Toyo Proxes Sport

The Toyo Proxes Sport is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 67%
Wear 69%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 60%

Tyre review data from 20 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 102,912 miles driven.

The Proxes Sport is ranked 110th of 146 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Well balanced handling.
  • Negative - Limited steering precision and oversteering the dry, very long wet and dry braking distances.
  • Overall - The new Proxes Sport A still has grip problems.
View Full Test >>

2020 AMS 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Balanced wet handling, good steering feel in the dry.
  • Negative - Reduced wet grip, high noise, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Ok - Despite the sporty feel, the Toyo lacks performance.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 16th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 70  
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R17 98Y XL   C A 73  
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71  
255/45 R17 98Y XL   C A 72  
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 71  
215/50 R17 95Y XL   C A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 71  
235/50 R17 96Y   E A 70  
215/55 R17 98Y XL   C A 71  
225/55 R17 101Y XL   C A 71  
225/55 R17 101Y XL   E A 71  
235/55 R17 99Y   E A 71  
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 73  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 72  
215/40 R18 89Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   F B 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C A 72  
275/40 R18 99Y   E A 72  
215/45 R18 93Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72  
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 71  
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73  
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 72  
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 72  
275/30 R19 96Y XL   F B 72  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 72  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73  
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 73  
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73  
295/35 R19 104Y XL   C A 72  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 73  
265/40 R19 102Y XL   C A 72  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 72  
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 70  
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72  
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 73  
275/30 R20 97Y XL   C A 72  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 72  
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 72  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   F B 71  
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 73  
285/35 R20 100Y   C A 72  
285/35 R20 100Y   F B 74  
255/40 R20 101Y   C A 72  
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 72  
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 71  

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Toyo Proxes Sport. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
215/40 R18 £113.02 - £130.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £92.99 - £92.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £87.99 - £88.66 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R18 £116.14 - £116.14 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 51 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo Proxes Sport Reviews

Given 91% while driving a BMW 318d M Sport Touring (E91) (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Amazing tires, last long and sticks like glue even in the rain!
Helpful 224 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2017
Given 76% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
You can always tell fake reviews like the one below by the "BMW M240i" driver, they completely go against general feedback and come across as extremely negative. Well I'm glad they made it so easy for others to identify.

Here's my review. I like the Proxes Sport as a cheaper tyre that isn't the best in all categories, but performs well enough to earn its Sport name. I do both longer drives and quick blasts too, and after almost 2000 miles I feel they are a good tyre for both... if you can put up with the less supple nature of them. They aren't comfort tyres and that's why I marked them lower in that category. Any tyre that is better feedback will sacrifice comfort. Road noise however is excellent for the money, I'd say they are quieter than the Proxes T1s I had previously. Grip is fine in dry and wet, with its wet performance an improvement on the old Proxes.

I'd definitely buy them again assuming there weren't any better options out there for the money. 7.5/10.
Helpful 89 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2018
Given 100% while driving a Audi S8 (275/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 1,200 spirited miles
Amazing tyres ... I have tried numerous other tyre brands ... this is as close as it gets to Michelin Sport 4S at a fraction of the price.

Wet grip is as good as Michelin Sport 4S ... Road feedback is negligibly less however the comfort is significantly better. Can't tell how the wear will go as I am currently at 1200 miles, judging by now, they can easily go for over 10 000 miles.
Helpful 94 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2018
Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Proxes Sport >

Latest Toyo Proxes Sport Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Ford G6ETurbo 50th Anniversary (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Put these on to replace the toyo r888rs I had on, with 440bhp and limited spirited driving, they lasted 6000kms. Have travelled 5000kms on these and wow, out perform the r888rs by a country mile and with a ton of tread left. Treadwear is actually very surprising to say the least. Definitely a quality budget performance tyre option.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2024
Given 60% while driving a Honda Fit (Jazz) (185/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 300 average miles
First off, ignore the optimistic reviews on here. They are obvious and sound like Yanks on crack with their excess positivity. Proxes are fine for the money, but pretty hopeless in some situations such as the wet, or over a cattle grid. Nearly lost control on hitting a cattle grid recently at relatively slow speed. I've had Proxes twice and wasn't all that impressed on either occasion in the wet.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 64% while driving a Hyundai i20N (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,200 spirited miles
A very good value tyre with fairly decent grip in the dry, and good wear after 3000+ miles. I generally drive near the limit of these tyres when possible but they feel best suited to cruising with the occasional spirited blast on a b-road. Wet performance is not as good as anticipated, it’s acceptable but braking distance is around the same as the Pirelli P-Zero PZ4 HN tyres factory fitted to my car, a softer compound with more dry grip than the Toyo’s but very high wear when used in less than ideal temperatures. If I was on a budget I’d consider these tyres again but I will likely get Continental/Goodyear tyres next time, or Michelin PS5’s if a deal is available.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Mitsubishi Outlander (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
25000miles on Mitsubishi Outlander, still some tread left when it went back to the lease company, grip was amazing especially when coupled with the 4wd, really well suited to this car for road use but not so good on grass or snow and really the car would have benefitted from all season mud an snow tyres to exploit the 4wd, but for dry or wet tarmac you won't get better for the money (these were fitted as standard)
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2023
Given 73% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
due to budget, replace this with the worn PS4S. PS4S still the better than this in overall, but with the price point of this Proxes Sport, i am happy with it. dry grip can handle the mild driving at the wavy road. while wet grip is good enough for slightly beyond speed limit on motorway. the Proxes Sport is soft, and even handling part also as soft as you can't really feel any thing. so far approx 5000 miles (8000km), the wear looking good, still have plenty of tread there. overall comfort, i am satisfied with the performance considered the price point.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2023
Given 43% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa D (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
I've had set of these tyres fitted a my MOT a week ago and so far this is my worst experience with tyres. I've had TR1 in my previous car and there was a problem with wet grip but it was manageable. These unfortunately are so bad on wet road that I have decided to take them off after only around 100 miles. I terribly regret my decision to buy these. I feel like I thrown my money in the mud.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 7, 2022
Given 63% while driving a BMW 325 (225/45 R17) on track for 0 spirited miles
I have an E36 I drove on the front tires, there is no doubt that the tire is good in the summer when outside is over 25 degrees and dry to drift but when the road is wet do not recommend
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2022
Given 54% while driving a BMW M235i (255/30 R19) on mostly country roads for 7,000 average miles
These tyres were fantastic for the first 3000-4000 miles, however they very quickly started to deteriorate. The performance started to lack after the initial 3000-4000 and I've recently checked the wear at 7000 miles and they are pretty much done, there is less than 3mm left on the tyre which I was shocked at. Definitely will not be buying these again due to the awful wear for the price of the tyre.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2021
Given 84% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
These tyres are very different from anything I’ve had put on before... The dry grip is good but not amazing and is VERY predictable, no sudden losses of traction, it’s very progressive. Handling is good but because of the slightly thinner side wall, you can feel the car moving on the tyres slightly, it doesn’t change how well it sticks to the road though! Wet grip is absolutely astounding and that’s why I bought these. Round corners, there’s nearly as much grip in the wet as there is in the dry!! Straight line grip isn’t a strong point with these tyres in general, but even in the wet its nearly as good as the dry grip! In wet weather I haven’t found a grippier tyre, I am yet to find a tyre I can go round hairpin turns at 40+ mph with terential rain, haha! Despite the positives of these tyres, they wear out quickly, the rubber is very soft and I would probably say that’s why they are so good, but my set lasted me 8000 miles on the front of my R56 Mini Cooper S. I did loads of burnouts and I hooned it about on a daily basis so I’m not the best example of realistic wear on these tyres, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see them last 20’000+ miles if used properly
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2021
Given 16% while driving a Vauxhall Astra GTC (235/50 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
All I have to say is do not buy these tyres. They lasted 3 months. 3 MONTHS! 8000 miles ! Mostly on motorways. It’s absolutely shocking how tyres likes these are even allowed to be sold as its not safe at all. They were okay for the first month and a half, grip was good enough, then started slipping in the wet, then in the dry even. 3 months and there is literally no thread left.
Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2020
Given 94% while driving a Peugeot RCZ 2.0 HDi GT (235/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I fitted a pair to the front of my Peugeot ZCZ HDi at the end of February just before my MOT was due. The improvement over the Avon’s that were on there was amazing. The biggest improvement though was to the ride quality. It no longer crashed over small potholes & ridges in the road. Well not at the front anyway. Because of lockdown, I didn’t rush to change the worn rears, as per MOT advisory. However, yesterday morning I had a new pair fitted to the rear. Total transformation to the ride quality, yet it still maintained its grip. Even brand new on damp roads. It can only get better. Highly recommended tyre!
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2020
Given 71% while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I have drove a lot last year and in many different conditions with these tyres. On daily commutes, on the motorway, on the track, in drag racing events and of course quite a bit of spirited driving.
Initially I liked my set of Proxes Sport as they were very affordable. The amount of grip was very acceptable, although the tyres felt quite soft at longer turns and the steering was not as precise as I wanted it to be.
In the wet I had no issues with their performance whatsoever (although I never tracked them in the wet).
Regarding wear. I expected to get a bit more out of them, but after more than 20k mi in just 1 summer season, the rears are totally destroyed and need replacing, while the fronts are at about 50%.
Overall, I think it is a good tyre for a lower budget.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2020