Toyo Proxes C1S

The Toyo Proxes C1S is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 69%
Wear 66%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 62%

Tyre review data from 35 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 346,050 miles driven.

The Proxes C1S is ranked 104th of 190 Summer High Performance tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Toyo Proxes C1S
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/55 R16 97Y XL   E C 68  
215/45 R17 91W XL   F E 68  
215/50 R17 95W XL   E C 68  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   F C 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   E C 68  
225/55 R17 101W XL   E E 69  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   F C 69  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   F C 69  
225/50 R18 95W   E C 69  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo Proxes C1S

2017-01-12 - For your information now im using TOYO PROXES C1S at my 2.0 camry car.My tyre size is 245/40/R19.So want to ask u how standart pressure (PSI) to suit this size?. Thanks.

The tyre pressure for the Toyo Proxes C1S is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Proxes C1S Prices

Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 £94.78 - £94.78 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo Proxes C1S Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Great when new, but after about 10K kilometers they are LOUD.
At first I thought my exhaust had a leak. After a while it became worse and the problem turns out to be the Toyo's

Next summer they'll be gone for sure. I will NOT buy this tyre again!
92 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2014   
Given 76% while driving a Alfa Romeo Mito Multiair (135 hp) 13 (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
These tires are very good. They grip to the road very well. I can see myself go in corners very fast. Handling is perfect to my car. Road feedback is not great. Noise level is minimum. It is a comfortable ride. It absorbs bumps very well. It is not very responsive to my inputs but when it turns it just grips.
25 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2017   
Given 50% while driving a Mazda 2 SP (215/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Needed tyres due to a puncture, and these were all that was available at the time; would definitely not recommend this tyre for anywhere it rains! Awful in the wet, lack of grip is shocking in comparison to the Dunlop tyres that came on the car from the factory. Also the general steering feel is very poor. Nothing to recommend them unfortunately, and will be replacing them shortly - long before they wear out.
14 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2016   
Have you driven on the Toyo Proxes C1S tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Proxes C1S? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo Proxes C1S >

Latest Toyo Proxes C1S Reviews

Given 36% while driving a Hyundai (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
I had an accident because of the terrible handling, I wasn't even going that fast ~90km and the car slipped to the other side of the road, never getting anything from Toyo.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2021   
Given 69% while driving a Honda Civic FD1 1.8 i Vtec (225/45 R17 R) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
Have been using this tyre for 1 year already. Really comfort and good. But after 10000km, it starting to make noise. For wet condition. Firstly it really impressive how this tyre grip. But, after 15000km usage I think people start to recognize that you will be playing with life. I would like to give 3.5/5 for this tyre. Now, I'm using Bridgestone Potenza Adrenaline RE003. And looking foward for the result and the feedback from it. ☺
9 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2016   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 32% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/60 R16 W) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Dry and wet both grip are not good. After almost 5000 miles, became noisy and wearing out like made of chalk. Ealier, I used hankook and after 30000 miles, still in good condition and not noisy at all. But now I've reached at around 30000 miles with CIS Toyo Japan made, and front both tyres are totally gone. Deep scratches and almost treads are gone. Aging effects are also visible like small small cracks.
Extemely noisy. I'll never buy them again. Very expensive as compared to the quality.
Instead hankook Ventus ME01 is way cheaper and better than CIS.
Dear readers, please never buy toyo again, and at least once try hankook. You'll love em. Thanks
6 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2016   
Given 40% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Mivec (215/50 R17 W) on track for 30,000 average miles
When i fit them on snowy condition and 2 dgrees celcius it did a good job but one year later i cant brake, turn corners with a grip. Also the ABS worked always. It's very quiet, i cant hear any rolling resistance but not everything ride comfort
2 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2016   
Given 46% while driving a Hyundai i40 sedan (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Above average for dry , did terribly bad in the wet.comfort was not bad.wear is bad,5000km 35% are gone. Never gonna buy this again
1 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2015   
Given 73% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (235/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
The car came stock with Kumho Solus KH 16, the compound must have been hard as nails, lasted a long time, but the grip was fairly poor. After that, I tried GoodYear Eagle NCT 5 followed by GoodYear Excellence then Toyo Proxes C1S. The NCT 5 was just as bad as the Solus 16 if not worse in terms of grip especially wet grip. The car only has a 2 liter engine and yet the tire was slipping and screeching off the line all the time. Then, came the C1S, I can honestly say I was wary at first due to the less known Toyo brand. But, as it turned out it was the best tire out of the lot. The first impression was the compound felt a lot softer, as such the ride was very noticeably more compliant giving a more comfortable and quieter experience as compared to the other tires. But, one of my major concerns has always been wet grip since I live in the subtropics, and the C1S impressed me massively, no more slipping or screeching off the line and that applies to its dry grip level as well. Now, coming to the downside, that's right as some have mentioned here, the treadwear was pretty high. Don't expect it to last more than 30K km. By the time I changed mine, the inner and outer treads were almost bald. I have now replaced the C1S with some Dunlop Veuro VE302 (made in Japan and not available in UK and US) which is supposed to have similar characteristics as the C1S being a comfort and quiet tire. Not sure whether my memory serves me, but right off the bat the Dunlop didn't seem to feel as comfortable and quiet as the C1S. I think if you don't mind the fast treadwear, the C1S is still a great tire with great grip both wet and dry as well as being comfortable and quiet, not to mention the price point.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2015   
Given 57% while driving a Mitsubishi Magna VRX (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Just bought a new set coming from the standard yokohamas that come new with my car. Great Tyre but the road noise is terrible for highway driving. It is like driving a plane down the runway. I have taken back to the tyre shop to have a look and they can't find a problem with tyre, but I can see after only 5000km's that the wear on these isnt very good. Not worth the money I paid for em.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2014   
Given 74% while driving a Honda Civic FD1 1.8 i Vtec (215/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 14,000 average miles
Driven for 14,000 miles. Grips well in dry and wet. Confident when going around corners. Very comfortable for everyday driving. The one biggest drawback is how quickly they lose their tread and get quite noisy after 10,000 miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2014   
Given 76% while driving a Ford (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
These tires were great when new. Grip was great for curvy roads, torque transference was really good, especially in hilly areas. However, it wore down fairly quickly, and it now feels like im driving on slippery flip flops! Side walls look to deflect a fair bit if the car is loaded. I drive in Malaysia..weather conditions switches from mostly hot to torrential rain.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2014   
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Corolla (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 50 average miles
This is a very impressive tyre, I used it with my Corolla 1.8G on combination of road in Thailand, where is one of hottest, high humidity, 6 month rainy season and often on bad road condition in up-country. The tyres on my car are the second set of C1s . It may be the best comfort tire I ever used with well balanced properties.
I will replace my car soon and C1s is among the top tire I will choose for my new Civic FB, probably I go with T1Sport, for more aggressiveness.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 2, 2014   
Given 22% while driving a Nissan altima (215/65 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
It was one of the worst tyres ever that I have been used. Very noisy , cannot be balanced and believe me they will kill you and your family if you tried to use break extremely. I buy them for 116 $ each and they last only for less than 30000 km !

It is not worth to pay for such rubbish. I will not buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2013   
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Phaeton (4.2 V8) (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
good all rounder, feedback's good, very stable at 200kph+ handle my aggressive driving!! superior to the yoko's that they replaced and cheaper marginally.. high wear resistance but don't expect miracles they are silicon compound so will wear a little faster than normal, however i run a bit of camber and with correct tyre rotation i should get my $$ worth.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2013