Kumho Ecsta HM KH31

The Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 27 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 229,618 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 13th.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 74%
Wear 72%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 74%

First On MarketFebruary 2015
Wheel Size16 - 16"
Width195 - 195mm
Profile55 - 55
Rolling ResistanceC - C
Wet GripC - C
Noise (dB)71 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Ecsta HM KH31 is ranked 44th of 232 Summer Touring tyres.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

10th

Worst Result

15th

Average Result

13th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16
15th of 14 tyres
  • Somewhat weak in the wet, high wear.
View Full Test >>

2012 Tyre Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho Ecsta HM KH31. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 CDI (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Fitted to E320 2004 saloon on the rear. The outside edges were bald within 3000 miles (5 months) of non heavy driving. The worst wear I have ever experienced.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2018
Given 49% while driving a Fiat croma (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Very bad tires. The pattern is still good and tires looks like 1 year old but sidewalls and geometry of the tire went off. Also, the looks to much like plastic tire and do not hold well on a wet surface. They were on the car when I bought it and I was very happy when I throw them away. Never again...
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2017
Given 67% while driving a BMW E38 7 Series (235/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Not a bad tyre for the price, certainly better than the Avons they replaced. Good in snow when quite new and quiet on the motorway. Just about made 20000 miles, about 7000 of that towing a car trailer to meetings. They have been driven hard and I have no real complaints. That said however I am due to replace them and on recommendation I am opting for the Nokian Z G2.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2013
Have you driven on the Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecsta HM KH31? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 >

Latest Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Vauxhall (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
I bought 2 of this tyre about 8-10000miles ago and I'm having to replace them both now
This has nothing to do with the tyre at all I've never had 1 complaint about it yet!!
The way the tyre sticks to the road is unbelievable it helps you know the condition of the road whilst driving and throwing it about
Now even thought they haven't lasted me ages this is purely down to my driving (I'm 18 and not long been past my test) the car gets thrown into corners hard and it never even budges
I've already ordered my 2nd set and don't intend on changing till I drive another car that sticks better!!
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2015
Given 69% while driving a Peugeot 306 (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Great tyres in the dry, and better than budgets in the wet. These lasted about 20,000 miles so not bad on the front of a peugeot 306 either. Much better than the Rikens I had before, and we shall see how they were compared to the Yokohama Paradas I have replaced them with!
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2014
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 80% while driving a Chevrolet Malibu LTZ (225/55 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
My Ecsta HM KH31 are just shy of 40,000 miles, are good for another 8,000 - 10,000 miles. These are OEM tyres on my Chevy Malibu LTZ, I do 80% highway and 20% city and do around 1,800 - 3,700 miles a month. These tyres hold well in extremely hot Dubai weather and provide very good road handling and breaking feel even while panic breaking at 85mph. Can't comment on wet weather performance as it only rains here for a couple of weeks and the roads always dry up quickly due to the heat. The best thing about these tyres are that they are reasonably quiet provided they are rotated regularly. My service center for some reason skipped the periodic rotation at 25,000 miles which resulted in uneven wear and an increase in noise, after I got them rotated there was a noticeable reduction in noise. Would recommend these tyres as they provide surprisingly good handling in dry and low road noise for the price.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2013
Given 91% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Put two of these on the rear of my Focus replacing 2 Continental Sport Contact 2s which were on from new. These were just a little more than half the cost of the Continentals. Around 1,000 miles later a pot hole ripped 2 tyres to pieces on one side, so I replaced these, and the remaining Conti with KH31s.

These tyres have been on a wide variety of roads from gravel to muddy country lanes along with the usual town and motorway runs. I'm very happy with them overall, I enjoy driving and I like to push the car. I've yet to make these tyres break away in the corners, wet or dry. The grip is excellent in all conditions (even decent enough for a summer tyre in snow!) and the car feels no different to how it did before on Continental. I've covered 13k since putting them on and there is plenty of tread left yet. Road noise hasn't been an issue either.

Overall I'm very happy with the tyres and will fit them again. I really can't substantiate any of the comments in the negative reviews, these tyres have been spot on for me.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2013
Given 99% while driving a Peugeot 106 gti (185/55 R14) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
I have a Peugeot 106 GTI and due to the awkward wheel size there are very few true performance options available. I carried out a lot of research before deciding on the KH31's. There was a lot of conflicting information on other sites and this one also, but I think those that have truly tried a new set on all 4 corners of a car will agree with how superb these tires are overall.

They were one of the cheaper options that I was considering but they certainly do not suffer as a result. Grip is excellent in both the wet and dry and is hard to unstick, especially compared to the previous set of non-name rubber on the wheels.

I can't comment too much on the wear as they have been on for approx 2k miles but they seem to be wearing very evenly and at a slow pace at the moment.

My car being so light at only 940kgs it might be more forgiving on the tires downfalls if it hasn't any and they may perform differently on a large heavy saloon for example, but they are perfect on my light car.

I would thoroughly recommend these tires and cannot understand the occasional bad review they get but I guess that's the case for any product.

I will most definitely be renewing with another set once these wear and I can't say higher praise than that.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2013
Given 56% while driving a Nissan 200sx (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These came with a used 200sx in the front in average condition, with similar tyres from a competing manufacturer in the rear. Overall grip was below average in the dry and quite poor in the wet - I'd have sudden and severe understeer in cornering (despite the rears being totally worn out) and they locked under only moderate braking.

Road noise was also an issue, the roar was louder than my aftermarket exhaust.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2013
Given 82% while driving a Peugeot (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8 spirited miles
Better than the Goodyears and Accelera i've had and better than any budget tyres i've ever used.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2013
Given 100% while driving a Peugeot 307 (205/55 R16 H) on track for 0 spirited miles
Very good tyres!
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2013
Given 79% while driving a Renault Megane (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Great tyres for the price. Awesome grip in the wet and dry! Definitely would buy again. I don't understand people's bad reviews on this tyre because I have had no problems as yet!
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2013
Given 23% while driving a Ford Mondeo (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
These tyres turned My Mondeo from a sure footed, safe car into a nightmare, there is poor grip in the dry and grip is so bad in the wet I only use the car if I cannot walk.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2013
Given 81% while driving a Jaguar XJ6 (225/60 R16 W) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of 4 of these as the car was purchased with a rubbish selection of old, leaky and worn tyres. Of course the car was transformed but like all Kumho tyres, they are very well balanced. They roll smoothly and quietly, appropriate for this car! Being very heavy and soft, the handling of the car isnt brilliant anyway, but these stick to the road and the car feels very confident, it wont easily overcome the tyres in normal or even spirited driving. ABS cuts in very late too which shows they can perform even on a large car. Off the line traction is great with no wheelspin. At speed there is no vibration and no tramlining, which these cars are prone too. I like Kumho tyres and these are no exception, also great value in this expensive size, highly recommended. They are also very resistant to aquaplaning and they look great too. Another plus is that the sidewalls look great with tyre shine on!
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2013
Given 61% while driving a Chevrolet Tacuma (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Very noisy tyres. I'm very disappointed, next time will try KH17.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2012