Sumitomo BC100

The Sumitomo BC100 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 103,600 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 22nd.

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 66%
Wear 72%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 61%

First On MarketOctober 2016
Wheel Size13 - 20"
Width145 - 255mm
Profile35 - 80
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)68 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The BC100 is ranked 89th of 232 Summer Touring tyres.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

7th

Worst Result

37th

Average Result

22nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 Mid Range Tyre Test
7th of 8 tyres
  • None mentioned.
  • Long braking in the dry and wet, low wet grip and oversteer balance.
View Full Test >>

2024 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
155/80R13 79 TDB69
14 inch
165/70R14 81 TDB69
175/65R14 82 HDB69
185/70R14 88 HDB69
175/65R14 82 TDB69
185/60R14 82 HDB69
15 inch
185/65R15 88 TDB69
195/65R15 95 T XLCB70
195/65R15 91 VDB69
195/65R15 91 VDB69
195/65R15 91 HDB69
195/65R15 91 HDB69
195/55R15 85 HDB69
195/55R15 85 VDB69
185/65R15 92 T XLCB70
185/65R15 88 HDB69
195/55R15 85 VDB69
16 inch
205/60R16 92 HDB69
215/60R16 95 VCB70
205/55R16 91 HDB69
205/55R16 94 W XLCB70
205/55R16 94 W XLCB70
205/55R16 91 VDB69
205/55R16 91 VDB69
205/55R16 91 HDB69
205/60R16 96 V XLCB70
17 inch
225/60R17 99 HDB69
205/50R17 93 W XLCB70
215/55R17 94 WDB69
215/45R17 91 W XLDB70
225/45R17 94 W XLDB70
225/45R17 94 W XLDB70
235/65R17 108 V XLCB70
225/50R17 98 W XLCB70
225/50R17 98 W XLCB70
18 inch
235/60R18 103 VDB69
255/35R18 94 W XLDB70
245/45R18 100 W XLCB70
225/40R18 92 W XLDB70
225/40R18 92 W XLDB70
245/40R18 97 W XLCB70
19 inch
235/35R19 91 W XLDB70
20 inch
255/45R20 105 W XLCB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Sumitomo BC100 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Sumitomo BC100. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
175/65 R15 £70.40 - £73.21 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £70.60 - £76.32 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £90.46 - £92.45 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £86.05 - £92.34 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 81 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Sumitomo BC100 Reviews

Given 99% while driving a Ford Galaxy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have used many tyres and this one is surprisingly good in both wet and dry.
I have full confidence in this tyre and I'll be buying again.
Helpful 158 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019
Given 100% while driving a Fiat Panda (175/65 R15) on for 15,000 average miles
Perfect tires at a very good price.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI 160 (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,500 average miles
From the moment I put them on the car and drove in the wet and only 2 degrees outside they fill you with real confidence great rain dispersion pattern good road holding even on the twisty roads my driving is mostly family type a cross between motorway a roads ect the feel like a premium tyre but the secret is they actually are!!! there just kept in the background as most people looking for the name not the performance trust me if considering a new brand give these a try I took 4 hours going through reviews and finally took the plunge... Glad I did.
Helpful 83 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2019
Have you driven on the Sumitomo BC100 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Sumitomo BC100? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Sumitomo BC100 >

Latest Sumitomo BC100 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 13,000 easy going miles
When I purchased this brand of tyre I thought it was mid range which was a step up from a budget tyre. However, the tyres have only lasted just over 12 months (14 months). I'm thinking they should have lasted a bit longer. I could therefore purchase a budget tyre at less cost because that would last 12 months before changing.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2024
Given 100% while driving a Ford Ecosport (205/60 R16) on for 20,000 spirited miles
Perfect tires in dry and wet roads.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 40% while driving a BMW 318is (195/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
First of all I'd like to clarify that I bought the car in late february 2023 with these tyres (DOT 0119) fitted on by the previous owner sometime during 2019. Between the tyres being fitted and me buying the car, it was not used very much. In fact it was sitting for most of that time with occasional use to keep the battery "healthy". I've driven about 4000km on them and I think it's fair to say I am not very impressed.

The first problem I encountered was the fact that while they aren't dry rotted, microcracks have started forming inside the grooves in the tread and on the sidewall to a lesser extent, but since they had still plenty of tread left I thought to give them a go for a while before changing.

On average-high quality dry pavement the grip is not phenomenal but I wouldn't consider them dangerous to drive on. They can spin for a few meters when launching in first gear and momentarily when changing to second quickly near the redline. Totally expected for an old rwd car with about 140 horsepower more or less. When starting uphill on poorer quality pavement the wheelspin is unavoidable no matter how smoothly I try to take off. In the wet on the other hand it takes almost zero effort to spin at low speeds and it's not hard at all to induce oversteer when cornering at a slow pace.

I haven't found the limit of grip to be progressive, as when inducing oversteer on purpose and the "drifting angle" becomes a bit higher there is a tendency to fishtail.

When driving on a twisty road, the front tyres are slow responding, meaning there's lag between turning the wheel and the car changing direction. I know the 65 series profile is big but I'm not too keen on that behaviour.

The worst part is braking, as I've had to "panic" brake on two seperate occasions (average pavement, dry weather, tyres were not cold) from moderate speed in order to avoid obstacles and the tyres didn't brake efficiently enough. The front wheels locked up much more quickly than anticipated (car has no ABS), meaning the brakes outpowered the tyres by a lot. I'd expect better performance and having to pump the brake pedal less to keep control of the situation. Thankfully none of the afformentioned situations resulted in an accident.

To summarize I wouln't buy these tyres again and I wouldn't reccomend buying them to anyone since they somewhat disappointed me. Sure, I didn't buy them new and they weren't stored in the best conditions when I got my car and started driving it but I surely expected better braking and handling to some extent.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2023
Given 63% while driving a Ford KA 1.3 (165/65 R13) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Good basic tyre, not exciting but a solid performer
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Alfa Romeo MiTo (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Not had these for long but so far they're great for budget priced tyres. Didn't want to spend a fortune as I'm replacing my alloys soon. For the mileage I do they do the job.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Volvo S60 D5 (185) (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
In normal driving these are fine, I have had to emergency brake 4 times for deer in the forest and every time they stopped very well and my car escaped unscathed. Wet performance isn't the best, but not what I would consider unsafe or below par. Aggressive driving and going round roundabouts quickly is a little bit worrying, admittedly only twice I've had it understeer and tramline, but it was still a little surprising still. Very, very rarely I've momentarily had wheel skids when planting my right foot, but I would expect that with diesel torque. On the rear these tyres were fine though.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Audi 100 2.5. tdi avant (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Best tyre ever
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2020
Given 50% while driving a Volvo V90 D4 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
225/55/R17 tyres fitted by the dealer when I bought my 2017 Volvo V90 D4 Momentum. Car weights nearly 1.85 ton and got 190PS diesel engine, front wheel drive. These tyres often lose grip when I accelerate quickly even on dry road with the slightest imperfect surfaces. On wet road these do not give me confidence at all. Tyre noise is acceptable when they are new, no idea how it performs when wear down. I can't comment on the wear rate just yet but seems to lasts. They are soft tyres so the ride is comfortable I give you that. Other than this, there is not a single thing that I would recommand. I can't wait for these tyres to wear down so I can buy something else.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2020
Given 29% while driving a Vauxhall combo van C 1700 1.3cdti (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Fitted to my works van. The tyre noise is significantly more, the grip in the wet and dry is poor, the van understeers horribly now. So glad my company paid to have these fitted!
Helpful 66 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2020
Given 29% while driving a Vauxhall combo van C 1700 1.3cdti (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Fitted to my works van. The tyre noise is significantly more, the grip in the wet and dry is poor, the van understeers horribly now. So glad my company paid to have these fitted!
Helpful 54 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2020