Dunlop RoadSmart III

The Dunlop RoadSmart III is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

This tyre replaced the Dunlop RoadSmart II.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 92%
Wear 92%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 91%

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 91% over 41,506 miles driven.

The RoadSmart III is ranked 2nd of 23 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Motorcycle Sports Touring Tyre Test - 2nd of 6 tyres

  • Overall - Linear and progressive, with a neutral feel. Super accurate with perfect tracking. Not quite as good from cold as the Metzelers, but once there's a tiny bit of heat, they're great. Good over bumps, but quite a firm ride overall.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
120/70 R17 58W          

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop RoadSmart III

2016-09-21 - I have a Kawasaki Versys 650 (2016) and looking to replace my rear tyre (Currently D222 Sportmax), what would be my best options? I will occasionally use on wet but mostly dry road conditions.

If you're looking at Dunlop tyres for mostly dry riding, the SportSmart range is worth looking at. The Michelin Pilot Road range is another well regarded alternative to the Roadsmart.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


RoadSmart III Prices

Size Price Range  
180/55 R17 £139.80 - £139.89 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
190/50 R17 £138.10 - £138.19 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
190/55 R17 £141.30 - £141.39 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 14 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Dunlop RoadSmart III Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Kawasaki z1000 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Have to say I've always run Dunlop Sport Smarts so was interested to see what these were like compared to the old tyres. Have to say that they have not disappointed.

Plenty of grip (well enough for my riding abilities) and haven't let go once. There was a little slide in sketchy conditions a few weeks ago, going from dry road to wet and then back to dry travelling at dry road speeds. They recovered well and gave good drive.

Tyres warm up well and have a good amount of edge grip.

I've got these on my ZZR1400 as well but that will be used on my upcoming trip to the Isle of Man. Must say, I am really looking forward to running them over the Mountain section of the course!
60 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2016   
Given 86% while driving a (180/55 R17) on for 0 miles
Follow up from earlier review of RS3 on my BMW F800GT

The front RS3 was replaced at 6,000km. I was expecting more km's but maybe this was in part down to the front suspension not working ideally. Replaced with Metzeler Z8 and at 5,600km it's nearly shot.
The rear was replaced at 13,000km.
Both tyres should have been replaced 1,000km's before they were.

The rear performed impeccably, even on wet dirty roads and was very reassuring. Got the most km's out of any rear tyre i have used before.
Now trying Metzelers new Interact 01. If this tyre is not as good with similar longevity, back to the RoadSmart 3.

Would happily fit RS3's again and can recommend them, and they are the cheapest of the 'known brand' tyres of this S/T category.
16 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2016   
Given 97% while driving a (190/50 R17) on for 0 miles
The tires I have experienced long term on both my gsxr1000's covering a total distance of 230,000 klms have been the following:
bridgelstone s20r....oem (came with the bike) ...ok upto 8,000 klms..too soft and wear uneven.
michelin pilot road 3...Crap, they wear very unevenly and are too squirmy and pick up too many flats as the tread is too busy..like it attracts flat tyres.
michelin pilot power 3... Good tyre up to 10,000 klms
DUNLOP road smart 3....About 17,000 klms a set front and back. The absolute best for longevity and performance, as good as a sport tyre with touring ability, I have not had any flat spot yet on front or rear. Great at speed (knee dragging) cornering. This tire is planted when on its edges. Thoroughly recommend and will definitely keep buying..on my 3rd set now. Oh! did I say CHEAP!!!! Very affordable $450 for pair deal.
10 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2019   
Have you driven on the Dunlop RoadSmart III tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop RoadSmart III? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop RoadSmart III >

Latest Dunlop RoadSmart III Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Suzuki Gsxr1000 k4 (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Although these tyres are marketed as a sports touring tyre I decided to try them on my 2004 gsxr1000 k4 as I was fed up with having to purchase a set of tyres every 3 to 4 thousand miles and wanted something longer lasting. These are the best tyres I have ever fitted to my 1000 gsxr. They don't move whatsoever in the dry and with the front profile turn in really sharp. Just look where you want to go and your there. In the wet they are just as good and I allways rode with 36f/42r. I rode to France twice and over to the t.t. When I sold the bike I still had the receipt with the fitting mileage on and couldn't believe the back was just beginning to square very slightly but the front still looked brand new. The mileage 9000 miles! Unbelieavable. My current gsxr1000r L8 came with bridgestone rs10s which are nice and square after less than 4000 miles so will be fitted with the sportsmart 3s pretty soon.
Couldn't recommend them highly enough.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
BMW K1600 GTL E
Best tyres to date, love them and can't fault them.
Yes, I will be fitting them again and to my Deauville when I get the chance.
5 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2019   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Yamaha TDM850 (170/70 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Outstanding tyres, never felt loosing grip both dry and wet roads. Very long mileage - 16500 km (10000 miles), half with luggage and passenger on mountain roads. Replaced with Michelin Pilot Road 4, also good tyres but very noisy compare to Dunlop. Definitely the best tyres I ever had on my Yamaha!
4 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2019   
Given 98% while driving a BMW K1600 GTL (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
BMW K1600GTL. First class tyre when fitted to this bike. I am not going to go on about them other than to say Great tyres and I would definitely buy again.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 3, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Honda VFR1200FD (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
This pair of Roadsmart 3 tyres were bought for a trip from the Welsh borders to Southern France and back lasting 2 weeks, solo first week, pillion second week using motorways there and back with full luggage, hard riding in Alpine passes and gorges (no luggage) while there.
Rating: overall great tyres easily lasting the 4,000 mile round trip with excellent dry grip and enough grip to cope in the wet (didn't push the lean angles but hard wet braking never resulted in the ABS kicking in). Nice profile with effortless leaning into corners. Absorbed the worst road conditions with ease (especially in the UK!). After 4,000 miles the front is still above the wear markers by about 1mm with plenty left on the rear, the latter probably has another couple of thousand in it. Not surprised the front wore more quickly given the braking forces required for downhill hairpins on a heavy bike. With more modest riding I'd say it would match the rear for longevity.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2018   
Given 85% while driving a BMW F800GT (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
These RS3 tyres are on a BMW F800GT motorcycle.

They have not been used in the wet (yet).

The front tyre has 2600km and the rear 3700km to date. Both are wearing OK with the eventual flat section from cornering on the front tyre (rhs) half just starting to show itself. The rear is wearing uniformly.

They are typical RS Dunlop's in that they have stiff carcasses which sharpens up steering, gives a firm but not hard ride and gives good feedback.

I gave dry grip 9 as i have no idea what their limit is but with spirited riding so far they have not let go or slipped.

I used a set of RS2's on a Honda VFR800 before i got the BMW and of the 6 different make/model sets of tyres used on this bike, the RS2's were my favorite and got the most KM's. From the Dunlop PR blurb, the RS3's should be as good if not better. So far the RS2 & RS3 feel the same but hopefully there will be extra km's available.

If they get the extra km's will likely buy again, especially the rear. I may go for a Dunlop Q3 on the front next time.

Maybe an up date in the future if i can.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2016