Volvo s60 D5 (163) Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo s60 D5 (163).

Do you Drive a Volvo s60 D5 (163)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a s60 D5 (163) better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (211) 91% 90% 83% 86% 76% 80%
Falken Azenis FK510 (107) 90% 89% 83% 83% 75% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (280) 90% 88% 84% 84% 73% 83%
Goodyear Eagle Vector (5) 76% 80% 83% 83% 85% 83%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Nokian WR D4 (61) 84% 84% 80% 79% 67% 85%
Sava Eskimo S3 Plus (25) 77% 76% 72% 74% 75% 82%
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Linglong Green Max (33) 79% 73% 69% 72% 70% 77%
Riken Riken UHP (9) 80% 69% 70% 73% 73% 77%
Pirelli Winter 210 Sottozero 2 (5) 86% 86% 80% 32% 78% 60%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (56) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (48) 74% 68% 62% 62% 65% 56%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (60) 65% 45% 54% 53% 71% 55%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%
Kumho I Zen KW31 (1) 70% 50% 60% 50% 50% 70%
Rotalla F108 (7) 67% 44% 48% 40% 65% 65%
Sava intensa hp (25) 58% 46% 45% 40% 61% 60%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (67) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Volvo s60 D5 (163) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho I Zen KW31 given 53% (205-55-16-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Very low grip in wet Never buy again
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-02 11:02:27
Writing about the Riken Riken UHP given 33% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1500 average miles
The worst tyres I have been used in my life. I have tried this brand after my old Continental tyres. Pricing of this tyres were very close to Petlas, Kumho and Falken but the vehicle doesn't stop while braking, even at low speeds. I made a big mistake to choose this new brand. Also handling is so weak too. I have to lower my speed more down as usual before cornering. Noise level is same as my old tyres. For safety on road, be aware to use this brand. Lastly, I will never buy it again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-09 17:57:52
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 23% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
There are budget tyres, then there are Sailun Attrezzo's. These things are atrocious. When I purchased my car some clown had fitted these to it all round. I am now changing them and they are not even half worn. Dangerous in dry conditions, lethal in wet conditions. Abysmal breaking distance, terrible handling. The list goes on. The noise is borderline obnoxious as well. It sounds like someone has tape sand paper to the tyres when you're driving along.

How these meet EU safety standards I cannot fathom. They are on the same level as a £15 remould from a backstreet tyre shop.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-03 08:16:57
Writing about the Event WL905 given 15% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 600 average miles
These came fitted on a 2nd hand Volvo S60 D5, now bear in mind this is a heavy very torque-y car.....
Generally a LOT of lateral motion, no idea what the sidewalls were made of (cheese?) but no matter what road surface or speed there was a terrible feeling of wallow which initially made me think my suspension was shot.
In the dry at low speeds these were acceptable but at motorway speeds these things were terrifying, you could feel the grip breaking and they tramlined like crazy. Under heavy breaking in the dry you got terrible vibration / wobble and again you could feel the grip going.
In the wet these tyres are LETHAL. Now the S60 is a heavy car and generally is very planted but frankly these tyres gave me the cold sweats on several occasions even in a straight line (tramlining plus breaking grip at high speed)
As for wear I'll never know, I ditched these after 2 weeks for some Eagle Assymetric 3's and never looked back.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-25 11:35:57
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 70% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
Coming from Dunlop SportMaxx RT, decided to give a try to the latest Michelin Pilot Sport (4). The Dunlop's only lasted for about 20000km. Confortable tyre, but not that sporty feeling, and it doesn't last... at all...

So, as I wanted a sports tyre, with a decent mileage, I went to the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (treadwear 320), as per advise on my tyres garage.

As the tyres where bedding in, I starded to feel increase in vibration. Re-calibrated wheels quite a few times, until we started noticing the tyres wheres deforming, and had to take them off...

90% of my driving is on motorway at legal speed (120km/h).

The tyres actually seem to be very confortable, with high levels of grip, bot wet and dry, but I was not expecting the deforming, from a Michelin Tyre. I think that the wear would be fine also, but could not rate for sure, because they where only used in cold/rainy weather.

tyre reviewed on 2017-02-22 11:53:52
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
Had these tyres on the front for only 11 months and around 8000 miles and they're almost down to the wear blocks. The S60 is a heavy, powerful car and known for getting though tyres but expected Hankooks to last a bit longer @ £75 each. The grip and feel have been great, much better than the cheapies I bought the car with, but have become progressively noisy and seem to reverberate every bump and pothole back into the cabin now. I'm waiting for some Michelin Primacy 3's to put on the front, more expensive but I value grip over wear.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-08 16:48:31
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 85% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 200 average miles
I have this tire only for a month, but I encourage You to buy, and also share your impressions here. In the same summer conditions it adds 15 kmh in corners regarding the winter tire. I think i makes more noise at 90 than i imagined, but also absorbs the bumps better than softer winter tires did. I hold 2,6 bars on my 1,6 t weight car. please share your impressions and the pressure too!
Overall I spent a lot of time choosing, and I m happy with my decision. I prefer not the 3 main brands, but i did not wanted made in china stuff. This tire costs 30€ less than conti and 20€ less than hankook which i was consdidering.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-07 11:51:01
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Hankook Tyres / Car / Hankook K115 Ventus Prime 2 Hankook K 115 - 225/45 R17 94W XL TL
is the acutal tyres I have been buying for my Volvo S60 2.4 D5, I am now on my 6th pair, I average 20,000 miles per tyre change, I do buy them on line for £56.00+ & postage, plus fitting at my local garage, as I have three cars in the family. Hence to save money where I can, but not on performance.

I am very happy with the performance of these tyres, I don't hang around on my journey sometimes, and they do hold the road well. the only time they start to follow the ruts and markings are when the tread is getting close to the limits
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-17 14:35:40
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 90% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
the best choice! in snow not possible to slide onder 60! in wet no complaint ready to turn up to 160
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-28 21:56:11
Writing about the Event WL905 given 46% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Had these tyres on the front of my Volvo S60 for 6 months, which came with the car. I'm changing them very early as they are dangerous in the wet and unsuitable for a heavy, powerful car. Avoid, in my opinion.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-23 16:49:36
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 90% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I have used these tyres on my previous E-Class Mercedes and more recently on my Volvo S60. They are a fantastic tyre in my opinion at around 35% of the cost of equivalent Continentals I had fitted before (on both vehicles). Wear is better and they are also quieter. Wet grip is fine and I am about to have another set fitted by my local supplier at £57.60 each fully fitted. No brainer!!
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-18 11:50:24
Writing about the Linglong Green Max given 85% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Another sceptical buyer, I went off the review from a fellow Volvo driver and advice from my garage that these tyres perform beyond their price. Well they do! Done about 1000miles in a week or so, through cold, warm, wet and dry weather. These tyres perform very well, better than my previous tyres which included continental, bridgestones and Michelin. The ride and comfort is also greatly improved even with the XL rating which is a bonus, I haven't experienced tramlining or pulling through ruts in lorry lanes and the tyres are very responsive at all speeds. Considering the price I'm happy for them to wear faster and ensure I don't have aging tyres on the vehicle.

I have to recommend them for anybody not racing all the time, and not running silly power. I'm an aggressive driver, but fluid and smooth, and I have a heavy and torquey car so that tyres are definitely tested hard. I've pushed them more than I was previously comfortable with and they keep excelling. The only test I've missed is the snow, but I fully expect to run winter tyres again so am not worried. And the freezing temperatures haven't worried the tyres yet, even when I was skating out to the car in the morning.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-02 14:17:52
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre