GT Radial SportActive

The GT Radial SportActive is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 17 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 169,808 miles driven, and 3 tests with an average result of 28th.

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 61%
Road Feedback 62%
Handling 67%
Wear 78%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 53%

First On MarketNovember 2015
Wheel Size16 - 19"
Width195 - 265mm
Profile35 - 60
Rolling ResistanceB - C
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)71 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The SportActive is ranked 103rd of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the GT Radial Champiro HPY and this tyre has been replaced by the GT Radial SportActive 2.

Tests Included

3

Best Result

12th

Worst Result

47th

Average Result

28th

Latest Tyre Test Results

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
225/50R17 98 Y XLCB72
215/45R17 91 W XLCB72
225/50R17 98 W XLCB72
225/45R17 91 YCB71
225/45R17 94 W XLCB72
18 inch
245/45R18 100 Y XLCB72
235/60R18 107 V XLBB72
245/40R18 97 Y XLCB72
225/40R18 92 Y XLCB72
255/35R18 94 Y XLCB72
245/45R18 100 W XLBB72
19 inch
235/35R19 91 Y XLCB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the GT Radial SportActive >>

Questions and Answers for the GT Radial SportActive

2019-06-15 - Is the sport active SUV 235/55R19 suitable for my 2017 Ford Edge , the recommended pressure when towing is 45 psi but the writing on the tyre wall states not to inflate above 41psi with a maximum inflation pressure of 50psi cane you help .

Here's an answer from GT: Although I don’t have the tyre in front of me, I will assume the 41psi figure references bead seating, it will probably have more text before and after the figure that refers to this process. It does have a max inflation pressure of 50psi to carry 925kgs.


2019-10-20 - A couple of months ago I bought a BMW Z4 privately and it has Giti SportActive GT Radial tyres size 225/40 R18 92Y XL on the front. Having no spare wheel the car tyres should be run-flat. Are the fitted tyres run-flat?

If the SportActive fitted is a runflat version, it will have a marking on the side indicating it. It would usually say "runflat", ROF, RF, ZP or a similar marking.


2022-08-13 - Is sportactive suitable for tpms systems ?

Yes, TPMS sensors attach to the wheel not the tyre so they will be fine.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 GT Radial SportActive Reviews

Given 62% while driving a Ford ba falcon (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 easy going miles
Ford Falcon 2002 6 cylinder well looked after 300000 KMS. Three years old . ON REGO check cracked side walls on inside on all 4 never buy again
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on June 29, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 8,300 spirited miles
The tyre is excellent in dry conditions, sharp reactions, superb handling. It has an unbelievable mileage! I have now driven over 7.000 miles and has used LESS than 1MM !!! Expected life OVER 30.000 MILES!!!

On the wet, the tyre is not a s good as the premium brands, but still very effective. Handling is sharp again, and the tyre give a very good feeling to the steering.
Could be a bit more quiet at high speed , and it is very hard. This is excellent for the track, maybe a bit less for daily home to office journey.
Still, a very good tyre !! Good job!
Helpful 121 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2016
Given 83% while driving a Hyundai coupe 2.0 gls (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Put in the wrong tyre size in my recent (2nd) review....actual size is 215/45 R17 Hyundai Coupe 2.0 GLS
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2021
Have you driven on the GT Radial SportActive tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the GT Radial SportActive? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your GT Radial SportActive >

Latest GT Radial SportActive Reviews

Given 23% while driving a Ford Sierra Sapphire (215/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
I bought these tires from a so called reputable tire dealer, ( Tiger Wheel and Tire) I originally bought Wanley tires from them and were very disappointed so I immediately returned them and was offered the 215/40/17 GT Radial Sportactive tires. They weren't very good or better than the Wanley but I decided to keep them as my budget was limited. But 2 years later with very low mileage one tire blowout for no reason. Inner side wall failure. Another year later another tire blowout exactly the same story. On both occasions all my other tires were fully inflated and tire pressures were checked regularly. Another year later the last two remaining tires I purchased had wall cracks on the inside walls. Clearly another two blowouts waiting to happen on the remaining two tires and also on the remaining Inner walls side and both tires had cracks at exactly the same locations at the tires stamped section. Tire suppliers Tiger Wheel and Tire N1 City and there Supplier are claiming that my tires were under inflated and I drove the car with heavy loads. So not honoring there services. Tire pressure is at 220 kpa on this tires. So basically I will not use there services or dealerships again. I will definitely not buy Wanley or GT Radial sportactive tires ever again as they lack integrity on the whole. Not fit for the road and just cheap cosmetic trash tires.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2024
Given 37% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (225/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,500 spirited miles
Hi,so had these tyres put on my Abarth595 and in the wet they 'let go',over large drain covers at town speeds.The road was damp/wet and i use the road often it was a little worrying.Cornering was OK but if you push them you can feel there about to steer you into a hedge.In the dry i think there ok but wet conditions make the car nervous.Wouldn't recommend for any sporty car,there cheap and should last a while but i want to replace them as just not good in the wet.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 80% while driving a Hyundai coupe 2.0 gls (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Left a review of these tyres March 2019 on this site so just a little update after reading another review on here about the tyres splitting, so went and checked mine DOT Code 5217, both sidewalls and tread, 3 and a half years on and about 15,000 miles later absolutely no signs of any cracks, spider cracks or splits or any such sort. In fact they look absolutely mint. Well happy and wear is amazing, even more so being on the rear. Rear feels confident and the tyres have stopped the slight tail happy character common with my model on tight wet greasy turns or roundabouts. IMO a very good mid segment tyre.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2021
Given 50% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR SC 1.2 TSI (215/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Had the tyres on about 2 years/20000 miles. They are wearing slowly but both front tyres have split badly and will need replacing. It looks like a manufacturing fault. Don't waste your time with these tyres, they shouldn't split to be dangerous after 2 years on a small car.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2021
Given 74% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 38,000 spirited miles
Very good dry grip but when it's gets wet no so great. The tire lift however is excellent done over 38000 on a negative camber adjustment on a 320d. I would recommend for the money but if wet grip is more of a concern buy a premium tyre brand.
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2020
Given 64% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 1.4 EcoTSI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Just not worth the money, they are at a price point where there is no significant saving over a premium tyre. These feel way too hard and have at times been a little frightening in the wet. Just cough up the extra and get yourself something which feels and handles better. Biggest pro would probably be that wear appears very slow, probably due to a hard compound.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2019
Given 70% while driving a Hyundai coupe 2.0 gls (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Been on the rear (non-driven) wheels for a year now. Its a bit harder to judge the rear tyres but I'll relay my impressions. This is a decent tyre for the price, feels safe in the wet though I'm not pushing it to extremes. It did seem to take a while to scrub in (suppose because its so hard wearing). So if the big tyre names were say segment A and this tyre a 'B' segment tyre then within that segment I would rank it A in the dry and B in the wet. If you're after a genuinely long lasting tyre thats cheap and performs well (actually in my view quite a bit better than magazine test GTU/AZ would have you believe as DEKRA retested it with better results) then I would definitely put this on your list. It is what it is ...competent, long lasting and inexpensive.
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2019
Given 79% while driving a SEAT Leon FR tdi (225/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Had the tyres for approx 5000 miles now, they replaced some older Bridgestones. I'm sure they are not as good as a set if new premium tyres, but they do a good job at their price point. Sometimes struggle to put the power down in the wet. Wear seems good. Looks almost brand new after 5k
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2018
Given 47% while driving a Audi TT (245/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
These tyres came fitted to my 2015 TT TFSI Quattro when bought as an approved used car - They seem to be ok when the roads are dry and warm in these conditions the handling is reasonable. I have much less confidence in the wet though . In a straight line they are fine but are dreadful in corners. I'm not sure whether they do not suit my car with it being 4 wheel drive but they loose traction really easily in corners so much so I have no confidence in them when driving in damp/wet conditions. I think they must be a really hard compound as there are no visible signs of wear whatsoever and after 5000 miles are still showing 8mm on all 4 corners. According to the other reviews They appear to work well on other types of vehicles but recommend you don't use if you have a TT Quattro. Will be changing as soon as I can before winter sets in.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2018
Given 86% while driving a Mazda 6 Estate 2.2D Soport (225/45 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Couldn't justify the cost of Bridgestones that my Mazda 6 Sport came with at nearly £200 a corner fitted, so glad, as these new GT Radial Sportactive are far smoother with less noise and half the price. So far handling has been equally as good as the Premium Brand for the type of driving I do.

At this price point will deffo look at these again for my next change, which is hopefully in a few year's time!
Helpful 53 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2018
Given 83% while driving a Nissan 350z (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8 average miles
Brought these to replace my previous tyres which were worn out. Used on a 2005 350z, Put about 8,000 miles on them so far and they are a good tyre, haven't worn down noticeably tread still looks good. Grip very well in the dry and cornering is progressive with them, you know when you are near the limit, used on an everyday driver and the occasional thrash when conditions/roads allow and they hold up nicely particularly when warmer.

Braking seems to be good with these too in both the wet and dry nice, sharp and predictable.

I managed to get up steep 30 degree inclines in the snow when we had some bad conditions in the UK without too much difficulty as long as you're careful these are not too bad at all and I managed to still get around when other people could not even move off baring in mind with a 320hp rwd car.

In the wet again as long as you are sensible they hold up more than good enough to be honest have been able to throw the car around as usual. Am extremely impressed with these tyres a good compromise against the Uniroyal Rainsports which did have slightly better wet grip and a firmer ride but they also cost a lot more but overall not much difference.

I drive on varied roads daily, Motorway , country roads and sometimes town.

These are good if you want low tyre noise, sharp handling, confident feedback and low wear good for daily driving and the occasional thrash.

****A word of warning though, when I first used these it was wet and they were attrocious for say the first 50 miles, perhaps its just part of wearing in so don't be put off let them bed in they are a really good tyre :).*****
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2018
Given 99% while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003 2007) (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Brilliant. For the money they handle so well. Better than Rainsports for me!
Helpful 54 - tyre reviewed on June 10, 2017