Dunlop Econodrive

The Dunlop Econodrive is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Vans.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 60%
Handling 60%
Wear 71%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 55%

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 63% over 196,000 miles driven.

The Econodrive is ranked 3rd of 5 Summer Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop Econodrive
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/0 R14 102R   E E 69 11.81kgs
195/0 R14 106S   E E 69 13.54kgs
175/65 R14 90T   F C 70 9.48kgs
165/70 R14 89R   F E 72 9.10kgs
175/70 R14 95T   E C 70 9.99kgs
185/75 R14 102R   E C 70 12.00kgs
205/65 R15 102T   E C 72 13.14kgs
195/70 R15 104R   E E 72 12.00kgs
195/70 R15 104S   E E 72 11.00kgs
205/70 R15 106R   E E 70 13.90kgs
215/70 R15 109S   C C 70 13.87kgs
225/70 R15 112S   C E 70 15.00kgs
225/70 R15 112R   C E 70 15.00kgs
195/60 R16 99H   E C 70 12.20kgs
215/60 R16 103T   E B 70 12.95kgs
195/65 R16 100T   E C 72 12.77kgs
195/65 R16 104T   E C 72 12.77kgs
195/65 R16 104R   E C 72 12.77kgs
205/65 R16 103T   E C 70 13.37kgs
205/65 R16 107T   E C 72 13.37kgs
215/65 R16 109T   C C 70 15.00kgs
215/65 R16 106T   E C 70 15.00kgs
225/65 R16 112R   C C 70 15.50kgs
235/65 R16 115R   C C 70 16.40kgs
185/75 R16 104R   E E 72 13.10kgs
195/75 R16 107R   E C 70 13.64kgs
205/75 R16 113R   C C 70 17.40kgs
205/75 R16 110R   C C 70 14.32kgs
215/75 R16 116R   C C 70 17.70kgs
215/75 R16 113R   C C 70 15.70kgs
215/60 R17 109T   C B 70 12.74kgs

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop Econodrive

2020-12-31 - We have just purchased a Renault Trafic SWB van fitted with Dunlop Econodrive 215/60R17C tyres - could you please advise on the optimal inflation pressures for these tyres (cold/hot) in kPa/psi... thanks

The tyre pressure for the Dunlop Econodrive is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Econodrive Prices

Size Price Range  
215/60 R17 £122.73 - £135.94 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £108.22 - £234.40 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 21 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop Econodrive Reviews

Given 30% while driving a Mercedes Benz Vito (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Very poor. I used it on my Mercedes-Benz Vito 2017 with 225/55r17. It uncomfortable and no grip at all when wet, It made a very loud squeeze sound in every tight turn and every time when heavy brake. I used it until 20,000 Miles and I found cracks for all, It very dangerous and I never buy It again.
12 - tyre reviewed on June 16, 2018   
Renault (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 17,000 easy going miles
These were fitted as OE on my new 2017 Trafic LWB crewvan sport. Fronts after 16k miles are tearing, blocks of tread have split.Poor quality tyre.
5 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2018   
Given 56% while driving a Vauxhall 1.6 16v CD (225/45 R17) on for 20,000 easy going miles
Tyre grip is fine, feedback is good, noise level, acceptable. What isn't acceptable is longevity. stones/imperfections in the the road surface leave small tears in the tyres. at 6mm, these tears become quite a tear. Enough to cause a puncture or to see the steel of the tyre.
Overall, a poor quality, expensive choice of tyre. There are better tyres out there. I would consider a budget tyre before purchasing another Dunlop and that's not a choice I usually make!

3 tyres replaced two pre 10k punctured, one at 19k holed to steel.

One now being replaced at 30k (1.7mm tread left) thankfully, as it has so many little tears in it.
Vauxhall Vivaro 2014 1.6 bi-turbo
Not a heavy footed driver at all. trying to get 48mpg from it (42mpg avg at present)
1 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2019   
Have you driven on the Dunlop Econodrive tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Econodrive? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop Econodrive >

Latest Dunlop Econodrive Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Renault Trafic (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 47,000 average miles
OE tyres on 145 Hp Renault Trafic 2016. Good life from these tyres from new, at 35k swopped rears to front and vice versa. Down to under 3mm all round now and at 47k. Very pleased. My own van, lightly loaded 99% of the time which obviously helps a lot. Susceptible to punctures now so will be looking at replacing all four. Recommend
0 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2021   
Given 34% while driving a Mercedes Benz Vito (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
Absolutely awful tyre in wet as are all Dunlop’s I’ve had. Dangerous in wet to the point should never be road legal without a warning
0 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 76% while driving a Renault Trafic (205/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 33,000 average miles
After 33k miles chaneged the fronts about 3 mm left, on a trafic lwb 125bhp.
Excellent wear, they do tear a bit around the edges. Replaced with the same as they last sooo long, got a deal £210 a pair fitted. rears will be up for about 45k easily.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Renault Trafic (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 36,000 average miles
Fitted from new on Renault traffic.. lasted 36,000 miles on the front.. backs still on 4mm.. fabulous wear on a work vehicle.. handle well and good in the wet.. bit expensive but can’t complain with 36k over 2 years.. just replaced the front with the same..
0 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2019   
Given 67% while driving a Nissan LEAF Tekna (215/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Review for Dunlop Enasave as fitted from factory to Nissan Leaf Tekna model.

Good comfort and low noise levels (vital for EVs with no engine noise !). Dry grip fine, wet grip average. Should be good for energy efficiency, but a pretty average tyre overall, with an inflated price over other more mainstream premium brand tyes. Will probably replace with Dunlop BlueResponse when the time comes, or perhaps Michelin CrossClimate if i donl;t buy a second set of wheels and tyres for specific winter use.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2017