Volvo s60 D5 (163) Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volvo s60 D5 (163).

Do you Drive a Volvo s60 D5 (163)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a s60 D5 (163) better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (155) 94% 87% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Falken Azenis FK520 (23) 91% 88% 86% 88% 80% 86%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (84) 91% 88% 81% 85% 89% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (301) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 82%
Goodyear Eagle Vector (5) 76% 80% 83% 83% 85% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (312) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Nokian WR D4 (68) 83% 82% 78% 79% 66% 83%
Sava Eskimo S3 Plus (29) 76% 75% 71% 73% 78% 83%
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Riken Riken UHP (13) 82% 73% 72% 75% 76% 78%
Pirelli Winter 210 Sottozero 2 (5) 86% 86% 80% 32% 78% 60%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (61) 79% 73% 72% 71% 67% 72%
Linglong Green Max (36) 78% 70% 65% 69% 66% 72%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (164) 79% 69% 69% 67% 64% 64%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (52) 74% 68% 62% 62% 64% 56%
Avon AS7 Gen 2 (5) 86% 86% 52% 60% 50% 68%
Kenda KAISER KR20 (64) 66% 46% 55% 54% 71% 55%
Accelera Alpha (130) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 56%
Pirelli P6000 (175) 66% 46% 55% 48% 67% 60%
Rotalla F108 (7) 67% 44% 48% 40% 65% 65%
Sava intensa hp (25) 58% 46% 45% 40% 61% 60%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Kumho I Zen KW31 (3) 60% 37% 50% 47% 60% 50%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Volvo s60 D5 (163) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 given 70% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Tyres was OK but just at it's 8th month started to crack all over. Turkey very hot place and I think this tire not suits here.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-28 12:17:15
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
I've never reviewed tyres before but decided to due to the potential safety issues related to these tyres.
I had 4 fitted to my Volvo and first impressions were excellent, grip was superb and the ride quality was decent. The problem has been that as they have gotten closer to the end of their life they have become dangerous. One front tyre suffered an instant deflation when the inner 2 inches of rubber wore through to the banding, and with the tyre in general good condition. And now the rear tyre has done exactly the same but this time manifesting itself as a very bad vibration.
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-28 04:21:42
Writing about the Avon AS7 Gen 2 given 51% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 spirited miles
Had these fitted in July 2022 on a deal (still not worth it). When new, better than budget tyres in the wet, competent enough for some spirited driving along country road (which is most of my journeys). Currently along some muddy and icy lanes as well as town driving. Will grip enough under heavy braking. That's where the good bits end. These tyres lasted 6-7 months and now they're on the markers. To add insult to injury my fuel economy has dropped 5mpg since having them fitted. These last few weeks they have been bordering on dangerous, spinning up even in the slightest bit of damp, never had a tyre let go like that with a bit of tread left on it. Suffice to say they were pretty ropey in the recent icy conditions. Avoid at all costs.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-31 14:18:34
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK520 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 miles
I have been running these on the back of my Volvo as a pair. They are comfortable for daily use and not noisy at all. In terms of grip in my opinion they do really well and when pushing on they are predictable and controllable in the dry. In the wet they are also very stable. Can't comment on longevity as have only had them for 3 months on the rear so wear will be minimal. For the cost can't complain at all- near enough "established premium" manufacturers for a far less cost. I'd definitely but again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-22 05:10:37
Writing about the Kumho I Zen KW31 given 53% (205-55-16-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Very low grip in wet Never buy again
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-02 05:02:27
Writing about the Riken Riken UHP given 33% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1500 average miles
The worst tyres I have been used in my life. I have tried this brand after my old Continental tyres. Pricing of this tyres were very close to Petlas, Kumho and Falken but the vehicle doesn't stop while braking, even at low speeds. I made a big mistake to choose this new brand. Also handling is so weak too. I have to lower my speed more down as usual before cornering. Noise level is same as my old tyres. For safety on road, be aware to use this brand. Lastly, I will never buy it again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-09 11:57:52
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 23% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
There are budget tyres, then there are Sailun Attrezzo's. These things are atrocious. When I purchased my car some clown had fitted these to it all round. I am now changing them and they are not even half worn. Dangerous in dry conditions, lethal in wet conditions. Abysmal breaking distance, terrible handling. The list goes on. The noise is borderline obnoxious as well. It sounds like someone has tape sand paper to the tyres when you're driving along.

How these meet EU safety standards I cannot fathom. They are on the same level as a £15 remould from a backstreet tyre shop.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-03 02:16:57
Writing about the Event WL905 given 15% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 600 average miles
These came fitted on a 2nd hand Volvo S60 D5, now bear in mind this is a heavy very torque-y car.....
Generally a LOT of lateral motion, no idea what the sidewalls were made of (cheese?) but no matter what road surface or speed there was a terrible feeling of wallow which initially made me think my suspension was shot.
In the dry at low speeds these were acceptable but at motorway speeds these things were terrifying, you could feel the grip breaking and they tramlined like crazy. Under heavy breaking in the dry you got terrible vibration / wobble and again you could feel the grip going.
In the wet these tyres are LETHAL. Now the S60 is a heavy car and generally is very planted but frankly these tyres gave me the cold sweats on several occasions even in a straight line (tramlining plus breaking grip at high speed)
As for wear I'll never know, I ditched these after 2 weeks for some Eagle Assymetric 3's and never looked back.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-25 05:35:57
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 70% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
Coming from Dunlop SportMaxx RT, decided to give a try to the latest Michelin Pilot Sport (4). The Dunlop's only lasted for about 20000km. Confortable tyre, but not that sporty feeling, and it doesn't last... at all...

So, as I wanted a sports tyre, with a decent mileage, I went to the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (treadwear 320), as per advise on my tyres garage.

As the tyres where bedding in, I starded to feel increase in vibration. Re-calibrated wheels quite a few times, until we started noticing the tyres wheres deforming, and had to take them off...

90% of my driving is on motorway at legal speed (120km/h).

The tyres actually seem to be very confortable, with high levels of grip, bot wet and dry, but I was not expecting the deforming, from a Michelin Tyre. I think that the wear would be fine also, but could not rate for sure, because they where only used in cold/rainy weather.

tyre reviewed on 2017-02-22 04:53:52
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
Had these tyres on the front for only 11 months and around 8000 miles and they're almost down to the wear blocks. The S60 is a heavy, powerful car and known for getting though tyres but expected Hankooks to last a bit longer @ £75 each. The grip and feel have been great, much better than the cheapies I bought the car with, but have become progressively noisy and seem to reverberate every bump and pothole back into the cabin now. I'm waiting for some Michelin Primacy 3's to put on the front, more expensive but I value grip over wear.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-08 09:48:31
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 85% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 200 average miles
I have this tire only for a month, but I encourage You to buy, and also share your impressions here. In the same summer conditions it adds 15 kmh in corners regarding the winter tire. I think i makes more noise at 90 than i imagined, but also absorbs the bumps better than softer winter tires did. I hold 2,6 bars on my 1,6 t weight car. please share your impressions and the pressure too!
Overall I spent a lot of time choosing, and I m happy with my decision. I prefer not the 3 main brands, but i did not wanted made in china stuff. This tire costs 30€ less than conti and 20€ less than hankook which i was consdidering.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-07 05:51:01
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Hankook Tyres / Car / Hankook K115 Ventus Prime 2 Hankook K 115 - 225/45 R17 94W XL TL
is the acutal tyres I have been buying for my Volvo S60 2.4 D5, I am now on my 6th pair, I average 20,000 miles per tyre change, I do buy them on line for £56.00+ & postage, plus fitting at my local garage, as I have three cars in the family. Hence to save money where I can, but not on performance.

I am very happy with the performance of these tyres, I don't hang around on my journey sometimes, and they do hold the road well. the only time they start to follow the ruts and markings are when the tread is getting close to the limits
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-17 07:35:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre