BMW X5 3.0d Sport Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW X5 3.0d Sport.

Do you Drive a BMW X5 3.0d Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a X5 3.0d Sport better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Nexen Winguard Sport 2 SUV (2) 80% 80% 80% 80% 75% 95%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (55) 88% 89% 85% 85% 85% 89%
Toyo Proxes ST (13) 91% 87% 88% 73% 89% 85%
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (18) 91% 92% 77% 87% 80% 79%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport SUV (6) 88% 82% 82% 86% 58% 78%
Petlas Explero W671 (4) 80% 73% 78% 80% 80% 75%
Michelin Latitude Diamaris (5) 95% 75% 58% 77% 85% 85%
Davanti DX640 (83) 80% 71% 77% 75% 67% 81%
Landsail LS588 UHP (88) 81% 75% 70% 68% 75% 80%
Avon ZX7 (39) 84% 82% 75% 76% 58% 78%
Michelin Diamaris (3) 83% 70% 77% 73% 53% 80%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (34) 86% 79% 74% 74% 53% 72%
Landsail LS288 (33) 76% 61% 67% 62% 74% 72%
Sunitrac Focus 9000 (9) 79% 66% 63% 75% 77% 57%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 4X4 (3) 87% 60% 63% 63% 67% 60%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (156) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (74) 78% 64% 67% 61% 70% 61%
Falken FK453CC (3) 77% 67% 63% 67% 63% 57%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF (10) 79% 69% 66% 59% 44% 65%
Cooper Zeon 2XS (16) 70% 51% 57% 48% 58% 65%

BMW X5 3.0d Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Landsail LS288 given 37% (255-50-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 easy going miles
Had a full set of 4 on my 2002 BMW X5. Big 19" staggered wheels = expensive when they all need replacing. 255/50/19 on the front, 285/45/19 on the back. New Landsails went on as I had fitted them before to a smaller runabout car and they were fine. Definitely NOT fine on the X5. I braked gently into a country road bend in a sudden rainstorm and they simply went straight on, and I don't drive particularly fast. I've not had a fright like that for a very long time. Lucky nothing coming the other way. They were no problem at all until it rained, with only a couple of weeks wear, I think the worst bit was how suddenly they went from grip to no grip at all. I swapped the fronts immediately for a pair of Uniroyals which have been faultless in all conditions. 6000 miles later the car started skating around in wet weather on the motorway. Changed the unevenly worn rear Landsails for Goodyears and the problem is entirely gone. So would never use Landsails again. Have had good experiences for a bit more money with Avon and Uniroyal. I don't believe you need to spend £200 a corner for safe tyres, but would never go rock-bottom again. A real shame, as they were cheap and relatively quiet running as well!
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-27 11:33:34
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 97% (315-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 spirited miles
We drive a BMW X5 35d xDrive with the M Sport package. 275/40/20 front/315/35/20 rear. The stock Continentals were worn out in 28,358 KMs. After BMW and Continental decided they were not going to do anything for us, we installed a set of Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4. The vehicle has never driven so well, significant improvement in steering response, handling, braking, ride quality etc…. Dry or Wet an excellent tire. Although we only have 5,000KMs on the tires now, we can say, our X5 never drove this well when new with the Conti’s on it. Great job Michelin! Thanks Tyre Review for all the videos with full track testing! Keep up the good work!
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-20 21:19:56
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 76% (325-30-21-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
Jonathan kindly replied to an Email enquiry. From his reply, I went ahead and placed 21 inch run-flat Continental WinterContacts on to my 2017 X5, that has different tyre sizes, from front to back. The wife loved the difference to her feeling of safety they made, between the Scottish Highlands Cold Winter and the wet/cold Autumn/Spring of Herefordshire England, 'so much so', she disliked the stock tyres being replaced back on the wheels for the summer and instantly felt less safe. This was due to a perception feeling of no longer being stuck to the tarmac with the stock summer tyres, as compared to the Continentals. They have served us for 2 Autumns, Winters and Spring seasons very well and still in good condition. From Jonathan's most recent youtube videos, Im inclining towards Michelin UHP all season 4 tyres, as the twice yearly tyre change with the reality of UK Weather, be it Scotland of England my wife and I find ourselves, Jonathan's informative video's lead all, or certainly myself, towards all season tyres from now onwards, especially with the advances in tyre technology we are seeing with the Michelin and Continental brands. Changing vehicles this Sept from X5 40d 2017 model to X3 M40i 2021 model with 21 inch run-flat wheels. My biggest issue with tyre change, is BMW dealerships don't or will not put new winter tyres on 21 inch wheels, so you have to go to an independent tyre business, that more often than not, has to order in the tyres required for 21 inch runflat type wheels. Another reasons for my decision with a new vehicle, a new tyre solution to all season tyres (Note: at 21 inch run-flats, there are not many tyre manufactures to choose between, though improving slightly each year) These Continental WinterContact tyres have been amazing and made us watch motorist abandon, struggle, or slip off roads in snow conditions, as we quickly drove between destinations with full safety and trust in the tyres. Even in wet and dry, as a normal driver (No Track) these tyres kept us glued to the road in wet and dry conditions, until real warm weather made us change back to stock summer tyres. But, the UK weather of recent, is so inter-changeble, both in Scotland and England, that the 7 degree point to change winter/summer is blurred often right through Autumn, Winter and Spring. Today 2021, early May in Scotland I'm driving with snow on the road. Thankfully we have kept the winter tyres on even later this year!
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-07 04:04:07
Writing about the Nexen Winguard Sport 2 SUV given 77% (255-50-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
I have BMW X5 with R19 255/50 switched to Nexen Winguard Sport 2 s from Lassa Competus winter 2, the main difference are : Nexen is more comfortable and quieter, and the grip on snow/ice is better, but handling feel is more 'cheesee', i live in Latvia, so we have proper winter , average temp is minus -7c, -12c and in colder temps tyres feels batter than in warm temperatures because they is quite soft . For the price the grip is geat but do not expect them to be sporty. Could recommends this tires ? Yes but only in winter, not all season tyres. Downsides of both Nexen and Lassa is weight, little bit on heavy side.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-26 08:41:51
Writing about the Petlas Explero W671 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 60000 average miles
Petlas is a Turkish brand and manufacture tire, petlas mainly equips aviation tires for the Turkish army, so basically Turkish petlas = French Michelin, it's clear Petlas is not a tire known in Europe for this. is a not too expensive tire which does not mean bad tires
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-02 09:57:21
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM25 4X4 given 29% (250-55-19-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 average miles
Hi. First time tried this tyre, extremly noisy. Wet road/bit cold is very slippery. Dry is is excellent, but for winter this tyre is risk of life.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-13 13:19:03
Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 53% (285-45-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 easy going miles
Dont rate these Tyres at all, rears only lasted 5000 miles on a BMW X5 and I am not a hard driver. Previously used Michelins Diamaris which where in the 20,000 mile range, which makes the Avons a very expensive tyre
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-20 11:05:22
Writing about the Sunitrac Focus 9000 given 89% (285-35-22-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Purchased BMWX5 twin turbo car with Sunitrak 9000 tyres and found them to be excellent all round tyres, all of this bulls hit about Chinese tyres is utter nonsense they perform brilliantly I can only assume large Name tyre manufacturers are spreading bad reviews are purely trying to retain their stranglehold on the uk and us markets. Will certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-13 17:08:31
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Diamaris given NAN% (255-50-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 160000 average miles
I've had my X5 3.0D Sport for 6 years and covered 120000 miles I've had 2 sets of these and covered 62000 on last set, and achieved up to 35.3mpg on a regular basis! Just changed to a new set of latitude sport 3 and was disappointed, noisier and les fuel efficient, only achieving 32mpg now.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-19 20:40:39
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport SUV given 51% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Have driven 5000 miles fronts have four mm left evenly on both front tyres so alignment should be ok back 315s have six mm left but keeping lookout for sign of cords coming through on inside edge ok so far . Drive mix of roads to work 30/40 60 . Have the odd blast .
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-15 11:52:04
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 53% (285-45-19-V)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
i bough 2 rear tyres, DX640 on the 25th Oct 2016, mileage 106,400 for my BMW x5. Seller stated that were good value and right for the vehicle. Having now done 112,000, less then 6,00 miles and a failed MOT for insufficient thread on both rear tyres beginning to question whether they are what the hype and reviews make them out to be. Certainly wont be purchasing any more in the future, definitely wont be recommending them either.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-10 16:09:51
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 78% (315-35-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 average miles
Bought these tyres as a fix for the winter on my spare set of wheels wasn't bothered about performance as I had no intention of pushing them that said they are ok but lack a little bit of feel on the turn in and are not as sharp as the Pirelli that came off but they are very quiet and comfortable and seem to be wearing ok

They are ok on grass and mud no issues as far as this type of width can be
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-22 15:06:14
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre