Michelin Pilot Road 2

The Michelin Pilot Road 2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Road and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Road 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 81%
Wear 89%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 75%

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 108,000 miles driven.

The Pilot Road 2 is ranked 10th of 23 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Pilot Road 2
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Road 2
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Pilot Road 2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Road 2 Prices

Size Price Range  
120/70 R17 £76.20 - £76.29 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
160/60 R17 £96.99 - £97.00 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
180/55 R17 £103.70 - £103.79 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 5 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Road 2 Reviews

Given 99% while driving a Honda CBR1100XX (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Can only describe like riding on bubblegum. Soft and predictable handling in all conditions. I've pushed pilot road 2s on lots of bikes- CBRs, Aprillia v twins, big nakeds and my favourite CBR1100 Blackbird. Dry grip is more than my talent will allow and wet grip is awesome. I rode a big BMW from London to Devon in the snow not once worrying about grip. Wear is best I can find in any tyre. Cant recommend enough!
47 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2015   
Given 54% while driving a Triumph tiger 1050 (120/70 R17 W) on mostly town for 1,500 average miles
I have only had these for about 1,500 miles and this is their first winter. There is plenty of wear left on these but frankly when they're cold (5-0 C) they scare me shitless. Corners have to be taken tentatively as the front slides at any chance. Until they get warmed up they will track any deviations in the road. Awful. Will go back to bridgestones.
14 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2016   
Given 87% while driving a Honda ST1300 Pan Eoropean (170/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Brilliant at everything but picks up every - and I do mean every - possible puncture out there! And when they get a puncture, it's almost always at an angle so is irreparable. And don't think it was just bad luck.....I've had 9 rear punctures this year and only 2 of them could be fixed. Yes, that's right, I've had 7 pairs of tyres - both pilot road GT3's and 4's inside 1 year! Seeing as I do the same roads year in, year out and never had anything like these problems on other brands, I can only put the blame on the design.
Totally not cost-effective. Never again! Gone back to the much cheaper Avons.
7 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2015   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Road 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Road 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Road 2 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Road 2 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Yamaha FZ6 (120/70 R17) on mostly country roads for 13,000 average miles
I already have 13 thousand km done and they are very good, I do the national 118 from the port to Entre-os-rios.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2020   
Given 97% while driving a Suzuki GSR 600 (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I am a very spirited rider so do test the tyres a fair bit and it's an absolutely Stunning tyre. Always feel comfortable and in control.. No matter what lean angle or speed. I've done around 30k km on these tyres (2 sets) and I regularly ride 3 different bikes so we've go through quite a few different tyres.

These tyres by far offer the best grip and feedback.
2 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2015   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 73% while driving a Honda Honda motorcycle sp2 (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
I have these on my VTR1000F where they have done 11,000K. They are always solid but the back can move a bit. Best to just let it do its thing and it will usually settle down.
Only real complaint I have is that the front (120/70) is very noisy on the rougher road surfaces. Pressures 36/42.
I don't seem to be able to wear them out..
I have PR3 on the VTR1000 SP2 and they seem a bit more sticky but the front is more touchy in hot weather, when it tends to squirm under brakes.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2014   
Given 65% while driving a Triumph 1050 Sprint ST (180/55 R17 H) on mostly town for 4,000 spirited miles
Tyres are confidence inspiring. riding a 1050 Sprint st.
Wear is not particularly good but then I've never put racing tyres on
I think I underinflated them at just a bit above a car 32psi...say 36psi.
I've since checked and they are meant to be 42psi,(like hitchhikers guide 42) I wount forget that again.
All good on the stars but wtf is "Progressiveness" ? I figure its - how well the bike moves forwards, but isn't that just a function of grip of the tyre and the bike's power. If its anything to do with how new the design seems, then I'm lost on that one.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2013   
Given 97% while driving a Suzuki GSX 1300 RK4 Hayabusa (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I have a full power hayabusa that I ride on the limit the majority of the time. With these tyres I can use full acceleration on dry roads, no wheel spin, no scares. Great grip in the wet as well, alot better than the old battleaxe i have on my hornet. Wear on the michelin is great I do a lot of motorway miles as well and I dont seem to be able to wear the damn things done!!!!!!!!
0 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2013   
Given 97% while driving a Suzuki Bandit 1200 S (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
For a bike like Bandit 1200 S (2005) tires as Michelin PR2 are maybe the best in comparison of what you pay / what you get.
Yes, there is newer model (PR3) and most probably, those will be my next, but, not before this ones are not wasted. Before I drove on DUNLOP, and METZELER, also on my Suzi, but can freely say, no compression.
Dry grip unbeatable, not too many opportunities to drive on WET (like rain), but on freshly washed streets yes. Maybe it was up too me that in cornering I felt a bit of sliding, because my previous bike was gixxer.

All in all, YES, recommendation for everyone who has a tradition of Michelin and who uses big heavy bike.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2012   
Given 97% while driving a Kawasaki ZX6R (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 11,000 spirited miles
Have 11,000 miles on my zx6r and they still look great. I expect maybe 2000 more miles left until their toast. These are mainly used for commuting 40 miles round trip to work at 90mph-100mph on the freeway. I am definitely buying another set. 40psi front and 41 psi rear.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a Suzuki GsxR 600 (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Incredible Tyres, Riden hard on a GSXR 600 over country roads, motorway miles and 3 Trackdays these tyres are still strong and got plenty of mileage left.
Great grip in the dry, smooth and progressive. The 2CT compound gives soft shoulders and firm centre for brilliant wear.
Wet grip is brilliant, no aquaplaning, good footprint and even water dispersal.
Highly recommended! :)
0 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2012   
Given 87% while driving a BMW (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
I have done almost 5000 miles on my current Pilot Road 2s, I have got to say they are probably the best road tyre I have used. I have always found them very predictable on the road, and warm up really quickly, and they have only just started squaring off in the last 1000 miles. Previously I had Metzler Interact M5s which were garbage in the wet and wore out in about 2500 miles.
In fact the only downside is that they don't really like trackdays, and overheated fairly quickly.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2011   
Given 57% while driving a Kawasaki 650 Versys (160/60 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I bought a pair of these tyres in 2008 to replace my Bridgestone 020's as these were aparently the best sport touring tyres at the time. I did a couple of hundred miles to scrub them during July in the dry before I moved to Spain. They seemed to feel better than the 020's but wasn't sure about out right grip from the rear.
When I tried the bike on Spains scorching hot roads they were next to useless, I was losing the front at every roundabout and could barely use the throttle before the losing rear traction. After a few hundred miles I got a puncture in the front, so I swapped to my spare wheels which had some well used Dunlop 207rr's.
The Dunlops made the bike ride able again although the tarmac was noticeably less grippy than in England still, but at least the bike was safe again.
In 2010 back in England I got the bike out for a track day at Mallory during July on a hot summers day. Half way through the rear 207rr was shot and losing grip everywhere so I switched to the rear Pilot Road 2ct.
It was surprisingly good allowing me to scrape the peg around gerards at 110mph, so these tyres do work well at the right temperature.
I carried on using this rear tyre (allied to a pilot power front) this summer. It was fine for commuting to work at a sensible pace in all weathers but never felt good when cold.
On faster rides the rear would move around on colder days which was disconcerting at higher speeds. In the wet even on a warmer day it was a joke, the throttle needed careful control through every bend as it threatened to cause a highside on the 60hp versys.
I've owned many sportsbikes, raced a ZX10R and race a supermoto, I dread to think what this tyre would be like on anything with any power. Michelin Maccadams were always crap and the Pilot Roads are a progression of those rather than a decent tyre.
After 3000 miles the tyre showed little wear despite a few wheelies and a few quick rides, but it all ended when I was riding home in the wet one night. I went through a corner I'd been through hundreds of times much faster at about 70mph in 4th gear, I wound the throttle about a third of the way and it went sideways. I thought I was coming off as the bars crossed up, but thank fully as the throttle was shut (no choice when the bars are not under your control, I have highsided a couple of times)it calmed down. I know it wasn't oil or diesel because the front would have let go first (have crashed on diesel, nearly on oil too).
Needless to say it is going in the bin where it belongs, and I'll buy a proper tyre.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2011   
Given 94% while driving a Triumph tiger 1050 (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Best all-round tyres I have ever had on any bike! Plenty of grip dry or wet and lots of life. Still not squared off after 7000 miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 16, 2011   
Given 86% while driving a Triumph tiger 1050 (120/70 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Driving over 4,500 miles still has 3.5mm left has not gone square like last one,mostly two up on tiger 1050
0 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2011