Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI.

Do you Drive a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a A6 Avant 2.0TDI better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Debica Presto UHP2 (32) 89% 83% 84% 83% 78% 92%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (160) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
BFGoodrich gGrip (45) 90% 79% 80% 81% 86% 85%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (96) 87% 87% 83% 74% 89% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (243) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 79%
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R (7) 82% 70% 77% 73% 86% 93%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (37) 90% 83% 81% 80% 76% 72%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Kumho Ecsta LE Sport (31) 77% 72% 73% 72% 70% 74%
Pirelli P Zero (130) 85% 71% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (50) 84% 73% 73% 75% 63% 63%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (34) 80% 62% 62% 67% 69% 64%
Goodride SA37 (21) 73% 66% 63% 61% 56% 65%
Cooper WM ST3 (2) 85% 55% 75% 75% 70% 65%
Haida HD921 (35) 58% 40% 46% 44% 50% 37%

Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT given 44% (245-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
You need a column for appears. The appearance of these tyres is HORRIBLE. Picture a formal one car bulge out the side of the tyre, no fancy grip design, just straight lines and a big bulging stupid looking tyre. I never thought appearance of a tyre would matter to me until i seen these ugly ass tyres. The Grip looks so basic that im worried about driving in wet with them. AVOID. Not worth the money.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-24 07:37:02
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 74% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Original Michelin Primacy 3 (AO), had done a good 20,000 miles with a few rotations to even out the wear, but were beginning to loose grip on cold mornings and were down to 2-2.5mm. So with winter on its way, and plenty of research on all-season tires, it took the plunge and ordered some CC+. I have only had them on for a couple of weeks, but the wet/dry grip is very good, especial as it has been cold weather. They seem to do ok with water clearing, have had roads with heavy surface water, no issue, and some big puddles, again no issue. Big disappointment is the noise. Tyre shop sent me on my way with 36/36psi front/back, but there was a significant rhythmic drumming/humming from the tires, which increased pitch with speed, and got much worse on corning. Checked the manual which suggested 41/38psi for lightly loaded, 41/44psi for heavy loaded, on XL M+S tires, so increased to 41 all round. Noise improved, and i can't notice it on the back tires any more, but still on the front. Increased the front so now on 44/41psi, which made a fractional improvement. I have taken the car up to speed (110) to see if there was an issue with alignment, or balancing but all seemed fine. No vibration, no pulling on cruise, acceleration or heavy braking. There now appears to be a small amount of premature rounding wear on the leading edge of the outside block, which would typically be a result of under inflation. But as i am at the very max that the manual suggests, i don't want to put any more air in.
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-19 10:45:52
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 90% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I drove with this tyres in a combination of road. First on the highway (about 10.000 km) and then in the city and and the surroundings (about 7.000 km). Wear was a little higher on the highway, about 15%, compared to mixed driving.
After 17-18.000 km the tyres have about 5.5-6.2 mm remaining, from 8.5 mm as they had at purchase, which is ok for a UHP tire and the quality in road.

I had no problems with them in terms of balance, even when you can switch between them (face with back after 10.000 km).

I am not the most sporty driver but I do not drive like an old man :D , so for my needs they are excellent, never gave me emotions.

The only complaint is that they are a bit noisy for my taste, especially when they are cold. If they did not have this minus, I would not have considered another tire.

Finally;

They are absolut great for those people who not drive in the rally race, or those who pushing to the limit their car, but with the minus about the noise, could be a litter better.

tyre reviewed on 2020-01-07 12:24:22
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given NAN% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 miles
I have 195/65/15 XL Michelin crossclimate + tyres on my VW caddy work van for the last 14 months ( August 2018) almost 47000 miles. Also had the first crossclimate tyres on when they came out first. I can't rate these tyres for this size high enough for both wet, dry and snow handling.
Last year in August 2018 I bought a 2012 Audi a6 avant when the tyres needed changing in October 2018 I put on a set of 225/55/17 XL, crossclimate cause of past experience. We had very little snow in that winter but quite dry and often wet at times. A slight bit noisy tyre but could live with that, dry grip was good, damp road grip was ok, but as for very wet roads with puddles Aguaplaining was a nightmare.
The car was not in control very dangerous, the only way you were in control was doing 20 to 30 mph.
Motorway driving in the rain was dangerous if you came across surface water. I am disappointed to say that I will not be putting another set on the audi, shame cause I thought I had a reliable tyre for all year round back to the drawing board for the car for tyres, but the work van will keep on it.
And before anyone asks yes traction tyre pressure, was checked and perfect, just could be a wider tyre on car but 225 tyres are pretty normal size for today.
That's my view on Michelin crossclimate tyres from a high mileage ireland driver. 16/10/2019.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-16 09:54:27
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 100% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Very very good tired. Higly recomanded.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-18 17:28:48
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Nero GT given 43% (245-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20 miles
A very over rated brand...I was really dissatisfied and disappointed with these so called high end tyres, road noise poor , handling is very average, ive had better budgets ...you can get much better for less money .
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-20 22:30:48
Writing about the Cooper WM ST3 given 43% (205-60-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Worst tire ever. Understeers a lot in wet conditions, even at low speed. They are dangerous in wet conditions and I will get them asap replaced!
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-02 13:41:56
Writing about the Debica Presto UHP2 given 91% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
A very good tire. I drove under all conditions and never gave me emotions. Excellent grip in wet and dry, silent, good aquaplaning (a score of 7-8). Top-quality price!
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-17 20:26:50
Writing about the Haida HD921 given 33% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
I bought this car just b4 Xmas and it had these tyres on 245/40/18 these tyres are ok in the wet and dry and even in the snow i was able to go up my road that is on a hill but the worst thing about these tyres are the road noise I was convinced that all my wheel bearings were gone and needed changing but after having them checked I have noticed its the tyres if you use the moterway alot dont even bother looking at these tyres it will drive you crazy i would rather spend a little more.I will be changing these at my first opportunity
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-26 09:33:23
Writing about the Goodride SA37 given 63% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4500 spirited miles
Update to my previous comments (at 200 miles) Have had these on the car for about 4500 miles now which has been a mixture of dry, ice, snow and rain.
These are surprisingly good on snow - I was genuinely expecting them to be borderline dangerous but they're pretty well behaved
As good as any other summer tyre on ice (lethal) .
In the wet, these seem to have more grip than they do in the dry.
In the dry, these were excellent when first fitted for the first few thousand miles. They remain good under braking (have never lost grip under braking) but are now prone to spin/squeak/make the traction control lose its mind a fair bit if i need to pull off quickly.

All in all, as good as any other budgets i've run on.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-20 13:19:03
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 100% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Straight out the box I found the Michelin pilot sport 4 tires are superb. I have them Fitted to my front wheel drive A6 2.0tdi with 180bhp and 400nm
For a summer tyre (not being a track based tyre) it has Masses of dry grip, compared to my last set, Michelin pilot sport 3 they are everything I expected and more.
Then we get on to the important bit. Now I've watched hundreds of YouTube videos, read dozens of reviews trying to find out which is the best tyre for wet weather and how budgets compare to the premiums brands and so on, and I was a little sceptical on how good the pilot sport 4 really are, and from past experiences of driving many cars with various tyres choices, to compare to pilot sport 4's, When the rain starts to fall, The WET GRIP!! Absolutely astonishing. Apart from the road visually looking wet you wouldn't know you was driving on a wet Road. Even under hard braking and abit of second gear, foot down on a roundabout, and I plant all 400nm, It just bites the tarmac and goes. Turn in from the front tyres in the wet is excellent.
Wear rate still to early to say, but I would expect like all Michelins they will last a long time.
Road noise isn't noticeable for everyday driving. Though Audi cabins are particularly well insulated.

I can recommend these tyres enough.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-09 21:26:07
Writing about the Goodride SA37 given 82% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Put a set of these on 225/50/17 w extra load - £41 a corner isn't going to get anything better. They went onto the rims better than the evergreens they replaced. Fairly limited mileage thus far, and entirely in wet/very wet. These behave as well as conti sport contact 2s that I used to have thus far, and significantly better than the evergreens. Hopefully they still will once worn in properly. Shall update this once have further feedback.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-10 12:03:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre