Michelin Road 5

The Michelin Road 5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 86,600 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 80%
Wear 83%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 76%

The Road 5 is ranked 11th of 30 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Road 4 and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Road 6.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

5th

Worst Result

5th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Motorcycle Sports Touring Tyre Test
5th of 6 tyres
  • The Road 5 makes the bike light to steer, nimble and accurate. They make direction changes easy and it feels like you can place the bike anywhere you want, with great confidence even from cold. Very stable at lower speeds but w hen riding quickly they felt a bit overwhelmed by the weight of the BMW.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Road 5

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Road 5

2022-12-01 - Do you do a road pilot 4/5.19inch rear motor cycle tyre.

Sorry, we don't sell tyres. If you contact Michelin directly they should be able to tell you the full range of the Michelin Road 5.


2024-06-02 - How can the road 5s have a higher dry grip percentage than the power 5?

The user reviews are based on people's personal experiences, not comparative test data. While the power 5 and road 5 will be close in the dry, you're right the power 5 will have more grip once warm.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Road 5 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a (190/55 R17) on for 0 miles
Have these on my Bking and my X11 commuter. Great all round tyre that doesnt fall short in any direction.
Helpful 124 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2018
Given 47% while driving a BMW R1200GS (145/70 R17 R) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
I drive all year and have over the years climbed through the ranks from nameless tires via Anakee II, to Pilot Road 4, to Road 5.
I loved the PR4 and believed the wined and dined reporters initial reviews that the Road 5 would be better. It is not!
If I am honest it is on par with the road driving capabilities of the Anakee II, which is not a touring road tire. But it claims to be, and it should be, better than the PR4. And therefor I can not state other than that this is the worst tire I have owned. I feel it struggle for grip in the dry, in the wet it is worse, it slides/ steps off all the seems and blemishes in the road, and it wears way quicker than promised. It is also the tire that made me slide on my **s in a slight drizzle coming off a roundabout (yes tires were warm, tires driven in for 1500km, smooth acceleration, being an all season driver for 10 years this was my first slide). After this I have been analysing the tire for about 5 months to give an honest review and not an angry rant. But in all fairness for the price and the quality it claims it should have, this is an awful tire. I would, and have, adviced people against buying it. And after this I will go either back to PR4 or Anakee III, but never to Road 5. Michelin, your Road 5 is bad and you should feel bad.
Helpful 81 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2019
Given 93% while driving a (190/50 R17) on for 0 miles
Only problem is punctures 1 a few months ago and a double puncture last week all repaired but ordered Road pilot 6`s hopefully I won`t be so unlucky as otherwise I love your tires.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2023
Have you driven on the Michelin Road 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Road 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Road 5 >

Latest Michelin Road 5 Reviews

Given 64% while driving a Kawasaki Z900r (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I was loving these tyres for their feel and phenomenal grip, unfortunately I hit a pothole at 110 kmh on a straight bit of road, i rode one for about 100km before it let go in a big way, i was very lucky to stay on, it had only done 4000km at the time. What was very strange about this was the cut in the tyre, it was around 90mm long across the tyre and looked like it had been sliced with a very sharp knife and very clean. I guess I'll never know if the pothole caused this or a fault with the tyre but I don't think I'll risk them again.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Kawasaki z1000 (190/70 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Have had road 3’s, 4’s and now the 5’s. In the wet i feel safe and have a heap trust in the traction. In the dry, I tip it in and don’t ever think about the possibility of traction letting go, and no, I don’t have chicken strips left. I trust my tires more than my girlfriend! Hahaha. The dual compound edges get soft and melty on warm and cold days, and have always served me well. I’ll never buy another brand.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 62% while driving a Yamaha XJ6 (120/70 R17) on mostly town for 1,400 easy going miles
Very light and manoeuvreable in warm and dry conditions, but overrated considering these are claiming to be designed with wet weather in mind, these are by far the most unpredictable and slippery tyres I've owned. I can't wait to get these off.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2022
Given 70% while driving a Honda VFR 800 (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I really liked these tyres and bought several pairs before having to ditch them altogether They’re very sticky, confidence inspiring in wet weather, great profile leading to sharp response when cornering The major issue I’ve encountered is they puncture very easily, I believe this is due to the wide sipes leaving a lot of thin soft carcass exposed and vulnerable As much as I love them I had to ditch them after averaging a puncture every 1000 miles Lots of my riding pals have had the same issue, a great shame
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Triumph 1050 Sprint ST (180/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Been superb in all conditions. Love them, they transformed the bike.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on July 12, 2021
Kawasaki (190/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
Fitted for about a year, around 600 miles and picked up a nail,.tyre not repairable. Expected much more robustness for the money.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Suzuki DL1000 VStrom (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,700 average miles
Fitted a set at 4500 miles. Have done two long trips in France, Spain and Portugal in very mixed weather. The tyres have been faultless transforming the handling. My companions were also using Road 5s and would not ride on any other tyre. Currently on 13200 miles with plenty left on the front and about 1000 on the rear. An excellent tyre that matches the DL 1000s characteristics perfectly.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2020
Given 100% while driving a (160/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Unbelievable tyres. In fact I literally mean that. They’ve somehow combined dry grip of track tyres with magical wet grip that’s just as good! I think because they use different compounds for the centre and edges of the tyre. Which leads on to how they last so long. I did about 6000 miles on them and they only seemed half done when I sold my bike. This included on the autobahn and a mixture of country roads. Never had a flat centre on the tyre. And never slipped on the edge at all
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2020
Given 86% while driving a Honda VFR 800 (180/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,500 spirited miles
On a VFR800 for 7500 miles: rear still had 2.5mm usable tread (est 5k miles), front was down to wear bars on LHS. Excellent tyre, never skipped a beat wet or dry, steering felt fine at all times. I will defintely buy again (having tried PR1 3 times and PR3 once, avoided PR4). It always used to be that rears wore quicker than front, but not now? Dual rubber construction very visible on rear tyre when worn (need a photo), makes it look like something is wrong. Better than all the other tyres I have tried on this bike: BT-020, Avon Storm, Conti-Motion (yuk), except perhaps the PR3.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2020
Given 78% while driving a Honda CB400SF (160/60 R17 W) on mostly town for 1,000 easy going miles
I live in Singapore, a country with a tropical climate and high humidity, and lots of torrential rains. It is a very small island-like country that mostly communes about 30km at a stretch and rarely above 40km in one go. My bike only weighs about 200+kg. Climate usually above 30-degree Celcius all year round. My average speed in the expressways usually around 80km/h to 100km/h. For dry grip when compared to the Pilot Power 2CT, this tyre is not as grippy or as comfortable. The sense of confidence to ride this in dry conditions is just normal, nothing impressive. Tyre seems to warm up slowly in the dry weather. However, once the rain starts pouring, there seems to be no difference in traction loss at all when compared to Pilot Power 2CT. The tyre feels as if I am still riding in dry conditions and it is really so amazing, totally no difference! This tyre really gives the confidence and sense of safety. Even during hard braking in the heavy rain, it is astonishing to see the performance is no difference as compared to riding in the dry conditions! Amazing Technology and Innovation from Michelin! This tyre is really a miracle, a gift from God! In my opinion, I highly recommend this tyre to be the one-tyre-do-all dry/wet for all motorbikes in Singapore.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2020
Given 67% while driving a (180/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
This is a soft tyre that has excellent levels of grip. Unfortunately, that's all I can say, in any positive way. These are horrible tyres when it comes to puncture resistance and longevity. The carcass is so soft, that any small nail or piece of metal will in all likelihood puncture the tyre. This does not bode well for road side fixes like tubeless plugs, nor for more permanent internal patches. I had a tubless plug spat out of this tyre that lead to a sudden deflation. Never in 30 plus years of riding and driving has this happened. When the tyre was removed and a mushroom style plug fitted, it failed to inflate. The carcass is so soft it would not vulcanise properly. The proof of this was the ease in which the tyre could be mounted on the rim with hand tools. Never again will I buy anything made by Michelin. This is a poor wearing tyre that lasted only 6000km whilst the Pilot 4s I had fitted previously lasted over 15000km. I'll stick with Japanese manufactured tyres from now on.
Helpful 53 - tyre reviewed on July 21, 2020
Given 91% while driving a Honda CBR 600F4i (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Amazing wet grip, feels in it s element, Gives such a safe feeling, very good handling, look amazing, great wear, Love them.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2020