Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 66%
Handling 59%
Wear 44%
Comfort 65%
Buy again 40%

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 60% over 133,212 miles driven.

The SP Sport Maxx ROF is ranked 61st of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF Reviews

Given 69% while driving a BMW X5 (275/40 R20 W) on mostly town for 10,200 average miles
Only 10,200 mi and already need replacement of all 4. I have the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport RF on order and will compare the wear differences between the two...(the Bridgestones are half the price!) I've read similar reviews on both brands. I have to admit the Dunlops do look nice and aggresive on the 20in. wheels though. Let's see how the Bridgestones compare there as well.
34 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2012   
Given 67% while driving a BMW 640d (275/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
Let me first say that I understand all the arguments for and against run flat tyres, but I simply can't get on with the harsh ride and cost of replacements. I have just done 21,000 miles, being a mix of country, motor and town driving, on 275/30/R20 Dunlop Sport Max GT ROF fitted to the rear of my BMW 640D MSport. At 2.5mm on the rear nearside, the car was telling me I need new tyres; bit of wheel spin and tail end is a little happier than it used to be on round-abouts in the wet. The front 245/35/R20 still have 5.5mm. I would not say that I am spirited driver, but given some space I do like to push the car a little. In terms of wear, I would say that the Dunlops are reasonable; I used to get around 20,000 (based on 3 sets) out of a rear set of Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2s 255/30/R19 fitted to a BMW 330D MSport (mapped to 265bhp with 571nm). What I didn't like about the Dunlops was the ride, the jarring of my jaw at every pot hole and the rear end skipping ever time you hit a bump on a bend; just like the ride I used to get with Bridgestone Potenza RE050A ROF that were fitted originally to the 330D. So you would think the obvious choice of replacement tyres for the 640D, given my history, was the new Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, but disappointingly neither the 275/30/20 or the 245/35/20 are available except as a "run flat" - aaaaaargh! Instead I have just fitted the new Continental Sport Contact 6; TyreReviews video helped enormously with the choice (you don't get so much feel in a 640D, so went on the basis of slightly better grip of the Continental over the Michelin) and CAMSKILL sealed it with a very competitive price for the Continentals. I was tempted to replace all 4 corners, but there some reviews of the Contact 6 suggesting that they do not wear particularly well (on that basis I may as well get the remaining wear out of the front and then replace all 4 at a later date). I have only just fitted the Contact 6, so a review on them will follow in a month or two.
5 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2016   
Given 71% while driving a BMW 640d (275/30 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Wet weather grip is poor. They let go far too easily.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2013   
Have you driven on the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF >

Latest Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF Reviews

Given 37% while driving a BMW 640d (275/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Cant really give any scores as dont have them on the car long enough to get a real feel for them!! Car came with Dunlop SP Maxx tyres on and always replaced like for like until now. Been driving over 25 years and hardly got a puncture in my life. My car has done 43k and already on the 3rd set of rear tyres. Seem to pick up every nail to a point where the tyre cant be repaired, now the side wall has gone despite no visible damage to the tyre and no damage to the wheel. Last tyre only lasted 6k miles and needs to be changed again, still got about 6mm tread left Disappointed this these big time, wont be going back once the rest have worn...or im sure something would happen to them before they wear to a point they need to be changed
0 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2020   
Given 71% while driving a BMW 640 d gran coupe (275/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
35000 out of front and 25000 out of back, good quality low road noise will buy again
1 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2015   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 84% while driving a BMW X5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
Wear rate is relatively high but they are on an E70 X5 BMW so really shouldn't complain - very little else to choose from in this size and keep ROF tyres so have gone again for the same.

They wear uniformly and keep their grip right down to the wear markers. Have been impressed with the wet weather grip and they aren't too bad ride comfort wise for a 20" ROF tyre - would recommend in total.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2011   
Given 76% while driving a BMW X5 3.0d Sport (275/40 R20 R) on a combination of roads for 19,000 easy going miles
Good tyres that were standard on the 20 inch rims. A little dissapointed as to wear as they are low (very near replacement) at 19800 miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2011   
Given 34% while driving a BMW X5 3.0d Sport (315/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
Front are 275 40 R20 Rears 315 35 R20 these were the original tyres on my X5 35D
I definitely won't replace with Dunlop run flats because although the wear is even the mileage is very poor. The steering tends to track on uneven road surfaces which can be quite disconcerting. I'm sure that part of the problem is the tyre not just the width of the tyres. I can't quite decide to replace with Bridgestone or Continental run flats but it certainly won't be Dunlop.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2011