Bridgestone Battlax BT 023

The Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 90%
Wear 89%
Comfort 92%
Buy again 91%

Tyre review data from 44 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 191,650 miles driven.

The Battlax BT 023 is ranked 3rd of 30 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
180/55 R17 73W          
120/70 R17 58W          
150/70 R17 69W          

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023

2016-04-30 - Hi there I have a BT-023 Battlax 160/60 rear tire. What pressure should I run at with a passenger (gross weight of the two of us is 160kg)?. My bike is a 650 verysy KLE

Unfortunately we're unable to give marque specific tyre pressures. The rear load pressure of your bike will be set by the bike manufacturer, not the tyre so it should be available in your handbook.


2017-09-02 - What does the 'G' mean? ie- BT023 G

The G is the OE marking.


2018-04-27 - Hello, For the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 GT, dim: 180/55 R17, on a Thunderace, what would be the maximum lean angle possible before losing grip? Where can I find this and others information for this tyre?

Unfortunately I do not have access to this information, I would suggest speaking directly to Yamaha for maximum lean angles.


2020-06-14 - How much traction does it have? Is it a good tyre to use to wheelie?

The Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 will certainly provide enough grip to wheelie!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 Reviews

Given 98% while driving a Suzuki Gsx650FK8 (160/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 100 miles
I have used Pirelli Angels on all of my last bikes. Put these on and Wow they are fantastic. Tipping in , stability is great. In places where the Pirellis was getting unstable these are just planted. Bumps that caused problems with the Pirellis have gone great tyre.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Yamaha MT09 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Got them on my MT-09 and i love the tyres and i would definitely buy them over the Michelin Road 5 as for me they seem much better than the Michelin Road 5.
Helpful 73 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2019
Given 74% while driving a Yamaha Aprilia rsv4 factory (180/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,500 average miles
These tires came fitted as standard on my Yamaha FJR. I noted in 2023 these tires are not the latest in technology but nevertheless quite impressed with it. I frequently use the bike on commutes of up to 200km a day and most of that commute on a highway. Even when the weather gets rough, it has proven to be a capable tire. Took it on several long tours and after about 12,000km, it started to become more wobbly. Especially bad when you have one hand on the wheel. It would regain its composure after having 2 hands on the handle.

After 10 months, 16,837km, later the rear tires were well worn to the point I can see wires. This is not bad considering it is not a GT spec. I felt it was more wobbly than ever just before the end of its life. I decided to replace them with Michelin Road 6 GTs. Boy, those are a whole new level. Initial impressions were it felt stickier in corners and more keen to carve corners.

Overall, I rated the Bridgestones highly but knowing T32s are out there, my money would be going to the T32s over BT023.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2023
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 >

Latest Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 Reviews

Given 98% while driving a Suzuki Gsx650FK8 (160/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 100 miles
I have used Pirelli Angels on all of my last bikes. Put these on and Wow they are fantastic. Tipping in , stability is great. In places where the Pirellis was getting unstable these are just planted. Bumps that caused problems with the Pirellis have gone great tyre.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2023
Given 96% while driving a (180/55 R17) on for 0 miles
Have clocked12500km on the K1300GT in 14 months, great wear,(front and rear) can go to the edge either side with confidence. I don’t run the bike with panniers only a top box n roll bag if over nighting. Have done both winter and summer seasons, replaced with 190/50zr/17, won’t know the difference for a while but so far the 190 has not changed the bike, still rolls into the bends
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 96% while driving a (180/55 R17) on for 0 miles
Have clocked12500km on the K1300GT in 14 months, great wear,(front and rear) can go to the edge either side with confidence. I don’t run the bike with panniers only a top box n roll bag if over nighting. Have done both winter and summer seasons, replaced with 190/50zr/17, won’t know the difference for a while but so far the 190 has not changed the bike, still rolls into the bends
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2021
Given 97% while driving a Honda CB600FA Hornet (180/55 R17 W) on mostly town for 500 average miles
Upgraded the factory BT 016 with these BT 023 tyres on my 2010 Hornet and I have been blown by the improvement and great feedback. Indeed some amazing choice.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2019
Given 87% while driving a Kawasaki ZZR1400 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I'm definitely not one for straight lining and enjoy putting my bike through it's paces. I've heard of higher mileage than my 2,500, but can't fathom how or why. Maybe it's just me, but for a big,heavy bike with huge amounts of power on tap. I think anywhere around 3,000 miles from a rear tyre is good going, much more than that and you're not doing it right. They came on the bike, I replaced them with the same and will be going there again. Tried and tested.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2018
Given 93% while driving a Suzuki Gladius SFV650 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
I purchased these tyres to replace the nasty factory rubber that came with my bike and they are a treat. Loads of grip for my use (commuting, country roads and motorway miles), loads of life as I bought a pair of these tyres together 21 months ago, the front is about 75% worn and the rear has just touched the TDIs. Just about to purchase a new rear as we speak as they offer exceptional milage and the wet weather grip out lasts my ability and confidence.
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2017
Given 90% while driving a (180/55 R17 R) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Had various tyres on my FJR1300. I ride 12 months a year and clock up 2K a month average! People stick with what they like. For me, these are great tyres for a sport tourer. They give grip in the dry and in the wet they have never let me down (I take it steady in the wet!!) I can feel the road and flicking up and down at roundabouts is no problem. They feel good on motorways and A/B roads. The mileage is fantastic giving me 7500+ out of a back tyre with plenty of straight line miles. You can of course have fun with them on normal roads also. I have tried plenty of other brands but these keep their shape for longer-give great mileage and I trust them. I would recommend them to other sport tourer riders
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2017
Given 69% while driving a Honda CB600F FA ABS (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 18,000 spirited miles
I have one of these fitted to the rear of my Honda CB600 F8 Hornet since late summer, after high recommendation from my local garage (did they know i'd be back?).

I ride all year-round and already (November) find it to slip and slide in wet and cold weather conditions without too much persuasion (not the most confidence inspiring).

Having said that it's decent in the dry, leans very well, feels very smooth.

I previously had a Pilot Road 3 fitted which I now want back ideally before it gets much colder. It didn't have any of the above issues (ridden through minus temps), fantastic tyres without drawback.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2016
Given 61% while driving a Suzuki Gsx650FK8 (160/60 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I will never buy again these tires, brodgestone battlax bt023, when i have bought my motorcycle it came with battlax bt021, no grip on these tires, than i have changed to dunlop roadsmart sportmax, awesome tires, makes my gsx650fk8 awesome, very good handling and a lot of grip on the edges and on wet asphalt. But on battlax bt023 you have no grip on dry asphalt on asphalt painnt, and when it's raining you have no grip at all, just rev my motorcycle in 2nd speed at 7000 rpm and back wheel starts spining, with dunlop i should rev it to 10-11000 rev to spin my back tire. I will never buy bridgestone tires, dunlop and michelin are kings of the roads.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on June 16, 2016
Given 47% while driving a Honda VFR 800 (180/55 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 4,000 spirited miles
New pair came fitted to my VFR800 and I was disappointed almost all round. Dry grip was good but I'm not the knee down sort of guy! I do lots of upright motorway/A road stuff and rear tyre squared in a instant. I ride 365 days a year and pride myself on wet riding skills (you get a lot it practice in England) but these let me down big time. I have lots of wheel spin when on the power and they are quite vague and uninspiring.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2015
Given 89% while driving a Suzuki SV650S (160/60 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
I had these fitted on My SV650S and they were great. Very good in the wet with a lot of confidence in even torrential downpours. Good in the dry but not a sports tyre though they did give lots of feedback before they would slide. Good warm up times even on very cold days and even in the wet. Easy enough dry grip for knee down antics and a good neutral turn in that was nice and progressive. I will fit these as a good all purpose tyre to my blade ready for the winter knowing that they will last till the next summer.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2015
Given 77% while driving a Suzuki GSF 650 S (160/60 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 4,500 average miles
I'm really satisfied with the bT 023, but with only 7000 km (around 4500 miles)they show an inusual transversal "steps" in the sides of the tyre. I must say the bike is always heavily charged, so maybe that's why this happens. Having this unusual thing makes me lose confidence, and I expect tyres to last around 12000 km (around 7500 miles), the previous ones (BT 021) lasted 11000 (7000 miles).
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2014