Kumho Ecsta HS51

The Kumho Ecsta HS51 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 37 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 606,470 miles driven, and 12 tests with an average result of 10th.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 80%
Wear 79%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 74%

The Ecsta HS51 is ranked 43rd of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Kumho Ecsta HS52.

Tests Included

12

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

20th

Average Result

10th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test
1st of 20 tyres
  • Precise steering, dynamic handling and short braking distances in the dry and wet, well priced.
  • High rolling resistance.
  • Exemplary.
View Full Test >>
2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16
5th of 15 tyres
  • Top marks for fuel consumption, good in the wet, relatively low wear.
  • Slightly weaker on dry roads.
  • The Kumho Ecsta HS51 feels less precise in the dry compared to its peers, and only has an average dry braking result. It's better in the wet, with high aquaplaning resistance, and has reasonable levels of noise.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kumho Ecsta HS51

Questions and Answers for the Kumho Ecsta HS51

2016-07-24 - Looking to have 4 new tyres 215-55-16 to my Mercedes E280. Which would you recommend, HS31, HS51, or any other. Awaiting reply before purchasing.

Tyre choice depends a lot on driving style and what you priorities from a tyre's performance. The last test the Kumho HS51 was included in didn't go so well, so we'd suggest reading this test and selecting a tyre which scored a little better.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 7 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Ecsta HS51 Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Kia Motors Cerato 2 litre auto (Tiptronic) (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Excellent tyre for summer and even winter on wet road. Very quite and comfort & excellent grip on wet and dry conditions.
One of the best tyre which I bought and i'll buy again.
Helpful 362 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2016
Given 62% while driving a BMW 530D M sport (275/30 R19 W) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
I have Kuhmo 275/39/19 96y fitted to my 2005 BMWE60 530d msport, I have just had to get a taxi home from Swansea to London because for the second time in 18 months I have had a blow out on the M4 whilst travelling at speed. Both times the tyre has failed on the inner wall with the tyre instantly going flat. A large section of tyre has blown out approx three inches long with a hole that I could push my finger all the way in. As I said earlier this is the second time and both times it has been a inner wall failure. Has anybody else experienced this problem and do they know if Kuhmo are aware of this possible design fault or am I just unlucky?
Helpful 126 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2019
Given 43% while driving a Mercedes Benz (225/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
The worst tyre I have ever bought. Sidewalls are far too soft and dry grip is not what it should be. The rear of the car actually sways when making a sharp turn as speed above 80km/h. No, problem to get the traction control light on, never had this situation with the previous Bridgestone or Yokohama tyres. After only 600 kms I had to the Kumho's replaced by Yokohama 105V's.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2023
Have you driven on the Kumho Ecsta HS51 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecsta HS51? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecsta HS51 >

Latest Kumho Ecsta HS51 Reviews

Given 41% while driving a Kia Motors Seltos S (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
Rubbish tires, only lasted 30,000kms. They do ok grip wise in summer but twice I've had them aquaplaning in small ruts in wet weather, the wet weather grip is terrible. They are also the noisiest tires I've ever owned. I'm looking forward to getting rid of them!
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2024
Given 77% while driving a Citroën c2 (185/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 27,900 average miles
Replace them today fo the HS52, made 45000kms 27900mies (aprox), and they were ok for may work car. Had Michelein before and were not that much better in wet condition were worst.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 83% while driving a Renault (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I bought a set of 4 of these in 2016, prompted by a financially painful pot-hole experience, which made me reluctant to spash out on a replacement set of Michelins, which this was - and our three other cars are - equipped with. They were just as quiet, and satisfactory in wet and dry conditions (but untested in snow), given I don't push hard in corners, but do maintain momentum while generally averaging 60+ mpg. I swapped fronts to rears, and achieved about 25,000 miles from the set, and changed when they were down to around 2mm. Much lower mileage than I get from the usual tyres, but less at stake in this pot-hole strewn country. One tyre recently developed cracks on the inner sidewall, which would have been an MOT failure, if I hadn't been able to swap the spare there and then. I can't be sure about the cause of the cracking, which deveIoped on a rear tyre, I've repalced the front tyres with Michelins again, but have just fitted HS52s to the rear axle, to see how they fare, hoping that they do as well or better than the HS51s, and will be inspecting the inner sidewall more closely on this set.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2023
Given 91% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 47,000 average miles
After Long term review close 6 years, Done 47K miles on Ecsta HS51 version. I'm very pleased , one of the best tyres *All weather conditions excellent . * The rear still have tread on them . It's time for new set of tyres . I recommend these tyres to all want a great Tyre with a reasonable price not too expensive with high quality and durability.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 43,000 average miles
This will be my last update on the Escata Hs51. I have done 43K miles. All type of weather conditions are excellent: grip, handling, breaking High quality and good price. No issues with blow outs for normal high speed driving excellent. For track or extreme need a upgrade for specific tyres (Track, Ultimate extreme). I recommend them for all. Winter time hopefully be updating or upgrading to the Hs52 or Ps version Will have a update and throw review on them.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2022
Given 96% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 (Modified) (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
never had any problems with it, my car has never gotten into a slide with these tyres, have been running these tyres for a year and still have 50% tread left. would buy again.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2022
Given 86% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer Type S (235/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I've had these on for a year now, and I am very pleasantly surprised at the outright grip both wet and dry these offer. The tyres that preceded these were Falken FK510, Hankook VP3 K125 and most recently Nokian Powerproof. I found the Hankooks best for wear, Nokians were good for wet grip but did not last very long and the Falkens may as well have been made from chewing gum for the service life they gave. I know the Honda Accord Type S Tourer is a fairly heavy vehicle and has a decent bit of torque and power but I have a commute that is 80km per day so wear is a factor, the remap adds some more as well. With these HS51 I can say that I am very happy with their performance so far and would definately buy them again. Wet grip/braking and wear are my two main objectives regarding tyres and on these points and more they deliver. They are not the most fuel efficient tyres but they are very durable and that is worth more to me than some theoretical figure of fuel saving in the long run. In summary I would say that I highly recommend these tyres if you have a larger heavier car and don't want the lightweight quiet, fuel efficient tyres that have the sidewall strength of a piece of overcooked pasta, these are old school tyres that are heavy and solid and last while giving great grip and wear.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Kia Motors Forte (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I think it’s very easy to use. The grip on dry and wet ground is very strong, and it’s not very noisy to walk on unsightly sections
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2021
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 146 Junior (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Wet grip from these tyres is very impressive and inspires confidence. Dry grip is very good although perhaps slightly behind the premium Pirellis previously fitted but the Kumhos are very much quieter in terms of road noise and certainly much more comfortable than before. The car's handling qualities are compatible with the Pirellis and the Kumhos are wearing pretty consistently and at an acceptable rate. I like them. They're good value for money in my opinion and suit my style of driving.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2020
Given 69% while driving a Hyundai elantra (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,650 average miles
Have these stock on my elantra. They're pretty good for what they are. Good wet grip cuz it rains a lot and I haven't had any problems in the wet. Pretty quiet on the highway and choppy pavement. Not a driver's tire though as feedback is poor and handling at the limit is average.
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 9,300 spirited miles
Tyres grip really well in the dry, but in the they feel a bit loose. I had them fitted in a audi a4 and have them for 15k km and they have 4.5 mm letf in them. Overall they are a pretty good tyre would totally buy again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2020
Given 56% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 7,500 average miles
These tyres on the front of a fiesta have only lasted just over 12 months. They have even wear across the tread. Tracking was done when tyres were fitted. Very disappointed at the mileage done only about 7500 miles. Will pay more for a better tyre next time
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2020