Michelin CrossClimate Reviews - Page 2

Given 36% while driving a Suzuki CELERIO (165/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 400 easy going miles
no ice grip at all. not good in the wet. aqua plane not bad but pull off traction is poor. find the tyre quite wobbly on the sidewalls too. they had some pull in the snow but not enough to give any real confidence. basically its better than having a summer tyre but for the price i could have gotten much better.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I live in Yorkshire. Little snow to be had. Two winters back we had a snowfall and it laid in the country. I set off in my Yeti on Continental winter tyres (850s I think}. They managed the snow fine and in pushing the Yeti I did manage to create a skid on a bend. Now over to the Cross Climates on my 2.0 tdi Passat estate. I travelled the same route and I was just as impressed. Whilst the winters on the Yeti (2wd) were excellent, I couldn't really tell the difference between the winter tyres and the Cross Climates. I was careful on the compacted areas but far happier than I would have been on a traditional summer rubber. The Cross Climates have been excellent in all weathers including 33C last summer. I have completed 15,000 miles and this autumn have swapped front to back. Front having 4mm and back 6mm remaining. I expect to get to 30,000 and will replace with new all seasons although I will review others when I get to that point and the 4seasons from Goodyear maybe the next ones on my car. One thing for certain - I'll be buying all seasons tyres for any car I own for the rest of my driving days. It's really silly not to - and furthermore ....for the cost of a bar snack for four you can move up to a premium tread and have the best quality on the road. It might just save a life.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2020
Skoda (235/50 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
I put Michelin Crossclimate tyres on my new Skoda Kodiaq 4 x 4. They performed as well as the reviews BUT I have one observation that I feel you and your readers should be made aware of. If the car is parked on my (or other) gravel driveways the gravel will stick to the tyres. And I mean stick! The longer the car is parked the more the gravel becomes stuck. The gravel stays on the tyres as I reverse up the driveway and is then deposited on the roadway. The gravel is so well stuck that the car feels like it is going over bumps as the tyres rotate. The problem is bad enough for me to now go to the trouble of prising off the gravel each time I use the car! The tyres have done this since new (now covered around 2000 miles and around 6 months old) and the problem is present irrespective of weather conditions - it makes no difference if it's freezing cold, hot, wet or dry. The problem isn't related to the gravel type in our driveway, it's a standard chipping used by the developer on our and neighbouring properties. My neighbours do not have the gravel sticking to their tyres - needless to say, they don't have Crossclimate tyres. Our other car (Suzuki S Cross All Grip) has Vector 4Season tyres on it and from brand new the gravel has never stuck to them. I also have a motorbike (BMW 1250GS) and it's soft compound tyres do not pick up the gravel either. I can drive the full length of our driveway to put the motorbike in the garage and not have a single piece of gravel in the garage. So the Crossclimates are a tyre with excellent performance but also with a considerable flaw should one regularly park on gravel.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2020
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 80% while driving a BMW 520d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
Given that this is a winter rated summer tyre I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how well they handle in the wet and ice. Only driven once in snow but were way better than normal summer tyres on my rear wheel drive BMW 5 series. Not as good as some tyres in the dry but completely manageable. Comfort levels felt unchanged from the previous Pirelli tyres fitted by BMW.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2020
Given 75% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk5 1.9 TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
Pretty much great tire overall. In the dry i had no problems with understeer. In the wet they are not the best tires i tested, some understeer happens quite often but its probably bad road quality in my country that is problem. In the snow i had overall ok perfomance they will pull you almost anywhere but they are just for snow emergency situations, i would not fit them in snowy areas. Wear is amazing, 1.5 years and they are almost as new.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2020
Given 74% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
Excellent Tyre. Very sure footed in the dry and decent in the wet, in the snow you have to take it easy but they are ok. the longevity of this tyre is amazing, nearly 46000 miles! Comfort is also excellent. Would highly recommend this tyre if your looking for an all-rounder.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2020
Given 88% while driving a Nissan LEAF Tekna (215/50 R17) on mostly town for 22,000 average miles
22000 miles nearside on the marks and off side about.0.5 millimeter above the marks. Good wet braking and good dry braking. Tire very quiet can't hear them. Only on the front of car fulkens on the back. Good in the snow and ice. Very pleased with them. Sad I can't at this time afford them so will have to go with a cheaper premium summer tire. I suppose you get what you pay for. Car is a Nissan Leaf. Only down side is fuel economy not the best.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2020
Given 88% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (225/60 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
I'm reviewing the tyre as i have a BMW X3 & i have moved from Pirelli Run Flats to the cross climate.
What a difference they have made to the car, quieter, far less jittery and i feel more comfortable now winter is about to take hold.
OK i dont do a lot of snow driving, as i live in the east midlands (water is the problem at the moment) but its nice to know if we do get some of the white stuff i'll be ready for it.
Overall i'm very pleased ... also got a 10% off deal at black circles making the tryes £50 cheaper than the run flats.
I cant really see any RF all season tyres. Im 100% happy ive made the switch
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2019
Given 91% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDIe C6 model (205/60 R16 H) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
I have passed 48000km with these tires in 3 years. They gave me an excellent feeling of safety in all condition. They were mostly driven in area (Montengro near sea) where summer temperatures are reaching 40 degree C and on winter the temperature are going around to 0 degree C. Thread depth reduced to 4mm, but this is not the problem. Problem is that small parts of rubber are falling off from tires on front axle even if I made rotation of tires each 10000km. Probably that car is too heavy in front (Audi A6 2.0 tdi C6 model). Anyhow, I strongly recommend these tires, but next one will be other set only due to price because I cannot find price in my area which is close to prices found in EU.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2019
Given 91% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (225/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
have had these on my car for 18 thousand miles over 14 months, they are still as surefooted as when new, have driven in 7cms of snow with no issues even up a fairly steep hill, they are comfortable, quiet, hard wearing and dependable.. I estimate I have around 12-18 k miles left before I need to replace them (same again)
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2019
Given 84% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 H) on mostly country roads for 38,000 easy going miles
As there are R14s on my fiesta, there is no 'plus' version available. I have replaced the fronts today after 38k miles. They were still legal but under 3mm. The rears still have 4-5mm and I have kept these for now. I fitted the same tyre again on the front as I think they are one of the best tyres I have ever had. Really solid performance all round and great for occasional snow and ice use. The first time in snow I tried an emergency stop somewhere very quiet and nearly went through the windscreen - it was if I was on Tarmac. They might not be 'the absolute best' tyre under every condition (no tyre is) but the performance I have found to be very good in every condition I have driven in and they are certainly better than most average tyres in all conditions. Given the great wear and their relatively cheap price (I paid just £45 each, fully fitted) they are a must to my mind and I was happy to replace like with like.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2019
Given 99% while driving a MINI Clubman (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Replaced set of run-flats, greatly improved overall feedback, feel so much better.
OK a Mini Clubman drives like a roller skate but now these tyres have reduced the crash bang ride, it's almost like a normal car. Wet & dry grip inspires confidence, wear is very good for the time these Michelin cross climate have been on the clubman.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2019