Kawasaki ZX6R Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Kawasaki ZX6R.

Do you Drive a Kawasaki ZX6R? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a ZX6R better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Power GP (5) 98% 78% 92% 94% 90% 96%
Michelin Pilot Power 3 (5) 92% 82% 92% 92% 86% 88%
Dunlop Sportsmart (10) 93% 78% 89% 90% 82% 84%
Michelin Pilot Road 2 (15) 90% 80% 86% 81% 89% 85%
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (26) 86% 70% 75% 75% 88% 83%
Michelin Pilot Power 2CT (12) 91% 69% 84% 61% 76% 86%
Pirelli Dragon Supercorsa Pro (10) 97% 48% 90% 89% 55% 78%
Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact (6) 87% 68% 76% 65% 63% 78%
Pirelli Diablo Corsa III (10) 87% 68% 81% 65% 55% 75%
Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 (24) 72% 47% 63% 65% 51% 64%

Kawasaki ZX6R Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 2CT given 86% (180-55-17-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Just covered 3000 miles on this tyre and there unbelievable. Very sticky once warm. And incredible feed back
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-13 10:20:01
Writing about the Michelin Power GP given 93% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
Got these power gps fitted last week and we have had some dry roads so I took them for a full 2 day blast to see how they performed,
Initial ride was fantastic 100 miles in just shy of 2 hours and they were scrubbed in side to side, they warm up quick and offer amazing grip even in damp conditions even though they only have 6.5% tread on the face of the tyre, before these I was running on Michelin power rs. The predecessor of these and all I can say is I’m very impressed already and can not wait to get some 20+ degrees days to really warm them up properly and hammer them
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-15 12:01:58
Writing about the Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact given 87% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 miles
I bought the bike with metzeler sportec M3s on the from and the rear, the tyres were nearly new, I've ridden the bike for 3.000 miles sinse I had bought it and the rear tyre 180 55 17 has 1.4m of treat left on the center and 2-4mil going to the edges the tyres grip has been excellent on corners and setting off, once or twice I have had very small wheel spin setting off very quickly but as quick as I set off they were gripping, even with 1.4mil left they still have superb grip I don't go out a lot in the wet but when I did I had no problems with these tyres although these tyres are the M3s they do not make them anymore I have recently bought an M5 for my bike, I am sure his review is relevant as it's still the same tyre only an upgraded pattern so the M5s should be just as good if not better than my M3s even having a passenger the bike grips excellent on bends and stopping, they are priced right for what they give I've no problems with this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-19 13:32:35
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 77% (170-60-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
A lack of grip in the rear in severe rain alerted me to the fact the rear was close to the wear limit. Having checked the mileage the rear had done almost 12000 miles! The front has done 6000 miles and still has life left.

The tyres have served me well on a mixture of commuting and weekend rides. I did lose the front in rain under heavy braking but can I attribute that to the tyre? I don't think I can but how any other tyre may have handled the situation I can't answer. For the price and life these tyre are a good choice for sport touring.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-15 21:15:41
Writing about the Dunlop Sportsmart given 91% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Nearly 5000 miles on these tyres and Ive just gotten onto the wear bars. Very good even wear despite commuting for the first 3000 miles.

Extremely confident inspiring - 120mph knee drag and powerslides up to around 150mph. The tyre doesnt reach a "cliff" when grip runs out, instead it just taps you on the shoulder and gives you a quiet warning.

At the end of the tyres life, the grip doesnt just disappear, instead you start getting slides more frequently - I have had a few front end slides but more rear from early and abrupt throttle application.

These tyres really take a hammering and soak up bumps beautifully. These tyres also enable me to keep up with my buddy who uses D211 GP Racers
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-06 10:22:15
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 3 given 91% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Great all rounder. Very good dry grip both on the road and track. They also behave nicely in wet, but you need to keep your bike upright without silly lean angles, because those tyres are pretty much like slicks on the edges. Once you run out of the thread on the contact path it's not going to hold you in wet. For road use it's never going to be a problem, plenty of thread where it's needed.
After 6000 miles and 3 track days there is still some life in them left. After a few more track days this year I'll buy another set of Pilot Power 3 tyres. They do all that I need from motorcycle tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-10 22:25:46
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 2 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 11000 spirited miles
Have 11,000 miles on my zx6r and they still look great. I expect maybe 2000 more miles left until their toast. These are mainly used for commuting 40 miles round trip to work at 90mph-100mph on the freeway. I am definitely buying another set. 40psi front and 41 psi rear.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-24 18:52:16
Writing about the Pirelli Diablo Corsa III given 64% (170-55-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Ambivelent feelings on this. Better than most if the conditions are right but awful if not. If the weather is below 30'C and its dry you'll struggle to find a better tyre they're great. When its really hot tarmac the grip loses consitency and responsiveness for some reason but mid range dry waether they are AWESOME. In the wet they work at about 50% of what they can be which is a big difference if you ride in Britan all the time. Very comfortable and smooth, first knee down on this set (2000NINJA6R) but conditions have to be right and the WEAR IS TERRIBLE. Dont know eactly how many miles but they lasted me two-three months of 'spirited riding' to work and locally on a nice day which is half of what i got from contis + michellin
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-28 14:49:37
Writing about the Pirelli Dragon Supercorsa Pro given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have these on my zx6r road bike which are great for dry weather grip but living in the UK not so good because it rains too much,I will be putting them on my track bike and stick to an O16.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-22 12:32:10
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 given 34% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 spirited miles
i have only got 3500 miles out of these.. i didn't find them that great the grip was good in the dry but in the wet/damp it was almost non exetance causing alot of rear wheel spin causing the bike to step out some times espeshaly after heavy pull aways..
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-14 10:34:31
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 given 59% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
These tyres make you think too much which is not always a bad thing. However I will explain why these tyres are not good unless you a riding hard on a hot day or on the track.
The pro's.
High speed stability fantastic good grip levels and feel.
Wet grip is quite adequate for a supersport tyre.
Good dry grip levels when the tyre is warm to hot, the rear tyre is especially grippy.
The Con's.
poor wear rates compared to competitors tyres, front tyre gets chewed up easy and the rear will wear down in the centre too quickly. However it is possible to get over 2,000 miles of hardish riding on these which isnt terrible.
The grip is only in a narrow temperature range, too cold they have very poor grip especially the front is extremly slippy when not very warm at lest. Too hot and again they become slippy again. This is why I would not recommend these tyres. Say you got the tryes warm on a warmish day then you got stuck in traffic or slowed through a village or something or was on the motorway for a while. In this time the tyres are too cool again and the grip is not there. I find the grip is never there when you need it only when you start riding hard for longperiods does the tyre become good and then if it gets too hot...annoying. Will be getting Dunlop sportmax D209's next time.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-03 23:45:39
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 89% (160-60-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
Excellent tyres, especially on a sports 600.
Warm up quickly and grip brilliantly in both the wet and dry, had them on the edge in the wet loads of times now and they're so confidence inspiring.
There are other sport touring tyres out there that I'd like to try but for now these will be my first choice having tried the BT021 and rate the Avon Storm 2 Ultras much much higher in all respects so far.
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-24 00:37:02
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre