Audi S6 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi S6.

Do you Drive a Audi S6? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a S6 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Pro (3) 93% 93% 80% 90% 90% 90%
Continental SportContact 7 (52) 97% 93% 91% 92% 71% 76%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Altenzo Sports Comforter (22) 89% 78% 76% 80% 84% 83%
Pirelli P Zero PZ4 (59) 89% 79% 85% 82% 62% 72%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
GT Radial Champiro HPY (24) 88% 80% 73% 74% 58% 76%
Falken FK452 (211) 82% 72% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Davanti DX640 (94) 79% 71% 75% 73% 65% 78%
Pirelli P Zero (159) 84% 68% 75% 72% 58% 64%
Apollo Alnac 4g (14) 71% 66% 67% 66% 63% 71%
Dunlop SP Sport 9000 (60) 75% 64% 64% 61% 65% 62%
Falken ZE512 (27) 67% 47% 52% 50% 45% 55%

Audi S6 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Pro given 97% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
I do a lot of research when I buy tires , I looked all around for a premium summer tire which would be suitable for my driving style, and for the condition of the roads in my country - Eastern Europe. I looked at the PilotSport 5, ContiSportContact 7 , Eagle F1 Assymetric - all of which have a very high rating overrall, but I felt that they weren't suitable for the road conditions - lots of bumps ,cracks on the roads, patches and lets never forget about the potholes. They say the PS5 doesn't really absorb much of the bumps and has a low aquaplaning score, which doesn't do the job for me. I need to know that when im overtaking on country roads, or if I hit a pothole in the city im not going to bend my rims all the time. Same goes for the ContiSportContact 7 which this year is a banger and is the tire I would have chosen between the two, but with those large blocks on the tread + UUHP rating I also felt that it was too dedicated for good and even roads. I kept searching for a premuim tire more suitable for driving fast over these uneven roads. I had heard good things about Vredestein from people in my country which are competent about what they are talking about, so I looked at their current tires ,saw that they had a brand new model and decided to give them a try, they were also 20-30% cheaper than other premium tires. Upon arrival, touching the tires they feel that they are of an excellent rubber compound; they have a good , solid feel to them and overrall superb quality product. Made in The Netherlands! How's that for quality control! They also make them in Hungary however keep in mind.
The tires feel great, they do exactly what I wanted from them , even coming from winter tires - the ride quality and comfort improved, braking increased significantly and grip is through the roof .The ride itself is superb for summer tires, they feel soft and bouncy at low speed while at higher speeds they feel firm and planted to the ground, unlike my previous summer tires which felt as if I was going to bounce and fly off the road if I hit dent. These tires have MEAT they feel PREMIUM. Dry grip is superb and when pushed hard they almost don't squeal they just stick to the road, really no comments on dry grip. Wet grip feels super solid but I don't push my car in wet conditions. When pushed in the corners grip is more than enough to feel comfortable going fast around it, I dont feel any issues, and I drive hard.
I just have to emphasize the ride comfort and solid feel of these tires. Definitely going to look into getting a pair of winter tires from Vredestein.
tyre reviewed on 2024-06-17 12:54:30
Writing about the Altenzo Sports Comforter given 47% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Ok tyre in the dry but dangerous in the wet . Does not give you any confidence and let's loose very unexpectedly. Will definitely be steering clear of these in the future !!!!
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-04 13:41:36
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 90% (255-35-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 average miles
When I purchased this car it had brand Davanti tyres fitted to to the front with partially worn Pirelli tyres on the rear. As I'm not a fan of mismatched tyres I purchased a pair of Davanti for the rear. In the past I have used many brands of tyres and found the Davanti comparable with most of the in their handling, wet and dry grip. They are quiet on the motorway, the road feedback is excellent and they are cheaper than most. I have been thoroughly impressed with them.
That said, the fronts are now down to just over 4mm of tread with just over 6mm at the rear. The fronts no longer inspire confidence and the wet handling has deteriorated. The front tyres possible have a bit more life in them but I will be changing them in the next week. Liked these tyres but less impressive when they get down to 4mm or so but would certainly purchase again.
tyre reviewed on 2023-10-19 23:10:03
Writing about the GT Radial Champiro HPY given 76% (265-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1600 spirited miles
Got these free when i purchased an S6 5.2V10 2011 back in February 2023.

Since they were "A0/Audi Approved" thought I'd give them a go till replacing them with the usual Dunlop SP Sport Maxx.

After about 1,500km they've bedded in nicely, but seem to wear quicker than equivalent Dunlops, Michelin or Pirellis (same as when i tried them on my B8 Audi S4 Avant 3.0T; those needed changing after just 6,500 spirited km).

Wet handling is inferior to Pilot Sport or SportMaxx, and braking distances are longer (they rumble under breaking, too), but dry handling is exemplary though road noise, vibration is pronounced.

For a cheap tyre they're perfectly serviceable (or for a track day) but you get what you pay for.
tyre reviewed on 2023-07-29 07:14:29
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 given 61% (255-40-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
I recently replaced Dunlop RT2's on my Audi S6 C7.5 with Pirelli P Zero PZ4's. The RT2 was really good in the wet with good resistance to aquaplaning but they never gave much confidence in dry handling or feedback. I fitted the PZ4's following a top review in Evo magazine. They are a good more aggressive/sporty looking tyre (if that is of any importance) with good rim protection. Dry handling is good, they seem to have a more rigid sidewall than the RT2's and inspire more confidence, better grip and accuracy in dry cornering. They are a little noisier than the RT2 but not excessively so and the ride is a little harder - which in fact suits the car. What I was not expecting is the poor (I mean really poor) aquaplaning resistance. General wet handling is ok but driving at speed (60mph+) through standing water on the motorway scares the shit out of me - they are awful. The tyres at this point have only 1,000 miles on them so too early to comment on wear rate. The RT2's I used for 22k miles by which time they were down to 4mm, I replaced them after a succession of punctures - not sure I'd buy them again but they were at least sure footed in the wet. I won't be buying the PZ4 again solely because of their poor wet performance.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-28 16:33:06
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 66% (275-30-21-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I saw another review on these tyres by an Audi S6 owner and couldn't agree more. On a less powerful lighter car these tyres might be fine but they are useless on an S7. I also have changed to Michelin PS4 for a more conformable ride and better wear with far more stickability especially in the wet. These are expensive overpriced tyres. Note car ios S7 but the tick down box only offers S6 then S8.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-30 18:04:56
Writing about the Apollo Alnac 4g given 67% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
I bought a set of Alnac 4G for the Audi Quattro since i need the good budget tyres for my daily.on the Dry road,it's fairly good with this price range,No road noise @ 18,000kms at the moment.handling is good so far.On the wet road,Alnac 4G seems to be quite poor on the wet.Beware of Aquaplanning.it's easily slide out your car from the Lane.I would go for Aspire 4G next time.i'm good with increasing road noises as trade off for better road grip.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-04 10:07:30
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 60% (275-30-21-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Had these on my Audi S7. Very average tyres. No grip in the wet. Sideways slides in the dry through fast corners. The Audi is 4wd so this helps the tyres but not enough to overcome the weakness in these tyres. They may offer better grip in lighter less powerful cars but pretty useless in heavier high performance cars. Very poor wear. Have moved to Michelin PS4s. Hopefully these perform far better.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-04 01:53:35
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given NAN% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I don't really feel qualified to review the handling/grip etc but what I will say is that they lasted 15k on my 2-tonne S6 Avant and as they got to the end of their life, tramlining became an issue. I did one track day on them and understeer was a bit of an issue but then my car has a massive V10 hanging over the front axle. All in all, they felt generally safe and stable and lasted fairly well.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-11 09:30:05
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 87% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Fantastic tires, read a lot of reviews before buying them and I have to admit that I was a bit aprehensive, but in retrospective, it was a great decision, I dont know if they dont last long, had them for only a few weeks but they grip incredibly well on dry and wet tarmac and look really good. Noise is not an issue, no more than any other high performance 3x pricier tire I tried. They ride very comfy for an agressive tire design. Bought these to replace the OE Pirelli P Zero on my Audi C7 S6 and I can't believe how close they are in terms of handling and road feel. My brother followed my advise and installed them on his MB C63 AMG and he is very happy aswell.
Two thumbs up for Maxxis.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-09 19:10:58
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 70% (255-40-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 18000 spirited miles
These tyres are a mid range tyre . Using them on a car with 300bhp weighing nearly 2.25ton was a bit of a risk but i have had no problem. I have had them on my Audi S6 for over 2 years and never whinced . I am an older person but drive spiritually when possible but you must drive according to road conditions .No tyre is going to give you the same grip in the wet as it does in the dry . I rate these tyres and am about to buy a new set,the grip in snow is never very good for a summer tyre and even with 4wd i struggled . Drive sensibly and these tyres are GOOD
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-19 03:27:39
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 59% (225-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
These were alreday fitted to my car when I purchased it.
The dry grip is very good as would be expected but wet grip was poor and likely to aquaplane at relatively slow speeds.
Wear rate is bad,I suppose this is a trade off for dry grip.
Unfortunately i will not buy again
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-01 08:15:49
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre