Landsail LS288

The Landsail LS288 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 36 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 187,100 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 26th.

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 60%
Road Feedback 65%
Handling 61%
Wear 68%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 58%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size13 - 16"
Width165 - 225mm
Profile45 - 75
Rolling ResistanceB - C
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)70 - 72
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The LS288 is ranked 123rd of 232 Summer Touring tyres.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

11th

Worst Result

41st

Average Result

26th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Test World Summer Tyre Test
11th of 16 tyres
  • Short braking distances on wet roads, low noise, low rolling resistance
  • Nervous dynamic behaviour
  • The Landsail tyres become the main surprise of this test. On a wet surface, the tyre has a very short braking distances and good lateral grip. During emergency maneuvers the grip is high, but it can disappear abruptly, especially on wet surfaces. The tyres are also good in tests for noise and efficiency. Overall, Landsail become the Chinese tyre tested by Test World
View Full Test >>

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
185/60R14 82 HCB70
175/65R14 86 T XLCB71
175/65R14 82 TCB70
175/65R14 82 HCB70
165/70R14 81 TCB70
165/70R14 81 HCB70
15 inch
195/65R15 95 H XLCB72
195/65R15 91 VCB71
195/65R15 91 HCB71
185/65R15 88 TCB70
195/55R15 85 VCB71
185/65R15 88 HCB70
16 inch
215/60R16 95 VBB71
215/60R16 95 HBB71
205/60R16 92 VBB71
205/60R16 92 HBB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Landsail LS288 >>

Questions and Answers for the Landsail LS288

2016-04-08 - I am about to replace a set of tyres on my Hyundai Matrix, and my garage has recommended Landsail. My concern is that they are made in China. I say this because my experience of buying Chinese manufactured electrical goods has not been good in terms of quality - non-functioning after a relatively short time. What can you tell me about this brand of tyre which may increase my confidence to buy. Thank you.

While it is true some Chinese manufacturers produce low quality tyres, a number of them are now starting to produce acceptable mid range offerings. Landsail are one of those, but as always, be sure to check reviews of the particular Landsail tyre you're looking at, as the quality can still be quite variable.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 13 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Landsail LS288 Reviews

Given 38% while driving a Jaguar XK 4.2 (225/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
I check tyre pressures weekly but both front tyres began to leak in many places on the sidewall - tyres on car when purchased and gone back to premium brands.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2023
Given 43% while driving a Honda (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought two of these from a local tyre center, one was problematic from the start, always lost air so around every 3 weeks the tyre would be visibly lower and around 15psi down, slowly worsening over a year until 2 tins of tyre weld later it was replaced (needles to say a different brand) the other lasted around 9 months and only one tin of tyre weld to end the consistent leak, before the outer wall gave out and several, strands of wire started showing through (very dangerous) again quickly replaced with a other brand. Absolutely will never buy this brand again.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2023
Given 37% while driving a BMW X5 3.0d Sport (255/50 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Had a full set of 4 on my 2002 BMW X5. Big 19" staggered wheels = expensive when they all need replacing. 255/50/19 on the front, 285/45/19 on the back. New Landsails went on as I had fitted them before to a smaller runabout car and they were fine. Definitely NOT fine on the X5. I braked gently into a country road bend in a sudden rainstorm and they simply went straight on, and I don't drive particularly fast. I've not had a fright like that for a very long time. Lucky nothing coming the other way. They were no problem at all until it rained, with only a couple of weeks wear, I think the worst bit was how suddenly they went from grip to no grip at all. I swapped the fronts immediately for a pair of Uniroyals which have been faultless in all conditions. 6000 miles later the car started skating around in wet weather on the motorway. Changed the unevenly worn rear Landsails for Goodyears and the problem is entirely gone. So would never use Landsails again. Have had good experiences for a bit more money with Avon and Uniroyal. I don't believe you need to spend £200 a corner for safe tyres, but would never go rock-bottom again. A real shame, as they were cheap and relatively quiet running as well!
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2022
Have you driven on the Landsail LS288 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Landsail LS288? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Landsail LS288 >

Latest Landsail LS288 Reviews

Given 33% while driving a Skoda (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
Car came with landsail tyres fitted to rears. Car failed MOT due to dangerously cracked and bulging tyres. Horrified at the poor condition of tyres with around 4mm tread. Unsafe and unsatisfactory. Would not buy Landsail again, at any price.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2023
Given 41% while driving a Rover 25 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I had heard good things about these tyres but NO-they are terrible. I fitted them on the front of my rover 25 1.6 and now 2000 miles later after driving in wet wintery England I am really glad summer is coming so they might actually warm up and start to work! On roundabouts they understeer my breaking distances are way longer with abs kicking in all the time. On any road with any bit of dampness they break traction and spin even in 2nd gear whilst accelerating in a straight line. It is like driving on ice all the time ! My car produces a modest 109 hp but it feels like I am trying to put 300 bhp through the front wheels the way they continually break traction. Don't even think about leaving the traffic lights quickly. Ok temperatures have not hit double figures since I bought them and I am really hoping that this is just a cold weather thing but for the UK in winter I would rate these tyres as actually dangerous -do not buy them.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Audi 2.0tdi 177 sline sportback (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 miles
Based on the wholly negative reviews I have changed my mind about fotting 225 x 40 x 18 to my Audi Quattro s line black edition on the basis I drive it hard in the wet and feel safe and reliable on premium tyres I will buy the best and pay more for total safety
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2021
Given 25% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Put these on my BMW 520d and it’s made my car nervous and wobbly. The grip is not great and the car now oversteers which is shocking. Have to drive with both hands on the steering wheel at all times because the car drifts. Shocking tyres
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2021
Given 74% while driving a Toyota Avensis D4D 2.2 T spirit (205/55 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
Got a pair, hard wearing, but they keep leaking since new although have been re-fitted 3 times but different garages.
Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2020
Given 71% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium X (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
bought these as got recommended them , overall not a bad tyre for the price, only let down was the tyre walls, they started cracking after about 6000 mls , and slow leaked air due to it ,had to blow them up ones a week, now replaced them with better tyres
Helpful 58 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2020
Given 74% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (185/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I bought the car with budget tyres one all corners, the rears were Zeta that were around half worn, they were lethal in the wet and would let go without warning, honestly, they were evil! fitted these Landsail 288's and it was transformed, they grip well wet or dry, they're quiet, and seem to be wearing very well, I'd recommend them, great so far, will be fitting a set to the front soon.
Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2019
Given 94% while driving a BMW 330d SE (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
I have been really pleased with these tyres. Previously I have always purchase premium tyres (Michellins; Continentals etc). These tyres do the job. The Continentals used to 'tram line'. These do not. The car (BMW33d) steers far better, and they are lasting much longer. I was very nervous about moving away from premium tyres, but am really pleased that I did. Road noise is probably higher, but they were a fraction of the price about 30%!), steer better & are lasting far longer.
Helpful 74 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2018
Given 40% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.9TDi (205/45 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
Very poor tyres. Had them just under 3 years. Still loads of tread left on them but there are loads of cracks now to the point where I am having to replace. My advice don't buy cheap they don't last.
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2018
Given 89% while driving a Porsche cayenne s (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
I put 4 of these on my Porsche Cayenne 4.5S and they have lasted 12000 miles. They are still legal but the outer edges on the front ones are wearing a bit thin, but that is expected on such a heavy car. The rear ones have 2 to 3mm but I am changing all 4. I think for a budget tyre they are excellent.
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2018
Given 29% while driving a Audi A3 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
These were fitted to an Audi A3 which does motorway, A road and country lane driving, moderate speed, load and stress. They were beyond awful. They wore to illegality in 8,000 miles and during that time deteriorated from poor to terrible. How these things are allowed to be sold is beyond me. Wet grip was virtually non existent, they were noisy, feedback was minimal and when they were changed for some trusty Avon ZV7s, the car was transformed. Startlingly, the tread was cracking as was the tyre itself between the tread, after 24 months after fitting. Never, never, never again for me. Avoid.
Helpful 96 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2018
Given 90% while driving a Kia Motors Pride (175/60 R13) on mostly country roads for 5,000 miles
Comfortable. Soft. Soft break
Helpful 54 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2017