Jaguar XJ6 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Jaguar XJ6.

Do you Drive a Jaguar XJ6? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a XJ6 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Yokohama AVS dB v550 (6) 88% 77% 83% 82% 67% 92%
Viking ProTech HP (14) 83% 78% 78% 73% 82% 75%
Michelin Primacy 3 (171) 86% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 (27) 81% 73% 76% 74% 72% 78%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Landsail LS288 (31) 76% 65% 69% 64% 77% 72%
Federal Formoza FD2 (14) 74% 62% 72% 59% 73% 79%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (53) 80% 64% 75% 73% 76% 71%
Accelera PHI (148) 69% 45% 54% 53% 67% 59%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%

Jaguar XJ6 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Viking ProTech HP given 86% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
Have fitted the Vikings (255/35/20) to Jaguar XJ Sport for the past 4 years. They last amazingly well (compared to some well know and more prestigious brands), they perform equally well and are an absolute bargain. Be in no doubt, this is a top quality tyre, produced in a new factory in Germany owned by Continental.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-23 11:29:37
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 37000 average miles
I had these tyres fitted to my Jag XJ6 as they were all that was in stock on Boxing Day a couple of years ago when a tracking problem had scuffed the fronts to nothing. I ended up fitting them on all wheels, they lasted 37,000 miles so replaced all 4 with another set 2 years later; these lasted another 35k miles so refooted again but sold the car 8 months later so do not know the eventual state. I was really impressed (Jaguar were less so!) as they worked well and lasted an amazing time when fitted to a large, powerful and heavy. I would certainly refit though I believe they are now out of production.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-22 14:55:05
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 35% (205-70-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
These fitted to a Jaguar xj6, the ride is unbearable it is so hard that the tar
strips on the road shakes the just as if you were running over the the lane
markers, and the lane markers feel like potholes.
very noisy sounds like the wheel bearings have all gone.
fitted a different brand of tyre and now it rides like a new car very smooth.
your bob
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-11 14:17:34
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 86% (225-55-16-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Put two Primacy 3 on the front, replacing a pair of 7yr old rock hard Pirelli P6000. Completely cured the borderline dangerous tramlining. Will see how they age
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-06 14:37:58
Writing about the Federal Formoza FD2 given 26% (255-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Tyres looked really good but they will not grip when going around any corner, the traction control keeps coming on, when I put the front tyres on the rear the traction control problem disappeared! I do not know how they wear as I have only done a couple of thousand miles but they are useless on the rears.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-20 18:33:02
Writing about the Landsail LS288 given 74% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I bought a set of these for my Jaguar xj6 when I put a set of 18" wheels on her at a price of £200 for a set of 4. I was not expecting much! For the first few days I found grip to be bad! But after this once they had a 20-30 miles on them they seemed to improve loads and became a semi decent all-round tire. They are far from the best on the market but for the price they are fantastic at £50 per corner fully fitted and balanced. I drive normally most of the time as I am a family man and have the occasional blast when on my own. I would buy these again. I covered around a 1000 miles on these before I sold the car and the Brand name and tire size molded into tread was still clearly visible leading me to the conclusion that these are a really good hard-wearing tire.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-09 06:58:54
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 given 81% (225-60-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of 4 of these as the car was purchased with a rubbish selection of old, leaky and worn tyres. Of course the car was transformed but like all Kumho tyres, they are very well balanced. They roll smoothly and quietly, appropriate for this car! Being very heavy and soft, the handling of the car isnt brilliant anyway, but these stick to the road and the car feels very confident, it wont easily overcome the tyres in normal or even spirited driving. ABS cuts in very late too which shows they can perform even on a large car. Off the line traction is great with no wheelspin. At speed there is no vibration and no tramlining, which these cars are prone too. I like Kumho tyres and these are no exception, also great value in this expensive size, highly recommended. They are also very resistant to aquaplaning and they look great too. Another plus is that the sidewalls look great with tyre shine on!
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-14 11:11:32
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 51% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
glad to see the back of them , id go for bf goodrich any day, lasts forever and handles well in all weather
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-12 23:41:00
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 10% (235-50-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
These tyres were replaced in Europe in 2007, the tyres are still manufactured in thailand for the asian market, if you check goodyears website in europe you will NOT find this tyre for sale.
If you contact goodyear themselves they will tell you that the tyres are not legal in the UK and will ask you for details of the company that supplied them to you.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-04 12:05:28
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
Pirelli P6000 Came as standard on my Jaguar XJ 2.7TDI, must say I have found them excellent (not a racing driver) but caught for speeding at Le Mans 192kph..and police only managed to catch up when I slowed down...
Current set just changed after 22,000 miles, with still about 250 miles left on the tread.

Before this,owned a 3.0 Jaguar S type fitted with Pirelli Pzeros, also found to be adequate tyres for what required.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-23 16:31:33
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 82% (235-50-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 average miles
Two of these came with a set of 18" wheels to swap out the 20" I had on the car when purchased as the 20" gave an unacceptably harsh ride. They were fitted on the rear of the car they came off, (another XJ6),so went on the back of mine. At swap time in June 2010 the car was on about 32k miles and is now on 51k miles. over those near 20k miles I have had no problems at all with the Acceleras, and this includes a 3000 mile trip to Germany on holiday, including heavy rain, and autobahn driving. Spirited overtaking has also given no problems dry or wet.
So I take as I find, and am somewhat sceptical about the negative reviews I read here. I do suspect that some people are what I call "wheelspin to wheel lock" drivers, and others may not realise that new tyres need about 100-200 miles running-in at slower speeds and less frenetic use, to get the full tyre performance. Anyway, so happy have I been that I replaced them yesterday with another two Acceleras. No point in spending money needlessly, and anyway, as I am now retired, I need to watch the pennies.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-27 23:05:01
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Had these on my '07 525M sport Auto and was pleasently surprised how good these where, wet weather grip however was a tad less but thank god for traction control! Quieiter, better ride and also much better in the snow then the standard fittment tyres as well as I was able to move forward and get traction...the treads cleared with every rotation. I have now fitted these to my XJ 2.7 TDVI and will report soon how i find them, hopefully I am as pleased as when I fitted them to the 19" on my beemer.
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-08 14:00:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre