Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response Reviews - Page 2

Given 74% while driving a Ford c max (225/45 R16 V) on mostly town for 237 average miles
these tyres seem very good for the money normally buy mitchelin but money very tight at the moment
0 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2015   
Given 73% while driving a Renault Megane (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
My driving style is very various depending on how I’m feeling…so I was tested this tyres in almost all conditions. First of all what I want from a tyre is to be comfortable as long as I don’t have a sport car… And unfortunately this model isn’t comfortable at all. The noise is not so far away from my Firestone Winterhawk 2 which is an winter tyre !!! The noise is really bad at this tyre and I was cheated by the EU label which evaluated at 69db and just one line from 3…
In the rest the tyres are very good in the curve and progressive driving, very good on hot (not just warm) weather but very very low performance if the temperature decreases bellow 15C…
I recommend those tyres just for the south of Europe or northern Africa weather and just if you don’t care about the noise.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2015   
Given 90% while driving a Audi A3 Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
Had these on for 2 years / >25000 miles and are only down to 4mm. (Rotated once).
Mainly motorway miles. Yesterday I encountered a relatively high speed blowout (NS rear) on the A1, where the complete tyre except the walls around the edges shredded off. I guess the solid walls of the Tyre saved any worse damage and I managed to safely get into the lay-by.
All the other Dunlops have been checked this morning and a Infinity tyre installed temporarily. Therefore, I reccomend this tyre. It has certainly proved its worth, and I guess the blowout was a one-off.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 24, 2014   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 83% while driving a Volvo V40 Estate (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 34,000 average miles
Drove 55000 km, but now these tyres worn to the limit. I think it would last more but my suspension setup isn't perfect so that's why these tyres wear so fast.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2014   
Given 90% while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
I have them for 5 years now,. Time to change them .. i wish i ccould find the same one. It is the best fitted to my needs tire since 1999 that i have changed several tires and cars.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2014   
Given 66% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/45 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 20,500 average miles
195x45-R16.Have done a little over 20,000 miles in 18 months,mainly country roads to work.Very good all round grip both wet and dry.Very quiet for 10,000 miles then began to get noisy, Am not immpressed by the wear of the tyres, have only 2.5 to 3 mm tread left after moderate driving.Looking to replace for the winter,maybe Goodyear Efficient Grip?
0 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2014   
Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 Classic Sedan (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,500 average miles
Original/factory fitted tires on my new 2013 Mercedes C180.
I was surprised to see these Dunlop tires on my new Mercedes C-Class and I was very surprised how good they are on my C180.
Very stable at all speeds, very good dry grip, very good and rapid steering response, always easy to handle also on the limits, it feels like they are rolling very light and easy.
I have driven very little in the rain but they seem to be good in the rain as well, naturally they slip a little sooner than in the dry.
The comfort and noise level is acceptable, on good roads and also at higher speeds it is good comfort, I have however driven other C-Classes with other tire brands in the same dimension with significantly better comfort and significantly lower road noise but without that little extra sporty edge that these Dunlops have.
I bought my C-Class as a primarily comfortable ride but I must admit that after driving this car for almost a year now I am a little bit torn between the sportiness of these Dunlops and other more comfort-oriented tires, these Dunlops do increase the fun factor of driving the car with a little reduction of the comfort-level that this car is capable of.
Surprisingly I like these Dunlop tires on my C-Class, I think I can generally recommend them to any car, they do not have any fault and I'm enjoying the good feel they give when I'm driving.
I have only driven less than 7000 Km so I can't really say much about the wear they do however look almost brand new so far.
1 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2014   
Given 51% while driving a Nissan Juke (205/60 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
This tyre can perform well in perfect conditions. Warm dry weather, on a smooth linear surface. Sadly this is not a reality on our roads. Skitty grip over bumps. Embarrassing wheel spin from nowhere and unpredictable wet weather grip. This tyre is not designed for the street performance keep it on the track
0 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2014   
Given 81% while driving a Audi A3 Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 12,000 spirited miles
Done 12000 miles in the last year & still approx 5mm tread left. Brill in dry & they excel in the wet. Perhaps getting a tad noisy but so far so good
0 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a Honda Prelude (195/50 R15 V) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
Very good tyre. Ia m very happy with them, alghthou they wear a bit faster than i expected, but on the other hand, I do drive a bit more agresive, then average drivers
0 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2014   
Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 TSI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
After 5000 miles I can say that these tyres are on the performance side, meaning Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response is a great tyre for when driving sportly. I drove them with speed on corners, window open, and they don't make any noise, cars around me were all squealing, the grip on corners is great. Traction is less great, I get wheel hop on wet but you can get that with any tyres considering the unsprung weight. Haven't tested hard braking on wet so I can't tell about that or aquaplanning, though control on wet is very good also. That being said, this is not the best tyre when looking for best confort and noise, as they transmit the very cracks on the road, compound and blocks are hard, so if you're looking for straight rides maybe look to softer tyres. I would buy them again if I'd had a 200ps car but otherwise I'm looking for Michelin Primacy 3 as my next summer tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2014   
Given 10% while driving a Citroën xsara picasso (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Bought these 5000km ago and replaced unknown brand with big expectations. The road noise is excesive, the comfort is gone. I feel like they are very hard or very heavy. My mpg dropped down from 43 to 39mpg.Dont know what is wrong, they are made in Germany and they are ultra high performance, but this size is for family cars rather than sport cars and what you expect from a top brand family car tyre is comfort and economy and they are missing here. I dont want to comment grip and wear because you dont push Picasso to the limit, you just put your kids in. It was an expensive mistake and i will never buy again. Probably can give the dunlops another chance, but with different model and different car. Very disapointed.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2014