Michelin Pilot Road 4

The Michelin Pilot Road 4 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

Tyre review data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 82,115 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 1st.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 78%
Wear 79%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 82%

The Pilot Road 4 is ranked 16th of 30 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Road 3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Road 5.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

1st

Average Result

1st

Latest Tyre Test Results

2014 Motorrad Premium Touring Motorcycle Tyre Test
1st of 7 tyres
  • In bad weather Michelin riders have always have good cards. The new Road 4 shows, as expected, no weaknesses
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Road 4

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Pilot Road 4. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Road 4 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Kawasaki ZZR1400 (190/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
Tyres are really good in general use. However, you need to be careful for the first hundred miles or so as the tread has little grip (wet or dry) until roughed up.
On tyre life I got about the same life as PR3s when Michelin advertise it should be more.
Helpful 146 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2016
Given 76% while driving a Yamaha YZF 600r (160/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Pilot Road 4 know to wiggle and slip somethimes before and in the corner on 10-20 degree lean angle or,when you cross the road white line and similar situations and this is something that you must accept and adapt. Wet grip and dry grip is decent but,on trackday if you are slow or medium slow driver,anything faster above that will cause rear wheel to slip. Response is okay,they biggest advantage is longevity and its good for touring and commuting. You can enjoy in the curves but easy on the throttle. Someting i notice is that they wear nice and gradualy from 100% to 30% and they can run for about 12.000km like that, after they reach 30% of tread they wear faster so i think they maximum is about 14.000km. The price is pretty high so i dont recommend it just beacause,there are similar tires with identical characteristic that are cheaper. I ride my motorcycle in Europe where climate is not harsh,mostly during summer and i tryed this tyres in all situations,they said Road 4 is multi purpose tire,i said " For casualy riding,touring and commuting,not so sporty" One more thing,on hot summer day like 30degree outside this tires know to slip when you accelerate,not always but somethimes when you want to lauch the rocket on the straight line,you know what i mean and this dissapoints me a little bit. If the touring and longevity is important to you then consider this tire.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2023
Given 61% while driving a Honda CB1300 (120/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
On the same bike, a CB1300s, I managed 10,000 miles on the previous tyres. Two Pilot 4 were fitted and after 2000 miles the front tyre has had an advisory about being worn out on the MoT.. I regularly check tyre pressures and drive it mainly in town sedately.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2021
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Road 4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Road 4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Road 4 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Road 4 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Triumph Speed Triple (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I can't fault these tyres in the rain, they grip well and never slip. In the dry, i feel like they messesd with the handling of the bike. I spent hours trying to adjust my suspension to get the bike to handle right, changed out my tyres for bridgestone s22 and all the problems went away. The front of the PR4 feels like its always gonna wash out if you put any pressure on them, but the rear felt grippy wet or dry but still a bit skittish. Are the tyres good? In my opinion if you commute the same route through traffic everyday they are perfect. But if you bought your bike to have fun and want to experience what it can do then get the type of tyre your bike was designed with. I think all these people saying PR4 have more grip than you can use on the street maybe right, as long as you realise you won't feel confident leaning the bike no matter how much grip the advertising says you will have.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on August 14, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Suzuki GSX S1000 (190/50 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Used on a Suzuki gsx s1000 for approximately 2000 miles for touring duties and weekend fun. Replaced the awful in the wet factory Dunlops. Dry grip: is quite good for what the tyre is designed for. They will slip a little on their side if provoked but are progressive and controlled. Wet: what this tyre excells at and probably the best you'll buy, no issues. Handling: The steering is neutral. Feedback: Not the best on warm days as the tread pattern causes movement. Braking: just for comparison i tested against a triumph Street triple 765rs wearing super corsa sp from 60-0mph full abs at 20c tyres warmed to road temperature. On both occasions there was no notable difference between the two for braking on dry tarmac at least. Wear: Started with 6.7mm and is now sitting at 5mm at the rear after 2000 miles. Good choice if you don't like replacing tyres often. Conclusion: A tyre well suited for UK climate and probably all the tyre you will need. However on replacement i will go for a sportier Michelin for better feedback and quicker steering.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 23, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Suzuki 2000 vatari jx2.0 (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
A very good tyre. Predictable in the wet and dry. Inspires confidence with the excellent grip levels at hand.
The wear rates are quite good, but the edges seemed to wear quicker than the middle section which was a little too hard for my liking. I would buy them again and I feel they last longer than the newer Pilot Road 5 tyres.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2D Sport (225/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 1,500 spirited miles
Bought these to replace original fit Bridgestone toranza fitted to Mazda 6 touring. They have transformed the cornering and wet handling giving a much more assured, confident feel.
Do a lot of motorway miles where these tyres have improved directional stability with the car less likely to track and wonder in the inside lane.
High price but hopefully will be rewarded with better wear life along with the handling benefits.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2019
BMW (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Uk Review K1300r
Bought these a year ago and loved the wet grip. A really good tyre with half decent wear about 3.5- 4k miles on a rear. The downside is the tyres are really slippery when new and need a lot of careful bedding in. Also don't by them before winter because although the wet weather performance is amazing, when you start leaning over in the summer you'll find they're even more slippery than before. No high speed cornering as soon as you get into that unused edge it'll start to walk and not in a nice easy way. Even at 30mph throwing it round some tight corners I had to stamp my foot down to stop the bike sliding. Not a pleasant experience on a heavy bike. A great shame as their overall performance is good. Maybe buy them in summer to wear the edges down then enjoy the ride all year round in all weathers.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2019
Given 87% while driving a Toyota Yaris (205/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 1,300 average miles
Indonesian Review !!!
Got 4 sets of new Pilot Sport 4...
The OEM fitted was Bridgestone Turanza ER33 for 4 years, this tyre absolutely rubbish.. when I drove in rainy season, this tyre can not handle wet condition and the aquaplaning is really bad (absolutely bad). When ER33 was fitted, the biggest problem is understeer since my car is FWD. it lost grip when I entered corners because my house is in plateau area which built with many corners.
the OEM fitted was 195/50R16.... therefore, for better cornering I chose wider tyres than the OEM fitted. So, I went for 205/50ZR16 for Michelin Pilot Sport 4 with OEM wheels.
The difference is really big !, the first time I drove the car when it came out from the tire workshop is absolutely amazing. The steering feel is pretty surprising because it felt lighter and easy to turn.
When I was entering corners, it gripped really well. So, it was easy to came out the corner. The breaking distance is really well. I know I'd never measured the breaking distance when I use ER33 but PS4 is much much better.
I thought since it's sport tyre, the compound will be hard and harsh when it hits speed bumps or uneven road surface, but it feels good or much better than ER33 (with soft compound) because Michelin mixed the compound for better performance for daily driving.
Since, I get this PS4 in dry season, I could not review when it hits wet road. Hopefully, I can give next review when it comes to rainy season...
I totally recommend this Michelin PS4 for you guys who drive sedan, hatchback or even MPV. Try this Michelin PS4 and you will never get upset and makes your old tyre rubbish.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2018
Given 91% while driving a Honda Motorcycle CB1300 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
Great tyres for UK or wet weather, but also fantastic on dry roads. I now only get Michelin Pilot Road 4 because they last me long enough giving me confidence on wet roads. My bike is quite heavy and tyres do get squared off due to lack of bendy roads, but that's not the fault of tyres.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2017
Given 67% while driving a Ducati Monster 821 (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Tyres been used on a Monster 821.. huge torque so didn't expect much life but they're dead after 5000miles.
I commute all year round in the Lake District, they grip pretty well in all conditions but they do move around an awful lot in the wet compared to the pirellis that were on there from factory and the Metzeler M5 interacts I had fitted to my previous bike. They wore much better than the Rosso 2 on the front, the rear is about the same.

They offer reasonable feedback and reasonable warm up in cold weather and wet roads, clear water well but doesn't inspire confidence and is a little slower to respond though this could be down to pressures or suspension. Rear traction is where these fall fowl as even with a small throttle input they still spin up over bumps, drains etc.

Also until they're bedded in they border on being leathal on anything but a dry road.

I wouldn't buy them again as that simple aren't as good as the Metzeler M5s which didn't even break loose in the snow on the up a 20% gradient.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2017
Given 76% while driving a Kawasaki z1000 (195/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I've been riding road bikes since I was 18yo Im now 54 so I have a lot of experience on this.
These are brilliant tyres for a tourer or a commuter that does a lot of miles but also gets out into the twisties to have some fun.
Once warm they do grip brilliantly for a tyre with an expected life on a 1000cc bike of over 18000klm
I have these on the rear of my Kawasaki Ninja 1000abs ( z1000sx) and have screwed them nicely for the past 12000klm since the bike was new. they only have about 2000klm left now but still grip well but are feathered up quite bad due to the severe cramp I seem to get in my right wrist from time to time
Recommend these? Yes in a heart beat... but my next set will be Metzler M7RR's I think for more grip.

Have a nice day.
From the land of OZ.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2017
Given 86% while driving a Kawasaki zx12r (190/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I've ridden 50.000miles (no commuting) on my 12, which I have owned for 12 years. I have fitted Dunlop 207, Avon Storm 2, Metzeler Sportec M5, Maxxis M6029 Supermaxx, CST C6577 Adreno (shock/horror), Bridgestone BT014, BT021, BT023, and Continentals, all ranging from 1500 miles to 3500 miles out of a rear tyre, using two rears to one front. But the Michelin Pilot Road 4's have managed 5800 miles out of a rear on both occasions I have used them, and are my favorite choice of tyre at the moment.

Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2017
Given 80% while driving a Triumph tiger 1050 (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,800 average miles
Dry & wet grip is quite good clears the water fine according to my pal following behind. The front is wearing out faster then the rear but I've never had more than 7k'ish miles before from any year, currently on 8,800, should be good for 10k I'd guess. Comfort is on a par with similar top of the range st tyres.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2017
Given 93% while driving a BMW bmw (180/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Absolute fantastic tyre I have ever used indeed. Very grippy on curve especially mountain ride.

Wonderful tyre.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2016