Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 85%
Wear 76%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 82%

Tyre review data from 30 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 314,354 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Directional 5 is ranked 29th of 129 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Hyundai Avante (205/45 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Coming from Pilot Sport 3 this tyre did not perform at all. Dry grip is almost as good, but when rain comes the Pilot Sport 3 puts Directional 5 to shame in the wet grip category. Noise levels were quite similar to PS3 but PS3 still wins. That being said the Directional 5s were 30% cheaper than the Pilot Sport 3s would it be worth the cost savings for Directional 5s? Yes and No. Yes if you were coming from crappy tyres previously and upgraded to the directional 5s. No if you were using pilot sport 3 or even the Asymmetric 2. There are some things that money just cannot buy and safety is one of them. I feel absolutely safe when I go at 130km/hr on raining days but not with the Directional 5.
83 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2014   
Given 91% while driving a Honda City (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Using honda city 2014..this tyre very superb grip in wet and dry condition..
9 - tyre reviewed on July 21, 2016   
Given 87% while driving a (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
SuperB tyre
7 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2017   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 Reviews

Given 79% while driving a (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres on my honda integra type s can take 75kph corners at 130 ish very good for non 4wd car
0 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
These eagle f1 tyres have been on .my honda integra dc5 for 4 years they handle really well on this car 75kph corners in the dry at 120 130 very happy I understand driver skill comes in aswell but well worth the $$$
0 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2021   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 77% while driving a Mazda MX5 (215/45 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I drive my NB Mx5 pretty hard - it’s just a weekend thrasher not a commuter and the roads I search out are twisty and hilly. Front axle are due replacement and rear axle are 25% worn, having replaced a pair of the same. The tyres are pretty quiet on the highway. Dry grip and handling is very good - I really like the way they perform in the twisty stuff. A really progressive break away and high grip. In the wet they brake well in a straight line but the rears light up easily under power From a standing start. I don’t push them in the wet. I rarely drive it in the wet. It’s dry handling that I’m mostly concerned with since that’s what these cars are for! Top down sunny weather thrashing! They have worn pretty fast I must say but then wear is a function of grip and I wonder if it’s old tech or do some newer tyres really have so much grip with less wear with their ‘green’ compounds?
0 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 350 (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 700 easy going miles
I purchased these to replace 4 budgets (with plenty of tread) that came with the car when I purchased it. These new tires have certainly transformed the car, but not necessarily in a positive way. The ride is now very harsh and the vehicle feels like its jumping all over the place. It tramlines; and bumps, pot holes and manhole covers are bone jarring - neither of which I never experienced previously. I dropped the PSI down some which has helped slighly.

Road noise has also increased, especially noticable at the front when cornering at town speeds.
Wet grip is good and does provide plenty of confidence coming out of corners. However, I've had the traction contol kick in several times pulling out of junctions on dry roads - again something I'd never experienced before.

I never thought I'd ever say this, but I actually prefer the budgets over these Goodyear's! Im annoyed at myself for buying these tyres now because I cant justify spending another £500 to replace 2 week old tyres.
I put Goodyear's on my previous car (Volvo T5) for 7 years and they were suberb but unfortunately they dont suit the Merc at all....
3 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2019   
Given 72% while driving a Volvo 2.0 T5 Saloon (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 31,000 average miles
I bought 4 of these tyres to replace my Bridgestone Potenza RE003 and I instantly felt my ride transformed to a more comfortable ride. It does so but soaking all the bumps. It performed very well in the dry and relatively well in the wet when new. The tread patterns looks aggressive and makes me admire the pattern every time I come out of my car. The best part about buying this tyre was the cost, it was the cheapest premium tyre I could find and lasted me nearly 50,000KM. I expected to get 40,000KM out of them but was impressed that I got more. Considering I drive a heavy car like Volvo, this is remarkable!

Now comes the downsides of this tyre. Firstly, this is a directional tyre and you could only rotate it front to back and vice versa. The tyres did not wear out evenly even after rotating and balancing every 10,000KM. Secondly, as the tyre wear, these tyres emit more noise than usual and more prone to slipping in the wet. Overall, I would recommend this tyre as a mid-range option but if you can afford higher end options, go for it. I opted not to buy again because I wanted to try something else and have moved on to Michelin Pilot Sport 4. Those tyres are entirely a different breed!
6 - tyre reviewed on October 23, 2018   
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 6R GTI 1.4TSI (180HP) (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 31 spirited miles
I had gone through a set of Directional 5’s in 50,000KM and it served me well. It was my first set of Ultra High Performance tyres so I could not make acceptable comparisons due to my lack of experience.

However, now having gone through Dunlop’s Direzza DZ102 and Yokohama’s Advan V701, I can confidently say that the Directional 5’s was a lot more confidence inspiring and longer lasting than any of the others aforementioned.

Dry grip is good but it really excels in the wet. These tyres had never made me felt a lack of confidence in all my time with it - so much so that even with ~30% of thread left, I was still tackling corners at way above legal speed limits. I knew the tyres were done for when I oversteered during a rainy day on a high speed corner.

Every other tyre I’ve used after this has failed to give me the confidence this tyre has. I am going back to this tyres after my Advan V701s are done with - which is soon after 40,000 KMS.

Definitely recommended for cars up to 200whp.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2018   
Given 76% while driving a Toyota Mark X (245/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 34,000 spirited miles
I previously used this F1D5 for over 50k km (>34k miles), on staggered sizes 215/50/17 & 245/45/17. Occasionally I drive spiritedly, pushing the tires a bit during cornering. Based on my experience, this was a pretty good well rounder UHP, performing quite balanced between dry & wet. Compared to the CSC5, CSC3, & F1A2 that I have used/am using now, this F1D5 is surely below CSC5 & F1A2 but I feel it's better performance and more predictable/controllable over the limit than CSC3. The tire also lasts quite long (over 50k km with my driving), but the rubber was chipping quite a lot even though it's not much of an issue. Comfort wise, the ride is pretty comfortable, just that a bit more noisy especially when the tire is reaching 60% life or less.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Daihatsu (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
I used small mpv, perodua Alza. After almost 90k km in stock silverstone tire, i change to dunlop d01 which initially is ok. But when it approach 50% thread, there is very less grip in the wet. Oversteer once but manage to countersteer. Then decide to change to goodyear assurance triplemax.. It provide good grip in wet road and I was happy. After that changing to this tire. My expectation is better dry grip with slightly less or at least at par with triplemax but I'm totally wrong. It can be the best tire which offer good grip in both dry and wet. Never lost the grip even once.. I had done hard braking + cornering which activated abs (this car does not have vsc), still manage to steer the car without any failure. If I'm on stock tire, for sure I'll hit the sidewall.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2017   
Volkswagen (235/45 R17) on mostly town for 200 spirited miles
too early to tell on some points, but I got these as I bought a Passat 3.2 4Motion that came with budget tyres. I replaced the fronts first with Michelin PS4, don't like them, no feel and no confidence. So when I came to replace the backs, I got the Eagles and had the Michelins put on the back, and the Eagles on the front, and immediately I have more feel in the front. Can't tell the longevity as its only been 200kms, but so far, they are impressing me more than the PS4.
6 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,200 spirited miles
I've use PS3 in the past, but this tyre put it to shame in terms of wet grip and wear. And it also cheaper to my surprise. I've done 180km/h on a stormy day. And it did not slip.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 306 GTI6 (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Really nice mid-range performance tyre. Got rid of the Toyo Teo Pluses the previous owner had fitted as they just scrubbed and scrubbed with an even remotely spirited drive, the difference was night and day. Road noise is perfectly acceptable. Great road feel. They've done 26,000~km so far, and with how light my car is on the rears and timely rotations they'll probably just about do that again. Wouldn't hesitate to pick them up again when the time comes.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 20, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Mitsubishi Proton Perdana Turbo (4G63T) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,500 spirited miles
GYF1D5 is one of the best tyres i have ever fitted to my car. based on my "feel", in my opinion its on par or better with previous model top tyres such as PS2, F1A, F1GSD3, CSC3, N8000 (which i have fitted to my car before). dry grip and braking is excellent, wet grip and braking is excellent and the wear rate is superb. i feel confident speeding on hiway during rain.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2015