Mercedes Benz SLK 200 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mercedes Benz SLK 200.

Do you Drive a Mercedes Benz SLK 200? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a SLK 200 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance (6) 92% 92% 90% 92% 90% 95%
Michelin Alpin 5 (20) 85% 94% 84% 79% 89% 89%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (135) 95% 85% 89% 86% 83% 82%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (43) 89% 93% 84% 87% 84% 87%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (238) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 80%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (187) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (198) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Pirelli P Zero (127) 85% 71% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Pirelli P 7 (82) 79% 69% 71% 69% 74% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (120) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%

Mercedes Benz SLK 200 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Long story short, I've never been a fan of all seasons but this tyre has won me over big time. It's an ideal tyre for the occasional encounter with snow and ice and performs extremely well as a cold resistant dry road tyre. They feel more like a summer tyre and won't kill the fun for more "spirited" drivers. In fact I think they're better then some summer rubber I've been through. I do notice a rather intense wear compared to other tyres I've had. Guess that's the price to pay for an otherwise overwhelmingly positive performance. If you're looking for an all seaon tyre that doesn't annoy you and has plenty of reserve when the air gets cold and the roads snowed up, this one is a great option. It's also very resilient. I had a run in with a very bad pothole. The tyre was fine, it was the wheel that broke. I'll likely put them on again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-10 17:43:38
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 61% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
These tyres were on the car when I bought it, at 14000 milies. The fronts (225/40x18) are still the original tyres I believe, so have covered 26000 miles; the rears (245/35x18) were new when I got the car, so have covered 12000 milies.
Tread depth is about 1mm above the tread bar indicator on all four wheels - so the rears have worn twice as quick as the fronts, which sounds right. The wear rate sounds about right too (though I should try to keep a lighter right foot).
Grip - in the dry, great; in the wet, good. No complaints at all, as long as it's summer (in the UK). Once September arrives and the temperature starts dropping below 10 deg C, they become a liability. Even in the dry, if the temperature gets much below 9 or 10 deg C, then be very careful. I only have the 'baby' SLK; what it would be like in a 350 I hate to think.
Fortunately for me, the tyres are low on tread and it's August - so I'll be wearing some different rubber before the colder weather comes.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-15 15:29:55
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 70% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Tried the Pilot Sport 4 back to back with the Michelin Primacy 4, i.e. all tires were brand new and I compared the same car on the same day with both models of tires.

In all respects I'd the Primacy 4 tires are the best tires I've tried so far and much better than the Continenal PremiumContact I had earlier.

The main problem with Pilot Sport 4 are that they feel very hard. The road feedback is good, but it's a hard and unpleasant ride compared to Primacy 4.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-27 15:44:04
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 94% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3900 spirited miles
Never had better winter tyre. Grip in wet, dry and snow is perfect. Wear is also good, after 6000km they have worn for 1-1,5mm. And they are quiet.
There are only two downsides. Sidewalls are pretty soft so car will loose a bit of steering response but not handling and because of thread design they pick up sand and stones so much that i have no color left on side skirts and rear bumper.
If roads in your country are sanded during winter you should consider buying mudflaps.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-24 19:27:22
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 79% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
First six months (5000 km) it was the perfect tire. No slip at any conditions. Wet roads felt like dry ones regarding my previews continental sport contact 3. I was feeling that i had discovered fire with them! The next six months tires were great but not unbelievable as the first six months. From 12 to 24 months everything changed (15000 km +). Slip came often on dry. Breaking became more difficult at slow speeds with ABS involvement when more than 50% breaking power used. After 24 months and 30000 km the tire was really bad at any conditions except of highways were heating did its work and the car behaved good.
Front 225/45/18 rear 245/35/18. 30 months and 35000 km since initial condition tires performance is unacceptable. Thread is up to 5 mm at the front and 4 at the rear. Cars alignment and correct pressure are the reasons for the remaining thread. Normal driving mostly, high speeds only on highways. I wouldn't buy again not considering that it was the most expensive tire i could buy , but its perfect performance that i got used to at the beginning and vanished after 12-18 months giving me a great disappointment. Have not tried good year yet maybe i ll give it a shot. I will read some reviews and decide.

I hope i helped you, don't forget that this is the perfect tire when new and that the performance will be lost after 18 months in an every day car.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-05 20:36:45
Writing about the Nokian Z G2 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Short version: Not bad, bought again once, but now they got to go.

Long Version: Nothing wrong when driving civilized. No trouble with comfort, grip or anything. When the driving gets more exciting, usually when the roads get smaller and windier, they do a good but not outstanding job. A bit of give on the back end on dry surfaces, enough to get a rush but not so much as to end up in the bottom of the valley. Not great on wet roads. The back end gets lose quickly and ESP steps in to keep me out of that valley.

What opened my eyes a quite a lot was the Michelin Alpin 5 I got for the brief winter period. They're thiner than my summer tyres but provide a LOT more grip on wet AND dry roads. The latter one came unexpected. Now as the front wheels need replacement anyway I look into a complete replacement that gives me more confidence in the wet and grips at least as good on dry roads as the Alpin 5 does.

My sizes: 205/55/R16 (front) and 225/50/R16 (rear)
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-02 20:57:30
Writing about the Michelin Alpin 5 given 95% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Got them for a skiing trip to the Austrian alps. On the way there I drove them at high speed on the German Autobahn (limited to 210 kph due to H index). None of the usual noise and other discomforts. Very good in the rain and on wet roads. Even on the dry they grip much better than the fatter Nokian summer tyres I currently run. On snow and ice they are superb.

Had Vredestein tyres (used ones that came with the car) before and never felt comfortable with them. Drove on snow covered mountain roads at night and had tons of fun without the usual panic attacks. On ice I was fine too. Only when I had to get out of the car (e.g. Hotel park site) I realize how dangerously slippery it was.

Kept them on for a while after where they had to cope mostly with wet roads and mild snowfall. There the high level of comfort and great road feedback came into play. When taking them off I didn't detect much wear at all (despite some "fun" driving in the dry).

All in all Michelin produced yet another great Alpin Tyre. It's so good, I wish winter would last a bit longer.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-02 20:42:29
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 51% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Not a bad dry weather tyre at all. The problem for me with this tyre is that it is really poor in wet or cold and damp conditions. Have these on my wife's new SLK 200 AMG which is a 1.8T with 184BHP. Nothing outrageous in the least. Yet the back end wants to come out at the touch of the throttle mid corner at every opportunity. To the point where I don't really want my wife driving the car in wet conditions. I have Michelin Pilot Super Sports on my Audi S4 500BHP/630NM and they are seriously amazing in the dry and very good in the wet. I am going to be putting a set of those on my wifes car.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-01 13:46:28
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 83% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 average miles
My car came with Conti SportContact5s and these are just as capable but last a lot longer.
Not too noisy either. Impressive in the dry and good in the wet.
Pirelli tyres used to be very frail but they have obviously upped their game.
I would recommend these.
Got 19k out the rears and 28k out the fronts. The Contis lasted barely 12k and 19k respectively.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-08 13:17:17
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance given 93% (205-55-16-Q)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Those were on my SLK for three winters. And they are perfect for wet roads and snow. But on ice they're useless. I've chose UG performance because they are silent tires. Used for 3 seasons and I think that these are good for another 3.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-01 08:46:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 60% (245-40-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 9000 average miles
These tyres were fitted by Mercedes from manufacture. Bought the new Slk in July 2011, at it's first service in July 2012 was informed that both rear tyres were ready for replacement due to tread wear!! Have only driven 9000 miles and at a push may get another 500 out of them. Contacted Bridgestone who stated the mileage was about right, but can range up to 15,000. Big variation between 9 and 15 thousand. I am taking this up with Mercedes as I am less than impressed. My previous Slk did about 15000 before the rear tyres were anything like ready for replacement. I seem to recall they were Pirelli. Would be interested to hear from any other new SLK owners with the same problem.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-06 19:07:13
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 49% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
Factory fitted set of tires on Mercedes SLK. I was never satisfied with the grip, the car won't start without spinning except on roads that have just been layered with new tarmac. One has to drive annoyingly slow to get full traction. On full throttle starts the car spins up to 4th gear, and I consider myself a conservative driver, except on a few cases when I wanted to check their traction levels and the car's power. These two are not made for each other and I wonder who chose them for factory installation. Also they seem to warm up on extreme use and in hot summer days only. In normal driving especially during the winter they NEVER reach operating temperature.On the wet it was really scary sometimes. No sense of confidence at all. They have good feedback though, and lasted well for 30000 miles, although all OEM tires last longer. The noise is more than awful. The combination of the seat position in this car which is very close to the rear wheels, with the noise from these tires is just lethal for your ears and mental health. They are to be replaced soon and never to be bought again. An overall bad choice from MB.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-04 10:42:56
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre