Volkswagen GTi Mk6 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen GTi Mk6.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen GTi Mk6? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a GTi Mk6 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (39) 93% 91% 89% 89% 87% 91%
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 (8) 93% 94% 81% 83% 90% 74%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Kleber Quadraxer (42) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (168) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (292) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (37) 83% 85% 79% 78% 87% 83%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (107) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (235) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (172) 88% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Avon ZV5 (111) 84% 79% 78% 78% 72% 78%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (76) 84% 76% 76% 79% 67% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (206) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (52) 84% 73% 74% 75% 64% 64%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (156) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Autogrip F101 (15) 61% 42% 43% 34% 54% 49%

Volkswagen GTi Mk6 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Satin given 54% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I would not buy this tyre again. Grip is good in the wet, but there's not much feel to it and the grip under hard acceleration in dry is really not very good. For a sport car just go for the premium brands.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-14 08:05:47
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo3 given 79% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Very good tyres. What surprised me is just how good the wet grip is under hard acceleration. For the price I've been very satisfied. I don't have any major complaints so far and I can only recommend this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-14 08:02:40
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-20 01:19:18
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 81% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 22773 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-19 16:22:52
Writing about the Dunlop Winter Sport 5 given 57% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Bought a set of 4 winter Dunlop's in 2017, mounted them on MK6 golf. First impressions were OK, low Tyre noise, good grip in wet and dry. Comfortable if they would not have a huge issue. After a few miles on highway, I noticed that there are some vibrations cumming through steering wheel at higher speeds. I suspected the wheels (bought them used) and change them for new ones, but problem remained. Went back to dealer who made measurements on machine and reported that two of them (tyres) had defects in tread pattern (humps of some sort), two were suppose to be OK. Waited for a few months to get the replacement approved (actually it was already spring). When we mounted two new ones on, it was noticeably better, but still not OK. At later time we noticed that also one of the old two, that suppose to be OK, needed a lot of weights when balancing it (despite rotating it on wheel itself) and the steering wheel still vibrated when accelerating or at higher speed (not happening on summer set). I gave up and get rid of them, never buying "premium" Dunlop again!
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-08 08:46:11
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-01 14:05:14
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
These tyres were fitted to the car when I bought it about 5 months ago. My thoughts were that as soon as I had bought the car, I would change the tyres for some premium ones, as I don't like the thought of scrimping on the only part of the car that makes contact with the road. After driving the car for a while my thoughts changed, I have to admit the tyres are very good. Grip is very good, even when pushed quite hard on the bends. Noise levels are also good, quieter than a lot of tyres I have had fitted to other cars. My only reservation would be with regards to wear, the rear tyres have not worn significantly yet, but I can't see the front tyres lasting much more than 10,000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-15 21:52:52
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 63% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 22370 average miles
Did 36,000km on these tyres. Brilliant dry grip - was wary in the wet (also due to the torque from the car).. holds well on bends, but skids too much if using launch control (or even taking off fast when the tyres became older). I wouldnt recommend it due to the very fast wear. Also had 2 tyres with bulges in them. Upgraded to Toyo Proxes C1S, and amazed at how noisy the Conti's were.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-01 08:35:56
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 100% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-21 19:07:31
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 86% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-04 12:14:58
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 70% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
First they said premium contact. In practice it means drive but dont push. If you are 25 then u know about what i m saying. i need a tyre which will drive and brake perfect on highway. i get it. i need a tyre which will brake on rainy days in town, it will. but if i drive in 4th to 5th gear on country roads its disaster. u feel like car is on 30 000 miles + old tyres as in in corner steering is lost. on the car were before fitted sp sport fast response and turanza and i could do that. i just hope they will last next 30 000 km. for cars with less then 100hp it could be the best choise. but drive like +60s drive.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-28 23:24:40
Writing about the Autogrip F101 given 17% (205-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
These tyres are downright dangerous! I have just brought a 2010 MK6 Golf on 30k which has the original Bridgestones on the rear and two of these Chinese Autogrips on the front. They are nothing special in the dry but in the wet they just dont grip. You get the sort of understeer you would expect from two flat front tyres without any feel or notice, they are ridiculous and they make any slightly wet road feel like black ice. They seem to be reasonably new with about 6-7mm of tread but I am having them changed tomorrow (before they kill me)for some Conti Premium contact 5 which I had great success with on my last car.
AVOID AT ALL COST it is just not worth skimping on rubber but if your budget is tight buy anything else or just walk down the middle of the motorway it's safer
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-20 18:39:36
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre