 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2010   
Given 88% while driving a Fiat doblo (/ R) on a combination of roads for 70,000 average miles
only recently fitted but extremly good in wet and exceptionly good in snow
0 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2010