Michelin Pilot Road 3

The Michelin Pilot Road 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Road 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Road 4.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 92%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 85%
Wear 90%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 92%

Tyre review data from 21 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 120,499 miles driven.

The Pilot Road 3 is ranked 4th of 23 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Pilot Road 3
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Road 3
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Pilot Road 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Road 3 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 3 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Road 3 Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
I found these tyres to be exactly what they are advertised, Sporty.

I think they are some of the best gripping tyres out there, However they have a major disadvantage, Tyre wear

I have only managed to get 14,000 miles out of a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 3s and due to this I have decided to go for a different brand to replace them.

Excellent tyre for grip but only if you can afford to keep replacing them
47 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2014   
Given 97% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 15,000 spirited miles
Just finished my 3rd set of PR3, and wondering if I should try the PR4 or stick with the PR3. I always manage over 15k miles on my VFR750. great confidence in the wet, the dry is always a given these days. I love them
16 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Honda Fireblade 1000 (195/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Was looking for tyres that would last longer then 1500-2000 miles i was getting out of the Diabblos, Went with the dealers recommendation of Michelin Pilot Road 2 instead of the latest Pilot Road 4 as he said they would suit my 2008 Fireblade better, Just had the 1st proper run out yesterday to scrub them in and they do not disappoint, mixed weather yesterday so some dry some damp road, tyres feel really good took about 100miles just for them to start scrubbing in, and with a predicted 7- 8000miles to a rear tyre they certainly seem like a good choice
3 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2014   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Road 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Road 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Road 3 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Road 3 Reviews

Given 79% while driving a Yamaha TDM 900 (160/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I bought the pilot road 3 as a progression from having PR2s on, which were ok. I've had them on now for ~6000 miles and they are down to the wear bars in most places. I have found them grippy when cornering giving me good feed back and rarely letting go in any way. However, stopping has been a nightmare. This is the first set of tyres I've had where I am repeatedly having to wrestle the bike to a stand still under heavy braking. It's mostly the back end letting go. My bike doesn't have abs, but I haven't needed it up until this set of tyres. Yes, I've checked my brakes. They don't snatch and are usually progressive.
This gives me a dilema, do I go for Road 5s or something else.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a (190/70 R17) on for 0 miles
These to me are the best tyres on the market was a avon fan put these on my Kawasaki sx 1000 what a big difference had them 4000 miles rear tyre is half worn so should get at least 7000 miles from them they are that good have bought another pair already as they were at the wright price in the wet have no problem feel safe and in the dry the bike is like glue to the road. Also have a vfr 750 and fitted a set to that as well so to have 2 bikes with the same tyres fitted says it all will try the 4 next time .
0 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2018   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 78% while driving a Yamaha FZS 600 (160/60 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Kind of wishing I'd weighed these before fitting to compare with my usual Bridgestones... I have the impression that they are lighter. Good from the point of view of unsprung weight, but it took me a little while to get used to the handling, it felt a little vague as if there wasn't much feedback from the front... reduced gyroscopic effect due to less mass might be the reason.
I also suspect PR3s might be a little more prone to punctures: I picked up a small nail in the rear after only a few hundred miles, again the light construction could be partially to blame, I think the steel cords in the BT023 would have deflected the thing. Yes, I know it's just bad luck and statistically irrelevant, but after 175,000 miles on Bridgestones with zero punctures one after 300 miles on Michelins was a surprise.
Otherwise they're excellent, particularly in the wet and warm up quickly too.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2017   
Given 90% while driving a Yamaha MT 07 (180/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
They were on my new Yamaha MT07 from new 3 years ago. I cannot believe the mileage I have managed to date. Over 16,000 miles of predictable and solid performance. I've had 2 punctures repaired on the rear and now have decided to replace it as it's just started to square off and has collected another nail. The front looks as good as the day it went on the rim. I cannot rate these tyres highly enough.
2 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2017   
Given 91% while driving a (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Pilot Road 2's were brilliant but these are awesome tyres on my Gen Hayabusa. 2000 miles in a very wet week thru' the South of France. Torrential rain with rivers of water running across the road and I had the bike on the edges of the tyres, knee down and at speed. Never twitched once! Excellent wear, managing almost 7000 miles out of the rear. I've managed 800 (eight hundred!) miles out of a BT56 (non R spec).
Pilot Roads always for me.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2016   
Given 91% while driving a Honda CBR1000RR10 (190/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
Traction was considerably better than my road 2's.Feedback was posative not harsh wet or dry.Longevity/wear was 13,000 miles of heavy,aggresive use over diverse road compositions.This set was run at various tire pressures dependant on ambient temps,lower pressure for lower temps example 40'f-55'f ambient 29psi-32psi 60'f-120'f ambient 33psi-40psi.This has been 99% street 1% other.I am currently 4000 miles into my second set.This an excellent all year tire.This motorcycle is driver year round all weather conditions,I have heated grips for a reason. Next set will be the road 4's.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2014   
Given 91% while driving a Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa RK9 (130/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Hi
I drive a GSX1300R Hayabusa what a great tire wet or dry I stay in South Africa KZN Newcastle you can get 3 seasons in one day here rain,thunder storms,the grip on the Pilot 3 outstanding now I got at last a good tire for my Beast.Now the prise Is killing me I paid R 1400 when I fitted it after 8000km my busa is not shy on rubber now its time for new tire after 8 months and price now is.
R 2200 rear tire including fitment almost R 800 difrence please what went Rong
0 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2013   
Given 91% while driving a Honda CBR1100XX (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Unbelievable tyre. Confidence inspiring, comfortable, longevity, wet grip around corners and heavy braking. I have not been able to shake these loose whether solo or 2 up. As safe in the wrt as in the dry compared to other top brands. I ride in all weathers, from motorway speeds to twisty Welsh mountain roads. Highly recommended, especially for the heavier sport/tourer. You'll never fit better rubber to your bike. Btw, I'm a bike cop with 20+ years experience and insist on these tyres for my Blackbird and Police bike.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a Triumph Street Triple R (180/75 R17) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Great but do not heat up and give little feedback... BUT you do not need to know what it's doing as it just grips and grips... This is NOT a sport tyre, but far more wear and still the same lean angles just about and mega stopping power both wet and dry... Good control feels extremely hard compared to bt016 but nothing bad to say about them at all... Except your bike will feel faster and lighter but on a street triple it feels a little less sporty
0 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2012   
Given 100% while driving a Suzuki Bandit 1200 S (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Just fitted to my Bandit 1200S. Definitely best tyre I've ever used. Super confident in all weathers and much better on steering too. Bike turns quicker and more easily than on the previous Pilot Road 2's. Don't know about wear rate yet and would expect to wear quicker than the 2's but reading reviews leads me to hope for longer life. I do about 10000 miles a year as a bike trainer so good life is also important. Buy them - you won't regret the decision.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2012   
Given 94% while driving a Yamaha FZS 600 (160/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Have has these on for 8 months and 18,000 miles doing a mixture of riding, about 45% motorway, 30% town and 25% lanes. I am only now needing to replace the rear tyre, the front is probably good to do the same again. The only thing I found negative with these tyres is the amount of road noise and of course they are quite firm. But I guess this is the trade off for high milage.

Definately going to stick with these and have just bought a new rear tyre of the same type. If you do alot of commuting miles these are brilliant.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a BMW K1300R (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,213 spirited miles
Best compromised between grip/feedback/wear
0 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2012