Continental UltraContact

The Continental UltraContact is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 72%
Wear 90%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 76%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 54,850 miles driven.

The UltraContact is ranked 32nd of 147 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 50 tyres

  • Positive - Balanced, good on dry roads, good environmental record, very high mileage.
  • Negative - Slight weakness on wet roads.
  • Overall - Driving safety: The Continental UltraContact is rated as just satisfactory when it comes to driving safety. The UltraContact offers the driver satisfactory feedback on the steering wheel on a dry road, but is still safe at the limit. Thanks to its short braking distance, it can still secure a good overall rating on dry roads. On wet roads, however, the UltraContact does not get more than a satisfactory rating. Although it scores in the braking distance measurements and also in handling with good grip and safe driving characteristics, it falters when it comes to aquaplaning. In the case of longitudinal aquaplaning, he does not get more than a satisfactory result, and in the case of transverse aquaplaning, even more than an adequate result.

    Environmental balance: In the environmental balance, the UltraContact secures one of the best results in the test. His predicted mileage is classified as very good, and he only just misses a very good rating for wear. The tire also scores with its low weight and low fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2023 ADAC Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental UltraContact

    Questions and Answers for the Continental UltraContact

    2023-10-09 - Hi, after this winter I will need new summer tyres for my Hyundai Scoupe - 185/60 R14. Now I have Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance but the new Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance 2 are not awailible in my size so, what would you recoment ? 1) Continental UltraContact 2) Same as I have now - Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance 3) Someting else - like Bridgestone turanza T005 or Continental ecocontact 6? Thank you :)

    I always like trying something new and the ultracontact performed well in this test!


    2023-12-27 - I’m looking for a replacement on my Goodyear EG Performance 2 set. I got a 2016 BMW 320d. I’m looking for a premium touring tyre, I really care about safety, softness of the shoulder and quietness. Could the new Conti UltraContact be the best choice?

    I haven't tested the UC range yet, so you'll have to go by the test data on the site. If you really want softness an ultra low rolling resistance tyre might be the better option such as the EcoContact 6.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    185/60 R15 £101.89 - £107.53 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    185/65 R15 £85.75 - £102.02 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £98.23 - £116.33 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/60 R16 £151.26 - £163.73 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £107.95 - £113.59 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/50 R18 £141.12 - £168.11 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 63 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental UltraContact Reviews

    Given 59% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
    Dont buy the first generation of these tires
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2023
    Given 99% while driving a Mitsubishi Grandis 2.4 petrol (235/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
    I'm using continental uc7 tires....it's solid
    Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2023
    Given 94% while driving a Skoda (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
    Very good tyre better than primacy 4 . I drive in a combination of roads city and country. Very comfort tyre
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2023
    Have you driven on the Continental UltraContact tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental UltraContact? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental UltraContact >

    Latest Continental UltraContact Reviews

    Given 63% while driving a Toyota Avensis verso (205/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Beware of these tyres!! Initially i was very impressed with these tyres. Very comfortable, quiet (except on concrete surfaces), excellent dry and wet grip and safe on aquaplanning. I have never driven on a tyre that has such a good mix between comfort (soft sidewalls) and driving dynamics. The sidewalls don't fold over when cornering which gives the tyre a great feedback, much much better then Michelin Primacy 4. The wear rate is excellent too, they have lost 1mm after 15.000kms. HOWEVER, the car started to vibrate at 110km/h+ only a couple weeks after installation. I had re-balanced the wheels but the vibrations remained. After i put on my 2nd set, winter wheels, i decided to re-balance these Continentals again, and to my surprise 3 out of 4 had gone completely out of shape! They are no longer round! One wheel needed 35 grams on the first balancing, now it needs over 90 grams and the tyre is egg-shaped, and so are two others! Continental have zero interest in helping me out because i already drove too much on them (i do 30.000km's a year). I work at a garage so i know what i'm talking about, the car has no issues when driving on different tyres on the same set of wheels. Very, very dissapointed because this tyre gave me everything i wanted. My confidence in Continental has gone out the window completely and i now switched to Fulda EcoControl HP after previous good experiences with this brand.

    Note: After a chat with the local tyre fitters, it appears that i'm not the only one with this issue. Also happens to AllSeasonContant apparently.

    TLDR: Great performance in all aspects, but go completely out of shape very quickly thus causing incurable vibrations in the car. AVOID.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2024
    Given 82% while driving a Toyota Sienta (185/60 R15) on mostly town for 200 average miles
    I stand corrected: my previous review states that my new Ultracontacts started out at 6.5mm tread depth.
    Using a vernier caliper, I've established it is around 7.5-7.8mm, so not too far from the nominally desired 8mm tread depth.

    Tyres still function fine and yes, the lack of the 'Squeek!' and 'Eeeek!' sounds from slipping/skidding is still very much noticeable, vs my past Blue Earth GT AE-51 and Ecocontact 6 tyres.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 80% while driving a Toyota Sienta (185/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
    Finally, I went full circle and went back to having Continental tyres.
    Was on 3 sets of Conti PremiumContact 5 for a few years till they discontinued it afterwards tried its lacklustre cousin EcoContact 6 because CPC6 isn't for my wheel size.
    Went on to having Yokohama Blue Earth GT AE51 and just after 2.5 years from manufacture, those tyres seem to be slipping/skidding frequently for some unknown reason even with 5-6 mm of tread left for the last few months. Changed to Ultracontacts a few days ago and suddenly the slippages are mostly gone - most noticeably those on indoor parking flooring and ramps, gradients of humps. Tyre squeal noise is very soft vs past EcoContact6 and AE51, when doing tight turns. If feel I can trust Continental tyres for the grip they provide. These ultracontacts behave very similarly to my old PremiumContact 5. Unfortunately, this also extends negatively to the ride comfort and noise. They are noticeably much noisier and less plush (I can feel every rough bit and road marking I go over) than the Blue Earth AE51 I replaced them with. Anyhow, rainy season is coming and I don't have many choices where I am for my wheel size. Only time will tell if they wear well - my CPC5 worn down terribly just after 25000km (3-4mm left) but they say these made-for-EU Ultracontacts have some new formulation to reduct wear from abrasion. Note that these Ultracontacts start off with about 6.5mm of tread when new so I am also not happy about this short-changing (normally I expect new tyres to start off with 8mm tread height).
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2023
    Given 81% while driving a Honda City (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    I’ve used tyres from Michelin Primacy 4 to PS4 and to Bridgestone RE004. Ditched the RE004 due to high noise level and switched to the new UC7. Been a Michelin user since day one, I would say UC7 sits between Primacy 4 and PS4. It has the comfortness and quietness and yet didn’t lose the handling performance. To me, UC7 is the 50 50 combination of Primacy 4 and PS4. Overall, I am very happy with the quality and performance of the UC7.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Peugeot 1.2 puretech 75 hp (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 1,000 easy going miles
    bought for 2021 peugeot 208 1.2 75hp. My recent cars were similar, low powered, so do my driving style. i am familiar with 185 r15 195 r16 nokian wetproofs, ilines, conti ecocontact 6s, michelin primacy4s and kumho es31s. I always tried to pick silent, low rolling resistence, soft compound tyres because of bad NVH level of entry level cars and bad roads. Mostly avoided continentals as i tought that they are noisy, like in case of ecocontact6. I cant make any comment for wear, wet grip but after 1000km, i can now tell that now i understood why there is a subjective comfort criteria in some tests. In pot holes, speed bumps, on every type of road imperfection, my car seems to have a better set of shock absorbers. Bonus is road noise, which is like the ones i opted before. Did i mention breaking on dry tarmac feels safe? Luckily, for one set of these, i paid 10-15% premium only over mid range silent tyres, still cheaper than goodyear and michelin alternatives. I say this seems to be a good buy.
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Ford Focus 1.5tdci (2016) (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
    Extremely silent, comfortable and fuel-saving tyres. Average fuel consumption has improved, they are ideal for cruising since they offer a near silent and very comfortable ride. Highly recommended, would definitely buy again!
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2023
    Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (225/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
    Mercedes W211 e200k. After five years with uniroyal rain sport 3,I changed them with continental ultra contact. The car now is extremely quiet in highways and very comfortable in b roads. I ve also seen an improvement in fuel consumption. It is a highly recommended tyre for those who want comfort ride,fuel economy and good handling in different weather conditions. On the other hand the cost is high.
    Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2023
    Given 92% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
    Pros: Silent, really comfortable, fuel saving (1 lt/100 km down compared to the Sava Intensa uhp2 they replaced), excellent dry grip and braking and surprisingly good looking tyre for a touring tyre (for my taste at least), wear (after 10.000 km no visible wear signs). Haven't driven much in wet. Cons: expensive. Mediocre feedback. Not a fun tyre to drive but safe and predictable. For everyday urban use and the occasional road trip with the family, i believe they are ideal if you can afford them. Good job Continental.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2023