Dunlop SportMaxx RT Reviews - Page 2

Given 73% while driving a Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I had some cheap GT Radial Champiro FE1 and the grip was poor. Beside bad handling the car was bad at braking, after i change the to the Dunlops, the car change totally, much better grip in the dry and much better handling. And breaking got much better too. So for this size of tire. This is a tire i can really recommend.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2020
Given 74% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Side grip is very bad,on the wet road they are very,very good,brakes are solid
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2020
Given 59% while driving a Subaru WRX Limited (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
I live and drive an above normal amount across Colorado. I have these tires fitted to my 2018 Subaru WRX Limited (Vehicle is stock). These tires were the O.E.M. fitment from Subaru. While they are sporty and do fit the vehicle’s driving dynamics, they leave a lot to be desired. Straight line, high speed grip was a little floaty at first but as the tire wore this settled out. At highway speeds the tire tends to try and track any ruts in the road which causes constant steering input to stay centered in your lane. At city speeds, as the tire wore down, it began to track more aggressively in these ruts resulting in an increasing amount of steering input. Driving in the mountains, spiritedly of course, the tire felt on the limit well before you reached that limit. There was a vagueness when you turned in on what would be the acceptable speed for a corner, regardless of previous speeds entering the same corner. This vagueness was consistent throughout the life of the tire. In the wet, the tires performed admirably. Significantly less grip in the wet when cornering, but no aquaplaning issues. On highway in the wet, the tires were stable and relatively predictable when encountering aquaplaning through deeper water. In the snow you are better off walking to your destination. The road noise was a bit loud, and when encountering bumps and cracks in the road you felt every millimeter of rebound. At 25,000 miles I expected a bit more life from these tires, seeing as majority of the mid-to-outer tread was still well within the legal limit. However, the inside edge of the tires began wearing suddenly and rapidly causing a light grey band of wear to appear which also began a slight squeaking noise. Upon checking my alignment, finding nothing abnormal, and resetting the alignment even more accurately, the tires continued this odd wear pattern. In summary, these tires were acceptable tires fitted from the factory, but with the staggering amount of options available with better characteristics I would not purchase them. They are no cheaper than any Michelin, Goodyear, or Continental offering, which would be the only reason I would repurchase them. These tires will do when you first purchase your vehicle and start to learn its characteristics. But once you’ve achieved a certain proficiency with your vehicle, the next step up in tires is a necessity.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 66% while driving a Audi A7 S Line 245ps (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Tyres have developed cracks (some span 1/3 of the tyre) when the tyre wear indicator shows plenty of life left in the tread. Investigating more there appears to be some quite severe cases of tyre failure. Worryingly, my tyres developed the cracks on the inside tyre walls so were unnoticeable until I removed them to change Xenon bulbs. No idea how long they have been like that
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2020
Given 74% while driving a Nissan Skyline V35 (225/40 R19) on mostly town for 12,000 spirited miles
I got these tyres as a temporary substitute when I changed my wheels. They were excellent in the dry and very good in the wet. The Dunlops also made the car quieter overall. Very little noise. I noticed too that the more they wore, the stickier they got. The sidewalls on these isn't as hard as the previous tyres, but the all out grip was impressive none the less. I would definitely buy a new set, but the price and availability make it hard to get.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019
Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Bought thee to replace a pair of dreadful Arrowspeed Performance UHP's after less than 1000 miles on them.
The Arrowspeeds were borderline dangerous on the rear, Stability control was triggering a lot and the car would sway about if changing lanes or changing direction quickly....simply can't say a good thing about them.
Dunlops have transformed the car, quieter, much more stable and very grippy in every way a nice match to the car
Helpful 75 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2019
Given 80% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Positive : Good at dry and wet handling, good performance, low fuel consumption, quiet.
Negative: high price, very very low wear. (tire almost done at 13000 miles). For this reason, i dont buy again.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2019
Given 80% while driving a BMW 320D (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Tyre with excellent performances.
Will definetly buy them again.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2019
Given 66% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Good grip in the dry, acceptable but nothing to shout about in the wet. In snow or slush, absolutely useless !!
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2019
Given 69% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 9,000 easy going miles
Factory fitted from new on 2017 Skoda Octavia 2l diesel estate and have done 9k in 12 months but the fronts are not wearing as well as I would have hoped. As my daily commute includes parking on the fourth floor of a multi-storey car park and with a heavy engine this could explain the wear on the tyre shoulders but on longer drives they are quiet and sure footed giving no cause for concern.
The scores are based on this experience and could well be bettered with a different driving profile.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2018
Given 69% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 9,000 easy going miles
Factory fitted from new on 2017 Skoda Octavia 2l diesel estate and have done 9k in 12 months but the fronts are not wearing as well as I would have hoped. As my daily commute includes parking on the fourth floor of a multi-storey car park and with a heavy engine this could explain the wear on the tyre shoulders but on longer drives they are quiet and sure footed giving no cause for concern.
The scores are based on this experience and could well be bettered with a different driving profile.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2018
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 1.4 TSI 160 (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
I'm reviewing the second set of these tyres that I'm using for the last six years (3 years and about 20000 km each set) driving in city and motorways. Most of my driving experience with these tyres is in dry conditions and temperatures above 15 degrees were grip and handling is excellent. The good road feedback in dry conditions and the safe '' feeling'' at high motorway speeds are the main reasons I bought them again since in the 205 55 16 dimension are one of the best sport tyres. I don't like the feedback of the premium tyres that dominate the aforementioned dimension.
The bad thing is that they don't last much. Treadware is 240 so they are pretty soft and easily worn in hursh roads. On the other hand in hot conditions they do not dry up fast, (hair thin cracks) maybe because they are too soft and wear fast so new rubber comes to surface and replaces the dryed one (personal explanation) . Mine lasted three years but with a rather low km per year (10k) use.
Can't say much for the wet. In wet conditions in city they tend to loose grip easily. Now that they are worn don't provide enough confidence on wet roads.
I will replace them with pilot sport 4.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2018