SEAT Leon FR tdi Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the SEAT Leon FR tdi.

Do you Drive a SEAT Leon FR tdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Leon FR tdi better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (107) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 86%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83%
Achilles Winter 101 (9) 84% 84% 86% 83% 84% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (159) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (284) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (50) 86% 82% 79% 80% 79% 82%
Nokian WR D4 (62) 84% 84% 80% 80% 67% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (279) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Lassa Phenoma (18) 82% 79% 74% 67% 88% 79%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Michelin Primacy 3 (171) 86% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (26) 87% 75% 79% 82% 73% 71%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (91) 86% 81% 78% 78% 56% 73%
GT Radial SportActive (14) 80% 62% 73% 74% 86% 71%
Gislaved Ultra Speed (10) 84% 71% 79% 65% 77% 67%
Ovation W 582 (3) 67% 80% 60% 63% 77% 77%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%

SEAT Leon FR tdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the GT Radial SportActive given 79% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
Had the tyres for approx 5000 miles now, they replaced some older Bridgestones. I'm sure they are not as good as a set if new premium tyres, but they do a good job at their price point. Sometimes struggle to put the power down in the wet. Wear seems good. Looks almost brand new after 5k
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-21 10:27:51
Writing about the Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 given 87% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
Bought 4 of these tyres to replace Michelin Pilot Sport 4's fitted to my wife's Leon FR 184, & I'm very impressed with them so far in all conditions. Just bought 4 more for my BMW 320d E92 M Sport. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-29 19:52:05
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 96% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Great tyres. Changed from conti sport 5 to these and noticed comfort improvement imeadiatly. Rears have been on for 13000 miles and still have 6.5 mm. Fronts been on for 5000 miles and have 6.5mm. Great grip wet and dry.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-23 16:02:36
Writing about the Gislaved Ultra Speed given 87% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
I would buy them again, they make good tires :)
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-24 09:34:02
Writing about the Achilles Winter 101 given 93% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 45000 easy going miles
These tyres I purchased on a whim as the hype about Winter tyres was about. So I thought I’d buy a cheap set, try them out and if I didn’t like them, then I could chuck them away and move on. I Fitted these tyres on to My BMW E36 M3 initially, ran them for a few thousand miles, then took them off and put them on to my E36 323 Touring for a few thousand miles, but on the same rims, then changed them finally to a 1M Seat Leon FR TDi 150ps on to different rims where they stayed until exchange for a new set.

These tyres surprised me. An M3, 300hp and no issues in British snow, ice or rain. I managed to get everywhere, up hills in Wales as well as 65mph on motorways on lanes that were slushy. No twitching or nothing.

When I moved these tyres on to my Seat, they spent 99% of their time on motorways. They clocked 45000 miles on this car(+ whatever few thousand I did in the BMW’s,) so the wear is excellent. The economy was not hindered over normal summer tyres, the performance of the side loads on the tyre were fine, but if I was to criticise them for anything, it would be the slight slip that you get from any winter tyre in conditions above 15 degrees Celsius. From that last comment, you can see that I left them on all year round, and apart from a marginal increase in wear during the months of July and Aug on the hotter days of which there are few, they were fine. No issues with overheating or slip.

These tyres assisted me on a road trip around the Yorkshire dales and Lake District in Summer last year, some spirited driving was undertaken on roads such as the Snake Pass and Buttertubs Pass, apart from knowing I would get a little more understeer than on a summer tyre, they performed great.

The tyres have been removed yesterday, (only because one was worn in the middle, I managed to remove a chunk out one on a kerb and I ran one flat for an unknown number of miles (which was very evident when removed),) and replaced with the same tyre again, I liked them that much. They have gone back on the Seat, as well as another set for the 323 BMW. When removed, there was evidence of minor cracking above the letters for ‘Achilles’ and ‘Winter’ on the inside of the tyre, so if you buy a set, keep an eye out for this. Bear in mind they were fitted in 2012 and removed in 2017 so the time of cyclic thermal loading may be the cause for this. I changed the tyres at approx. 2-3mm, but that was out of choice as rear left was worn out due to a suspension issue creating an alignment issue.

These tyres perform as well as some of the bigger brands, at a fraction of the cost. Granted that the bigger brands may perform at the extremes of weather, but in Britain, this is rare, so some carful driving on those days should suffice. I managed to get a deal on eBay, I paid for a set of 4 new from stock the same as you would pay for a Michelin Alpin with fitting and balance, so if it bothers anyone that much, change at 5mm as these tyres come with 9.7mm from new not the 7mm that you get from Michelin and some others.

I know this may be sad, but I have recorded a graph of ‘mileage against wear’ whilst on the Seat so this can be sent to anyone whom desires to review.

Enjoy!
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-07 08:18:19
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 84% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
this is my 3rd pair of Uniroyal Rainsport 3s i have stuck with these as my choice of tire, previously i used to run on vredestein ultrac sessanatas and continental contisport 3, i went for the Rainsport 3s mainly from reviews, but mostly because of how well they work in the wet, i live up in Aberdeen Scotland so we have plenty of rain, not only do they handle well in the wet but also on the snow, (from yesterday experience)
I have used them on my previous Astra mk4 GSI and my current Leon FR, both front wheel drive,
another plus side is getting the power down at the front when accelerating if you have rubbish grip on the front your not getting the full potential from the cars acceleration, i had Contisport 2s on previous to uniroyals i wont lie they were brilliant tires but towards the end of there life span i just couldn't pull away without a spin, so having the uniroyals back on was like a breath of fresh air!!
i hope this review helped,
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-30 12:49:46
Writing about the Ovation W 582 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Im using this type of tyre on my seat leon fr 225/45 R 17 , i can tell easily that is the best cheap price tyre of all time , last year i used michelin , this year i bought ovation and im so happy with this tyre , especially handling is perfect .
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-22 16:18:24
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 62% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I bought these after being recommended them by a friend. I put them on both the front and back 14 months ago. They stick like the proverbial to a blanket in the wet, and almost as well in the dry. The sidewalls are very strong and have taken a beating from kerbs once or twice with no bother.
The back tyres get no grief whatsoever as all the weight is at the front and the car is FWD; as such, the back tyres are still like new, and even still have the coloured lines around the inside of the tread that you get on new tyres.
The fronts however... They've done just over 10,000 miles and are totally shot! The centre third of the tyres are down to the limiters and the outer and inner edges are slick!
I had Goodyear F1 Eagles before these, and I'll be returning to them next.
I wouldn't buy these tyres again purely due to the wear!

Pro's:
Great grip in both wet and dry

Cons:
Just don't last long at all.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-31 22:58:40
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 81% (225-45-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 spirited miles
These tyres came standard from factory on my Seat Leon FR; have got 40000km out of them and only now down to 3mm. I've found these tyres superb in the dry weather and dry roads; car literally grips like a train on rails. But as soon as a little rain comes, the car can become very dicey coming out of roundabouts ect. I'm not entirely sure if this is due to the power of the car and I haven't driven the car with other branded tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-07 14:07:13
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 71% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Brilliant in the wet, never had so much confidence when the weather is really bad. Made driving in the wet feel really safe as they never once aquaplaned on the motorway. Considering they are focused towards being a rain tyre they are excellent in the dry too with good feedback and excellent grip despite the torque going through the front wheels.

Only drawback is that they have been really poor on their wear rate and have only managed 8,000 miles on them, disappointing considering that they have now also moved to be more inline on price with other tyres. Would recommend them for their wet grip but if you are wanting them to last then i would avoid, will not be putting them on the car again and have just replaced the two fronts with Michelin Pilot Sport 4
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-16 09:21:39
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 86% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 350 average miles
I fitted them 2 weeks ago to a spare set of wheels. Initially they had a dead/vague spot when centre. This has improved over a few hundred miles, I put this down to the release agent wearing off the tire and I also added a 2 more psi from my summer pressures. Now the feel a lot more responsive. Compared to my summer tyres which are 225 45 r17 Dunlop sport maxxx they are quieter and get improved economy around 4 mpg more. Dry braking is as good as the dunlops which have 3-4 mil of tread. I've not pushed them to the limit yet so cannot comment on progressiveness. Very impressed with wet grip and braking far better than the dunlops and nexen winsports on our other car. They exceed the nexens in every aspect particularly cornering where you get quite a lot of tread movement/wobble on the nexens. Haven't noticed tred movement with the nokians. Will report back later when the temps have dropped and have experienced more rain and snow.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-28 19:13:04
Writing about the Mohawk M112 given 16% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Had these fitted to my Seat Leon FR and it was the worst mistake i have made. they were pretty bad at keeping grip in the day but in the wet they were down right dangerous. I was following 2 cars going round a corner in rush hour traffic once and then half way through the bend the rear tires (MOHAWK FITTED) just let go and found myself in the oncoming lane inches from another car!!! can not say how bad these tires are!
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-17 00:20:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre