Goodyear Vector 4Seasons Gen 3 Reviews - Page 2

Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,750 spirited miles
Almost time to switch back to my summer tyres. So, here’s my impression of my “mild climate winter” tyres. I used to drive on Continental WinterContact TS860 winter tyres, but last winters, I noticed that I almost never drive on snow. And in spring and fall, when temperatures jump up and down, I was sometimes driving on my winter tyres at temperatures around 20°C. So now, I followed your advice and chose All Season tyres for the winter season. I drove them for about 6.000 km now in temperatures between -2 and +16 °C, in the dry and in lots of rain.
Just after switching to the Vector 4S, I had the same feeling as when I changed to winter tyres: I felt a bit unsecure while driving: compared to my summer tyres (Continental PremiumContact 6) the road contact of the V4S is noticeably less direct. Better than a winter tyre, but worse than a summer tyre. Once you realise the grip is actually present, the confidence comes back quickly. In fact, in terms of safety, I see it as a good thing: because it is so much fun to go quickly with the PC6, I sometimes feel tempted to go just that bit faster. The V4S isn’t that inviting, so I drive slower. Safe in winter, fun in summer, I can live with that.
And in terms of grip, the V4S does an excellent job: In the dry, it is more than sufficient. The steering feedback is obviously less than with the PC6, but still more than enough to know what’s going on. In the wet, I was impressed by the grip on near freezing wet surfaces and by the aquaplaning resistance. And when the tyres start sliding, it all goes very gradually and controllable. Such a safe and stable tyre! In all aspects better and more pleasant than the TS860, which to be honest didn’t do bad at all for a winter tyre in the dry and in the wet.
Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to test the tyres on real snow. On muddy roads, light snow, frost and in salted snow/ice slush however, the V4S provides sufficient grip to steer, accelerate and brake without problems. In such conditions, other cars on summer tyres are the biggest risks one can encouter anyway, so I drive extra carefully then.
Comfort (noise and suspension) is just fine. Slightly better than the TS860 and way better than the PC6.
I noticed an increase in fuel consumption of about 0,2 l/100 km when driving in similar conditions as with the summer tyres.
In terms of wear, the tyres lost about 0.4 mm. tread depth (almost no difference between front and rear), which is in line with the AutoBild wear test (70.000 km). If I replace the tyres at the minimum winter tyre depth (4 mm.), I will be able to drive about 50.000 km on them. Very reasonable (My PC6 front tyres will last about 30.000 km).
In short: thank you Goodyear for getting me safely through the winter season. And now let’s get the Conti’s back on!
Helpful 712 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Audi A4 (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
My experience with Vector 4 season gen3 so far (approx. 10,000km of spirited driving, dimensions 225 50 17):
Bought a brand new Audi A4 35tfsi in November 2022, and immediately swapped summer Pirellis for these Goodyear. I am not a tyre testing expert, this is only my subjective take on the experience with these tyres. I live in Montenegro, and weather is pretty mild, with rainy winters and hot summers. However, I do travel a lot within the region, and often it happens that my journey starts at +20c in coastal Montenegro, and ends in temperatures below zero in Croatian mountains, or in Serbia. This happens quite often, during autumn or even spring. That being said, winter tyres are big compromise, as they are not utilized properly; all-season tyres make much more sense, both in option when they are used as winter tyre (in combination with the set of summer tyres), or throughout the entire season (as a single set).
Back to Goodyear review: winter was exceptionally rainy this year, so I have been driving mostly on wet and muddy roads. These tyres are superb for wet conditions. Aquaplaning and grip levels are very good, feels very safe and planted. I also did couple of trips north, so I encountered snow and ice cold tarmac - I think the tyre performs decent in these conditions, with acceptable traction and levels of grip. It gets the job done, and I don't have to think about the weather, whenever I travel.
The performance in dry weather is very good, road handling, grip levels and comfort are all great. I didn’t understand why all reputable tyre tests mention longer braking distances in dry weather, my subjective feeling is that stopping power is quite good, with lots of feel and confidence. I still didn’t get a chance to use them in blistering heat, so I will try to update my review in July or August.
No comments on tyre wear so far, as I have only done 10k.
Overall, I really like these tyres, and they behave very similar to Continental All Season Contact, that I used as winter tyres on my previous car.
Helpful 66 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2023
Given 91% while driving a Peugeot 308 GT 180 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
1st time I have gone for all season tyres, having previously used Michelin PS4 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 5 and 3. Comfort is excellent, you can feel it instantaneously and it makes for a very enjoyable drive. I've read many reviews and watched lots of reviews too, before finally deciding against Michelin PS5 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 6 and giving all season tyres a try. I have to say so far so good, and yes dry grip when pushing the car is better with summer tyres, but having said that with normal driving and even with occasional "foot down" around the corner Vector 4Seaons G3 are surprisingly good and more than enough for me! Looking forward to cold temperatures, when I will be able to feel the massive difference! As I said so far so good! Good job Goodyear!
Helpful 69 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 82% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Very two faced tyres. They have really good lateral grip and amazing feel both wet and dry, but the longitudinal grip is not very good, especially braking. When the tyres were new I honestly believed that my car had some abs problem, because it engaged so early. It was literally much worse than the Radar Dimax tyres it replaced. The car felt loose and uncertain. This was probably due to having the wrong size rims for the tyres 6,5 inch wide. So I have refitted to a 7,5 inch wide rims which solved the loose feeling but the longitudinal grip is still not as good as I expected. On dry roads my 2.0 liter Mazda can spin a tyre in 1st gear even from a rolling start. Interestingly the wet grip is almost the same as the dry. Also fuel consumption is not the best. In snow it is OK, but it really struggles with slush and has almost no longitudinal traction on wet ice, which is strange as lateral grip is miles better. I have been using it for 15 000 km and it has very good tread depth. If it goes like this it will past 60 000 km before it wears down, although I ude it mostly on country roads and highways.
Helpful 60 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2022
Given 87% while driving a BMW 540I (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
I've just had these recently fitted to my 17" alloys on my Japanese import BMW E39 540i Sport as I always have a set of alloys with tyres for summer; and a separate set for over winter etc. However, this time I decided not to go for dedicated winters, but rather all-seasons and bought these on the strength of Jons reviews on Youtube etc.
Have done around 400 miles on them so far on a road trip around Anglesey & North Wales and then literally the last few days doing chores from home, in the wet.
So they've had a good dry run and now some good wet runs They're superb! Very planted / grippy in the wet; and very grippy in the dry. Albeit temps haven't been below c12ºC recently; I'd say they'll fair even better when it gets colder! Quiet, smooth and comfortable as well; which is exactly what I want from my tyres anyway and why I sold the 18" alloys and moved back to 17s for that added comfort/extra sidewall etc Looking forward to seeing how these do in the colder temps but also when we travel up to the Highlands in Dec & Feb
Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2022
Given 93% while driving a SEAT Ibiza TSi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Bought my seat ibiza 2019 1.5 TSI FR with 38200km, i changed the tyres at about 38500, the car has now 48000 so about 10000Km made with these new tyres. My car was previously fitted with Nexen Summer tyre which were noisy and not confortable but had almost 40K KM so pretty used. When i got the new Vector, the Confort and noise changed dramatically, no more tyre noise and much better confort (absorption of bumps in the road) The Ibiza FR has pretty firm suspension and 17" wheels so it's kinda hard but those GoodYear tyres help mitigate this issue. I live in Auvergne in France, so it's mostly Mountain/Country Roads and Highway. On the dry on country roads at high speeds :p, the tyres are glued to the road and it feels super safe. On the Wet it's hard to make these loose grip, it really holds well. Did not tried snow yet. As for the wear, the tyres looks almost new at 10k KM. Bought these on suggestion of your Youtube Videos 1 year ago, and i'm really pleased with these Goodyear's
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2022
Given 88% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,500 average miles
Superb tires! Specially for the price I paid in the summer of 2021. (71£ each) They exceed my old Nokian Weatherproof's by miles in every category. The V4S Gen3's really matches up with the weather in Denmark! Affraid of aquaplaning? I drove under a bridge on the motorway w/ 90 km/h into a 10cm deep puddle and felt no slip. Absolutely impressed by that, compared to previous cars and tire combos, summer/winter/all-season.
Helpful 65 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Nissan Primera (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,500 easy going miles
this tyres loves the cold weather. its perfect on snow and sure provide confidence. its very good in rain conditions and ok to dry weather never feel any unstubillity in logical frame. Also is very queit. I live in greece and i warried about wear in summer month but high summer temperatures do not affect their wear. on negatives now is how the tyre has a very bad feedback, its filtering the most and the feel is like no have idea where is the wheel. But the biggest disadvantage is the brake on warm weather, as feel and perfomance, every time feel how needed little more space to stop from what you think. its no traggik but sure worst from summer tyres. my previeus toyo proxes cf2 is much better from that in any summer sittuation. but because i feel unsecure in winter change to all season. generly from my expirience, below 10 celcius its the ultimate tyres who i have tries, grip snow&dry&wet, brake snow&dry&wet, feeling. over 10 celcius start compromises. that is the point who a summer tyres is better. finaly this tyres is perfect for people like me who driving style is calm-economy, wants all season tyres who preefer some little comromise from change to summer.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen b5 1.8t (/65 R15) on for 15,000 miles
I have fot it on an old VW Passat. In Winter it behave like an Winter Tire. The only slightly disadvantage in Winter is during fast cornering. Than it start to loose grip but in what a predictibly way - I am SO impressed. Predictibility is the key Word for Winter. In summer it behaves like a normal tire. The Best abilities are when temperature is near 0 Celsius, wonderfull and well holding corners tire then. Talking about milage, after whole one year of use in Middle-East Europe front tires tread looks like it was hard biten, (25k km) but it still holds the grip. I will rotate front to rear. I think that my set will hold 3 years, maybe 2 and a half. For me it is fine. I think that I may buy and swap tires for summer month and put back Goodyear gen. 3 for spring, autumn and winter. Great tire for 3seasons. I think summer overhits and fastens the wear.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 95% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Switched to Gen 3 from CC+ and already loving it. The A fuel rating and B wet performance is simply amazing. Besides, they are definitely more quiet than the CC+ even though the label states 72db. The response from the steering is second to none. Tried them in the dry and wet, and never had a spin, can't say that about CC+, though a big fan of those before. Ready to test them in winter, can't wait, to be honest. So far I am totally impressed. Well done, Goodyear.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2021
Given 88% while driving a Renault Zoe (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Incredible rounded tyre with low rolling resistance. I can recommend this tyre especially for EV drivers.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2021
Given 48% while driving a Jaguar XF Sportbrake 2.2 (200) (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
Initially I got massive feedback and vibrations through the steering wheel. This got better after 500 miles or so but still some vibrations remained at highway speeds. Never had that issue before with my previous Vredestein Quatrac pro's..... The tires seems to struggle with the weight of the car. Increased the tire pressures to max. as indicated in car's manual. (High speed, full load setting instead of the comfort pressures I normally run) Now they seem fine. Compared to the Vredesteins they are a bit quieter at highway speeds. (But that might be because they are new...) No experience in snow yet, tires seem to do well in dry and wet conditions. require a bit less steering input than previous tyres.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2021