Toyo Celsius

Specially developed to excel in all common weather conditions, the Celsius is very much a 'master of all trades,' offering year round safety and comfort, plus the confidence to brake in all weathers. Not that this broad spread of abilities equates to limited, merely average performance overall – far from it! Indeed, the Celsius' carefully formulated compound means that it's just as at home on wet, slippery roads as it is on sun-baked tarmac, and these traits make it ideal for fitment to the vast majority of UK cars.

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 74%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 64%
Wear 80%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 74%
Snow Grip 86%
Ice Grip 82%

Tyre review data from 15 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 231,568 miles driven.

The Celsius is ranked 24th of 57 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test - 10th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Short snow braking distances, stable dry handling, low price.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning resistance, long wet and dry braking, understeer in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2020 All Season Tyre Market Overview - 32 Tyre Braking Test - 24th of 33 tyres

View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Bild 4x4 All Season Tyre Test - 7th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Good snow performance.
  • Negative - Average grip with understeer in the wet and dry, slow steering, high fuel use.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2020 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test (215/60 R16)
  • 24th: 2020 All Season Tyre Market Overview - 32 Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2019 Auto Bild 4x4 All Season Tyre Test (235/65 R17)
  • 14th: 2019 All Season Tyre Performance Overview (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2018 AMS All Season Tyre Test (225/45 R16)
  • 16th: 2018 27 All Season Tyre Shootout (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2017 Auto Express All Season Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 10th: 2017 All Season VS Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/60 R14 82H   F C 69  
    155/65 R14 75T   F C 69  
    165/65 R14 79T   F C 69  
    175/65 R14 86T XL   F C 69  
    175/65 R14 82T   F C 69  
    185/65 R14 86T   F C 69  
    165/70 R14 85T XL   E C 69  
    195/50 R15 82H   F C 70  
    185/55 R15 82H   F C 69  
    195/55 R15 85H   F C 70  
    185/60 R15 88V XL   E C 69  
    185/60 R15 84T   F C 69  
    195/60 R15 88H   E C 70  
    165/65 R15 81T   F C 69  
    175/65 R15 84H   F C 69  
    185/65 R15 88H   F C 69  
    185/65 R15 92V XL   E C 69  
    195/65 R15 91T   E C 70  
    195/65 R15 95V XL   E C 70  
    195/65 R15 91H   E C 70  
    215/45 R16 90V XL   E C 72  
    195/55 R16 87H   E C 70  
    195/55 R16 87H   F C 70  
    195/55 R16 87V   E C 70  
    205/55 R16 94V XL   E C 70  
    205/55 R16 91H   E C 70  
    215/55 R16 97V XL   E C 70  
    205/60 R16 96V XL   E C 70  
    215/60 R16 99V XL   E C 70  
    215/65 R16 102V XL   E C 70  
    215/65 R16 98H   E C 70  
    225/45 R17 94V   E C 72  
    225/50 R17 98V XL   E C 70  
    225/65 R17 102H   E C 70  
    225/40 R18 92V   E C 72  

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Toyo Celsius. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    Available in 7 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Toyo Celsius Reviews

    Given 87% while driving a Acura rdx 2.3l turbo sh awd (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
    this is a tire for bad summer, like snow in the top of the mountain, frosted morning. heavy summer rain, mud and outback country road.very ggo for the people who like put his summer tire early and late to put winter tire in automn.
    Helpful 67 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2018
    Given 80% while driving a Toyota Matrix (Corolla wagon) FWD (/65 R15) on mostly town for 6,000 spirited miles
    Tires are wearing out well. Over 10,000 km of city driving on them and the rear still has 8mm tread while the front has 6mm. Felt great even in the ice and snow. Not as grippy in the ice and snow as Blizzaks or Ice Guards but works well.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2021
    Given 81% while driving a Toyota Corolla (185/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 37,500 average miles
    Best all season tires I've had on my car. No noise, no problem whatsoever. Nothing to say bad for normal consumer use. Never lost control on my car in any condition with the Toyo Celsius. Same goes for my family members who has been driving the car since early after their after their 18th birthday. First set lasted 60000 km. Second set on of Toyo Celsius on now. Prior had more expensive and cheap tires on. Toyo made the difference for me . On all 3 my cars I use Toyo all season tires.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2023
    Have you driven on the Toyo Celsius tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Celsius? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Toyo Celsius >

    Latest Toyo Celsius Reviews

    Hyundai I10 (175/65 R14) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
    These tyres are far better than "standard" tyres when it gets cold.

    My wife's car has Cross Climates. I've previously had Nokian Weatherproof and Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons. All were notably better than the Toyo's. Not a world away, but better when the conditions get bad. They're not bad or dangerous or any nonsense that you read, but they're not as good as the ones I mentioned. Even with these, in a hatchback I've passed many 4x4s spinning on the wrong rubber. I bought on price and got what I paid for, good enough but not the best.

    I'll leave them on until they wear, but will replace with better ones.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2023
    Given 52% while driving a (195/75 R15) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
    Terrible wet pavement traction. Hydroplanes bad
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 81% while driving a SEAT ibiza 1.4 (195/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
    I did very well with them, 21,000 thousand kilometers, I am generally happy and of course also with the price, the next time I change I will also try the new model
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2023
    Given 82% while driving a Toyota CHR Hybrid (215/60 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
    Recently purchased for my Toyota CHR Hybrid and so far so good. Decent grip, feel,road noise. Done a bit on snow and seem good.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2022
    Given 57% while driving a Subaru Forester (/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 6 easy going miles
    Purchased the Celsius CUV tires for 2019 Forester. At first tires seemed fine except for a more bouncy sidewall feel. Over time noticed tires respond to raised bumps in front or back depending on tire rotation. No response from Toyo after two tries. Dealer could not duplicate complaint. Decided to replace tires because they do not seem to provide a stable feel. Previously had Celsius on Corolla and they were fine. Great snow performance not too good wet panic stopping. Otherwise no complaints. For V rated tire sidewall does not seem to match expectations of ride quality.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2021
    Given 76% while driving a Fiat Panda 4 x4 (175/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 6,000 easy going miles
    Great for 4x4 cars in all seasons, including deep snow.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2021
    Given 81% while driving a Suzuki Swift (185/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 50 easy going miles
    We have 2 Suzuki swifts, both with these tyres. The Suzuki has a tyre size that few manufacturers cater for in all season tread. If you want an all season tyre I can highly recommend them. Rain, snow, sun greasy roads..they perform well. Good lateral grip and even with the beast from the east we weren't stranded. Yes, there may be better performing tyres but in this size I can think of no better option. They can spin on wet junctions but with a bit of expectation they are fine. A great all rounder and have lasted 3 years without issue. Will definitely buy these Japanese tyres for my Japanese car again.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2020
    Given 100% while driving a Honda pilot (245/60 R18 H) on a combination of roads for 100,000 average miles
    I have had many tires on my vehicles, this is the overall best tire. Over 100000Km Have had these tires in the worst of snow storms and the hottest of days...rain, sleet and ice. I will be replacing them with another set of Toyo Celsius CUV. Does what it says it will do.
    Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2018
    Given 34% while driving a Ford Focus 2002 Hatchback (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    These are the worst tyres I have ever experienced, by far. I would even say that they are dangerous.

    They replaced 4 Uniroyal RainExpert tyres which were very worn-out. Apart from the fact that they were noisier, the
    worn-out Uniroyal tyres were much better than the brand new Toyos.

    Positive: -they are quiet
    -quite comfortable, although not as comfortable as you would expect from such a soft sidewall

    Negative: -slow steering response and poor grip on dry, wet and snow
    -very long braking distances in all conditions
    -very soft sidewall which gives awful handling characteristics
    -imprecise steering with very little steering feel
    -unstable feel at all speeds, dangerous almost. In corners, the back end is all over the place
    -the car is leaning much more into corners, compared with other tyres

    It may sound harsh, but this is my honest experience.
    I am replacing them after 10000 miles, even if they seem to have tread left for another ~15000 miles.

    There is nothing wrong with the car, these are the first tyres that made the car behave like this.
    The results are the same with any tyre pressure.

    I know that you can buy Toyo Celsius tyres made in different countries.
    These 4 have written on the sidewalls: Made in Japan.
    Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2018
    Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.4 16V 75 hp (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Very pleased with my choice. The tires are true all weather. Warm up very fast and they have plenty of grip dry and wet. Snow grip is just awesome. With a simple 2WD hatch i managed to pass alot of roads with heavy snow for alot of km when other vehicles were facing difficulties even with snow chains.And all that was done smoothly and easy. Even on icy surface didnt let me down.
    Price was also the lowest 200euros installed. I would definitely buy them again.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2018
    Given 86% while driving a MINI ONE (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 12 spirited miles
    These were hard to find when we got them, but they were specifically chosen as a std, all season tyre to replace the back breaking runflats on the mini. What a revelation, they totally changed the handling, comfort and stability of the car all for the better.
    They've only experienced light snow but handled this fine, as with ice, mud, wet and dry. They made the car FUN and gave my wife total confidence whatever the conditions.
    I tried three different all seasons on three different cars, these Toyo Celcius on the MINI, Pirelli Cinturato (self sealing) on an Altea XL and Goodyear Vector A/S gen 2 on a Toyota hybrid (that are approaching 30,000 in 4 months with 4mm left). All of them were chosen for the specific vehicle use and all have performed well, with the Goodyear seeing the widest range of road conditions and proving almost faultless. I would buy any of these again for the cars they are on as they suit the usage of the individual cars (MINI for a great driving tyre (TOYO), Altea for self seal against puncture (PIrelli) and the Hybrid that travels anywhere in any conditions (Goodyear).
    I hope this helps someone.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2018