Toyo Celsius

Specially developed to excel in all common weather conditions, the Celsius is very much a 'master of all trades,' offering year round safety and comfort, plus the confidence to brake in all weathers. Not that this broad spread of abilities equates to limited, merely average performance overall – far from it! Indeed, the Celsius' carefully formulated compound means that it's just as at home on wet, slippery roads as it is on sun-baked tarmac, and these traits make it ideal for fitment to the vast majority of UK cars.

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 231,568 miles driven, and 8 tests with an average result of 12th.

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 74%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 64%
Wear 80%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 74%
Snow Grip 86%
Ice Grip 82%

First On MarketJune 2016
Wheel Size14 - 20"
Width145 - 245mm
Profile40 - 70
Rolling ResistanceD - E
Wet GripC - C
Noise (dB)69 - 72
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Celsius is ranked 25th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Tests Included

8

Best Result

7th

Worst Result

24th

Average Result

12th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test
10th of 13 tyres
  • Short snow braking distances, stable dry handling, low price.
  • Average aquaplaning resistance, long wet and dry braking, understeer in the wet.
View Full Test >>
2019 Auto Bild 4x4 All Season Tyre Test
7th of 12 tyres
  • Good snow performance.
  • Average grip with understeer in the wet and dry, slow steering, high fuel use.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
175/65 R14 86 T XLEC69
175/65 R14 82 TEC69
165/70 R14 85 T XLDC69
175/65 R14 86 T XLEC69
175/65 R14 82 TEC69
165/70 R14 85 T XLDC69
185/60 R14 82 HEC69
15 inch
195/55 R15 85 HEC70
195/65 R15 91 HEC70
195/65 R15 91 HEC70
195/65 R15 91 HEC70
195/65 R15 91 HEC70
195/65 R15 95 V XLDC70
185/65 R15 88 HEC69
185/65 R15 92 V XLDC69
185/65 R15 88 HEC69
195/65 R15 95 V XLDC70
195/65 R15 91 TDC70
195/65 R15 91 TDC70
195/65 R15 91 HDC70
16 inch
205/60 R16 96 V XLDC70
215/60 R16 99 V XLDC70
205/55 R16 94 V XLEC70
205/55 R16 94 V XLEC70
205/55 R16 91 HEC70
205/55 R16 94 V XLDC70
17 inch
235/65 R17 108 V XLDC72
215/55 R17 98 W XLEC70
225/50 R17 98 V XLEC70
215/55 R17 98 V XLDC72
215/55 R17 98 V XLDC72
225/50 R17 98 W XLEC72
205/50 R17 93 V XLEC70
205/50 R17 93 V XLEC70
205/50 R17 93 W XLEC70
225/45 R17 94 V XLEC72
225/45 R17 94 W XLEC72
225/45 R17 94 V XLDC72
215/45 R17 91 W XLEC70
225/60 R17 99 VDC70
18 inch
225/40 R18 92 V XLEC72
225/40 R18 92 V XLDC72
245/45 R18 100 V XLEC72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Toyo Celsius >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Toyo Celsius. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 5 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Toyo Celsius Reviews

Hyundai I10 (175/65 R14) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
These tyres are far better than "standard" tyres when it gets cold.

My wife's car has Cross Climates. I've previously had Nokian Weatherproof and Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons. All were notably better than the Toyo's. Not a world away, but better when the conditions get bad. They're not bad or dangerous or any nonsense that you read, but they're not as good as the ones I mentioned. Even with these, in a hatchback I've passed many 4x4s spinning on the wrong rubber. I bought on price and got what I paid for, good enough but not the best.

I'll leave them on until they wear, but will replace with better ones.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Toyota Matrix (Corolla wagon) FWD (/65 R15) on mostly town for 6,000 spirited miles
Tires are wearing out well. Over 10,000 km of city driving on them and the rear still has 8mm tread while the front has 6mm. Felt great even in the ice and snow. Not as grippy in the ice and snow as Blizzaks or Ice Guards but works well.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Corolla (185/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 37,500 average miles
Best all season tires I've had on my car. No noise, no problem whatsoever. Nothing to say bad for normal consumer use. Never lost control on my car in any condition with the Toyo Celsius. Same goes for my family members who has been driving the car since early after their after their 18th birthday. First set lasted 60000 km. Second set on of Toyo Celsius on now. Prior had more expensive and cheap tires on. Toyo made the difference for me . On all 3 my cars I use Toyo all season tires.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2023
Have you driven on the Toyo Celsius tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Celsius? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Celsius >

Latest Toyo Celsius Reviews

Given 52% while driving a (195/75 R15) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
Terrible wet pavement traction. Hydroplanes bad
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2023
Given 81% while driving a SEAT ibiza 1.4 (195/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
I did very well with them, 21,000 thousand kilometers, I am generally happy and of course also with the price, the next time I change I will also try the new model
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 82% while driving a Toyota CHR Hybrid (215/60 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Recently purchased for my Toyota CHR Hybrid and so far so good. Decent grip, feel,road noise. Done a bit on snow and seem good.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2022
Given 57% while driving a Subaru Forester (/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 6 easy going miles
Purchased the Celsius CUV tires for 2019 Forester. At first tires seemed fine except for a more bouncy sidewall feel. Over time noticed tires respond to raised bumps in front or back depending on tire rotation. No response from Toyo after two tries. Dealer could not duplicate complaint. Decided to replace tires because they do not seem to provide a stable feel. Previously had Celsius on Corolla and they were fine. Great snow performance not too good wet panic stopping. Otherwise no complaints. For V rated tire sidewall does not seem to match expectations of ride quality.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2021
Given 76% while driving a Fiat Panda 4 x4 (175/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 6,000 easy going miles
Great for 4x4 cars in all seasons, including deep snow.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Suzuki Swift (185/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 50 easy going miles
We have 2 Suzuki swifts, both with these tyres. The Suzuki has a tyre size that few manufacturers cater for in all season tread. If you want an all season tyre I can highly recommend them. Rain, snow, sun greasy roads..they perform well. Good lateral grip and even with the beast from the east we weren't stranded. Yes, there may be better performing tyres but in this size I can think of no better option. They can spin on wet junctions but with a bit of expectation they are fine. A great all rounder and have lasted 3 years without issue. Will definitely buy these Japanese tyres for my Japanese car again.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2020
Given 100% while driving a Honda pilot (245/60 R18 H) on a combination of roads for 100,000 average miles
I have had many tires on my vehicles, this is the overall best tire. Over 100000Km Have had these tires in the worst of snow storms and the hottest of days...rain, sleet and ice. I will be replacing them with another set of Toyo Celsius CUV. Does what it says it will do.
Helpful 51 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2018
Given 34% while driving a Ford Focus 2002 Hatchback (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
These are the worst tyres I have ever experienced, by far. I would even say that they are dangerous.

They replaced 4 Uniroyal RainExpert tyres which were very worn-out. Apart from the fact that they were noisier, the
worn-out Uniroyal tyres were much better than the brand new Toyos.

Positive: -they are quiet
-quite comfortable, although not as comfortable as you would expect from such a soft sidewall

Negative: -slow steering response and poor grip on dry, wet and snow
-very long braking distances in all conditions
-very soft sidewall which gives awful handling characteristics
-imprecise steering with very little steering feel
-unstable feel at all speeds, dangerous almost. In corners, the back end is all over the place
-the car is leaning much more into corners, compared with other tyres

It may sound harsh, but this is my honest experience.
I am replacing them after 10000 miles, even if they seem to have tread left for another ~15000 miles.

There is nothing wrong with the car, these are the first tyres that made the car behave like this.
The results are the same with any tyre pressure.

I know that you can buy Toyo Celsius tyres made in different countries.
These 4 have written on the sidewalls: Made in Japan.
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2018
Given 87% while driving a Acura rdx 2.3l turbo sh awd (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
this is a tire for bad summer, like snow in the top of the mountain, frosted morning. heavy summer rain, mud and outback country road.very ggo for the people who like put his summer tire early and late to put winter tire in automn.
Helpful 72 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2018
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.4 16V 75 hp (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Very pleased with my choice. The tires are true all weather. Warm up very fast and they have plenty of grip dry and wet. Snow grip is just awesome. With a simple 2WD hatch i managed to pass alot of roads with heavy snow for alot of km when other vehicles were facing difficulties even with snow chains.And all that was done smoothly and easy. Even on icy surface didnt let me down.
Price was also the lowest 200euros installed. I would definitely buy them again.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2018
Given 86% while driving a MINI ONE (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 12 spirited miles
These were hard to find when we got them, but they were specifically chosen as a std, all season tyre to replace the back breaking runflats on the mini. What a revelation, they totally changed the handling, comfort and stability of the car all for the better.
They've only experienced light snow but handled this fine, as with ice, mud, wet and dry. They made the car FUN and gave my wife total confidence whatever the conditions.
I tried three different all seasons on three different cars, these Toyo Celcius on the MINI, Pirelli Cinturato (self sealing) on an Altea XL and Goodyear Vector A/S gen 2 on a Toyota hybrid (that are approaching 30,000 in 4 months with 4mm left). All of them were chosen for the specific vehicle use and all have performed well, with the Goodyear seeing the widest range of road conditions and proving almost faultless. I would buy any of these again for the cars they are on as they suit the usage of the individual cars (MINI for a great driving tyre (TOYO), Altea for self seal against puncture (PIrelli) and the Hybrid that travels anywhere in any conditions (Goodyear).
I hope this helps someone.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2018