Kawasaki ZZR1400 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Kawasaki ZZR1400.

Do you Drive a Kawasaki ZZR1400? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a ZZR1400 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 (38) 92% 85% 89% 89% 89% 92%
Metzeler SPORTEC M7 RR (9) 92% 82% 83% 88% 79% 91%
Michelin Pilot Road 4 (15) 89% 85% 82% 78% 84% 86%
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (26) 86% 70% 75% 75% 88% 83%
Continental ContiRoad Attack (11) 83% 72% 83% 79% 84% 83%
Bridgestone Hypersport S20 EVO (1) 100% 90% 100% 100% 30% 90%
Bridgestone S20 (11) 88% 78% 81% 87% 52% 80%
Metzeler Roadtec Z8 Interact (8) 79% 68% 70% 64% 83% 76%
Bridgestone Battlax BT 014 (3) 83% 80% 63% 70% 43% 70%
Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S20 (14) 74% 61% 67% 68% 30% 57%

Kawasaki ZZR1400 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Metzeler SPORTEC M7 RR given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
FFF model 15 plate zzr14
2nd set of these very good tyres that i would recommend.M7RR F & R
they warm up quickly and give good feedback in all conditions - total trust in the front as well in all conditions..
I run full power and keep the traction KTRC in the 1 position.
I keep the tyres at the recommended 42 front n rear. you can feel the difference if they are down in pressure with the turn in.
Generally get approx 3000 miles out of the back with a bit more on the front is capable but change them together at the same time due to the speed n all - best to stay safe with the tread!....especially due to what happens with the right wrist. the bike is awesome- recommend it to everyone.
I feel a lot better on these than the original S20's she came on - a noticeable step up in performance and longevity even tho I do lets say spirited riding constable in the corners n straights
I was pleasantly surprised how well these last - and of course got again - pricey i know but worth it.
My tyre dealer insists that I should be running mich power 3's but he is a michelin man.
he says these are sports tyres and not recommended but i am very comfortable with them
I used to ride BT023's on my 08 zzr14 that were fine, a great tyre but the 14 needs more and i still feel these metz M7rr are a good measure above
hope this helps as I always look to hear what other nutters are running as well
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-14 16:54:34
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I'm definitely not one for straight lining and enjoy putting my bike through it's paces. I've heard of higher mileage than my 2,500, but can't fathom how or why. Maybe it's just me, but for a big,heavy bike with huge amounts of power on tap. I think anywhere around 3,000 miles from a rear tyre is good going, much more than that and you're not doing it right. They came on the bike, I replaced them with the same and will be going there again. Tried and tested.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-16 20:12:19
Writing about the Bridgestone S20 given 69% (190-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1800 spirited miles
A great tyre if you can bear the frequent replacement costs.
Rear gone after 1700 miles and front getting there.
Excellent dry and wet grip and reasonable feedback although on poor road surfaces the feedback wasn't as good.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-11 08:38:06
Writing about the Bridgestone Hypersport S20 EVO given 77% (190-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1600 spirited miles
S20 EVO is an absolutely brilliant tyre for confidence & feedback but unfortunately not for any decent mileage on a heavy hypersports bike like the ZZR. Got 1600mls from new which included (sort of!) running it in. Could have probably got another 1,000 mls out of it but changed it for a fresh one to do a Spanish trip. New tyre lasted 10 days/2000 mls on mostly mountain roads with near perfect wear from edge to edge. Amazing tyre for fun but not miles. Replaced with a pair of T30R's
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-09 09:12:58
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 4 given 80% (190-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 spirited miles
Tyres are really good in general use. However, you need to be careful for the first hundred miles or so as the tread has little grip (wet or dry) until roughed up.
On tyre life I got about the same life as PR3s when Michelin advertise it should be more.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-26 22:09:32
Writing about the Metzeler Roadtec Z8 Interact given 67% (190-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3 spirited miles
My 2012 ZZR1400 had these tyres on when I bought it last yeaar and were not brand new. I have done 3,500 miles including two up trips and quick road riding and they still have 4mm of tread on so they're lastin well for a big powerful bike. They struggle on colder, damp roads when in lower gears (even with middle traction control mode selected) but that's probably the big torque of the bike - nothing to worry you mind. My only critisim is a lack of feel from the front at town speeds - mini-roundabouts and the like. Think I'll go for some Bridgestones next as I know that they'll sacrifice some tyre wear but I should have a more sporty ride with better feal
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-21 11:57:24
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S20 given 88% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1800 spirited miles
2200 (s)miles Inc running bike in. Fantastic fast road tyre. Gives so much confidence. Handles the extreme torque of the ZZR14 with ease. Expensive tyre but worth every penny. Have replaced with the same.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-11 10:55:22
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax Hypersport S20 given 79% (190-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3740 average miles
I have had these tyres since the bike (ZZR1400 2013)was new a year ago. Have now covered 3740 miles, this has included running in period and touring France with some very aggressive riding. Both hero bobs on foot pegs have been ground away indicating level of grip when riding through bends (Love the Napoleon way awesome). I am now going to buy my second pair (always replace front with rear).
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-26 01:30:02
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 89% (190-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Said I would never buy avon tyres don't now why but I always did,
anyway I bought a zzr1400 two years ago with them on, and I will be replacing them with the same tyre storm ultra 2, how wrong was I,
I am now going to feel like a fool by saying mine have done 12,000 on both, up to now and still going looks like another 2,000 left in them crazy I know,
and I do ride as the zzr14 wants to be ridden hard most of the time, I have had not issue's with the storm 2 in the wet or dry that any other tyre would not have done, recently I have been up and down motorways the rear has squared off, but all tyres do that, I am more than happy with these tyres I tell it as it is and I am no dreamer.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-03 09:47:56
Writing about the Bridgestone S20 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2800 spirited miles
It take a little while to get to know this tyre but once you know it its a fantastic tyre. It is very progressive and you can feel when the back is starting to break away into a controllable drift during maximum lean. I've not felt any sliding on the front tyre as of yet, just grip, grip and more grip.

The only thing that could be improved is the wear. I went through my first back tyre in 1600 miles which also included running the bike in from new. However the 2013 ZZR1400 puts down an awful lot of power and I use most of it quiet often. I have now covered 2700 miles on the front and it has about a quarter left on it.

I do think I will buy another set of these tyres next time as you can't put a value on your life and these tires grip so well given the nature of the bike they are fitted to.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-17 18:12:12
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre