Michelin Energy

The Michelin Energy is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 42 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 920,544 miles driven.

Dry Grip 71%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 59%
Handling 61%
Wear 84%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 64%

The Energy is ranked 110th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Energy E3B.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Energy

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Energy

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Energy. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Michelin Energy Reviews

Given 92% while driving a Toyota Corolla Axio 1.5G (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 70 easy going miles
Fitted to Toyota Corolla Wagon, i replaced to manufacturers worn out Original Toyo tyres at 60,000 km, now just turned 130,000 km and the tyres still have 2 to 3 mm tread remaining before tracing the twi. I reckon I have another 20,000 km before I need to replace tyres. 60% of my travel is motorway at 100-110kph. The remainder is round town. Not carrying heavy loads - I am a careful driver, no burn outs of drifting! Noise level is quieter than Toyo tyres. Comfortable too. Fuel consumption is 14 to 15 km per litre most of the time. I run 31 to 32 psi pressure and tire wear is very even.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2021
Given 71% while driving a Mazda 3 2005 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 22,000 average miles
Replaced the factory Bridgestone Potenza's on the car and finally into 2 sets(each set lasted for 22000miles or 4 years). Both the sets where exactly the same, good all rounder for a small sedan that comes a bit overpriced, probably due to been from a top manufacturer. For half the money there are some equal tyres from what I discovered later on.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2020
Given 97% while driving a Vauxhall (195/45 R16) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
I cant really comment on the handling etc... as I drive a Diesel on the motorway... but I have noticed an improvement of 3/4 miles per gallon by running these on just the front of my car! Over a year that's getting me around 1300 miles for free! that's around £140 for me... so I get the cost of the tyres back in a year! And they say that there is an extra 20% life in these tyres to normal ones... so really im getting paid to fit these tyres!! Well worth it if you want an improved fuel economy and lower cost!
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2015
Have you driven on the Michelin Energy tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Energy? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Energy >

Latest Michelin Energy Reviews

Given 96% while driving a MG (205/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 8 spirited miles
Replaced a set of Continental tyres in which I had no confidence. The Michelin Energy transformed the car, smooth comfortable ride, terrific levels of grip in dry & wet and no problems when using the V8 engine to its full potential.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2014
Given 91% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 2,500 easy going miles
Bought these secondhand for a bargain £20 for set of 4 with approx 6mm tread from a Ford Fiesta 2009 rims to fit onto my 2006 Ford Fiesta 1.25 Style to replace the problematic 195/50/15's that were fitted(rims damaged, couldn't balance out so constant shaking hence replaced). First thing is how much lighter the steering was with the Michelin Energy's. Secondly, the car was 30% quieter at 65mph(using a decibel meter) and thirdly, the car rolled so much better! So far i've only done 2.5k miles on them but end of summer and into winter now they've been fantastic.
Grip has been good, never has it broken away in dry or wet at anything up to the point where a normal driver pushes their normal car. The ride is noticeably comfier due to the higher 65 ratio sidewall compared to my previous 50 profile tyres. Wear seems to be very minimal, they do not lose any pressure at all, thats in 2 1/2 months, not a single psi drop in pressure. So far very impressed, when they eventually wear out they will be replaced with the same again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2013
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 49 average miles
Michelin Energy tyres were fitted as manufacturer's original equipment to my 2007 Volkswagen Golf 1.6 fsi.They have lasted just under 49,000 miles and had 3mm tread left on the front driving wheels and 4mm left on the rear wheels. They had never even had a puncture until yesterday.I am replacing all 4 today with the latest Michelin Energy Saver + at £73 a corner from North Eastern Tyres which is excellent value if they last as well as the originals.Another 2007 Golf in my family which had been fitted with Continentals is now on its third set of tyres over less mileage.
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2013
Given 80% while driving a MINI (175/65 R15 V) on mostly town for 45,000 average miles
45k and have 4mm left on rears and 2mm on front. V happy.
Mostly town driving as well.
Walls have started to crack on all 4 so will keep eye on them.
They have been comfy and performed well in most driving conditions.
Would buy again !!
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2012
Given 63% while driving a Toyota Altis (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Even though this tyre gives a comfortable ride, but it is not good enough in wet grip as well as aquaplaning. It is also tend to skid easily when you forced in sharp corner, especially in wet road.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2012
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 TDI (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 150 average miles
Tyres fitted to car when new. Changed front tyres at 44000 . Put new tyres on rear and put rear on front which have now done 54000 miles. Still have lot of tread for at least 6000 miles. But have got to change as tread is cracking up.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2012
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Mk4 Golf Estate TDi 130 (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Look these tyres are really ok. Pricey - unless you look around but wear really well and are good tyres.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2012
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (165/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I had these tires fitted all round on my mk2 jetta as a slight stretch to check and they handled beautifully i couldn't fault them i never span out or lost control and on coil overs the car handled like it was on tracks i have recently used the same set up on my fiances mk2f polo and it has given the same great results i could go faster in the wet round the bends than i ever could
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2012
Given 89% while driving a Vauxhall 1.6 16v CD (195/60 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 52,000 average miles
Really suited my car and all 4 lasted 52,000miles. Had Pirellis put on to replace them and the car handled awfully. Next Bridgestone Potenza RE88's and handling like a dream again.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2011
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (205/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I have them on my Golf and they have very good grip in both dry and wet conditions!
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2011
Given 27% while driving a Renault Clio III Initiale 2.0 (195/50 R16) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Ruined the ride quality of the car causing all kinds of rattles absolutely no feedback and expensive.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2011
Given 76% while driving a Renault Megane (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 44,000 average miles
These tyres are an excellent choice for the 'normal, sensible' motorist. The wear is increadable and I have only just needed to change the fronts after 44k - the rears are still going strong. These tyres certainly grip better in the dry, but that would be expected. All round, the driving experience has been predictable, with low road noise and improved fuel economy. Having read some of the reviews on here I can only summise that a good number of the negative comments have been left by drivers who have been pushing their cars beyond their own driving capabilities, and placed the blame on the tyres. I previously put these tyres on an alfa 156 and have to say that they performed equally well on that car too. The only negative is the higher than average price.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2011