Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response Reviews - Page 3

Given 66% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Tyres good on good roads. Had to replace all four tyres within six months due to punctures. Tyres very poor on anything other than new Tarmac. Tyre wall and tread very thin.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2014   
Given 93% while driving a Skoda octavia estate 4x4 (205/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Fab tyres for driving hard.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2013   
Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,300 average miles
Excellent grip even in hard cornering, excellent handling and braking even in wet, quiet but pretty hard, this is a reference tyre, don't know about fuel economy though
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2013   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 86% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 JTD (205/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I was satisfied with a tyre, changed because i wanted bigger tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2013   
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
This is a follow up review to one I did a few months back now that the tyres are nearing the end of their life and I have had time to live with them.
Tread is now down to 2.5mm on all tyres, yet grip is still very good and they are also still nice and quiet.
I have had chance to do some spirited driving on them since my last review, and although they grip well they feel a bit soft and lacking in feel. However they are more of a touring tyre rather than a sporty one, and are biased towards comfort.
They have worn very evenly over the 20k miles that they have done, although they have worn out a little bit more quickly than I would have liked considering my driving style. It seems the excellent grip does have a downside.
I am probably going to replace with the Sport Maxx RT, as they are a more sporty tyre but are a similar price. If I was going for a like for like replacement the Sport Blue response looks to be a good performance upgrade over these.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2013   
Given 87% while driving a Audi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
Update-
Had Since last January and have covered approx 6k miles mainly on the motorway.
I have 7mm left on the rears and 6mm on the front, evenly worn all round.
The dry grip is good, but the wet is where these excellent in my opinion. I find myself going much faster when it rains as they really do feel safe, secure and responsive.
They are quiet tyres compared to my previous Pirellis, but this is probably due to a softer compound/ wall, so I find on quick turns and bends that the car feel floaty.
All in all very happy so far.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2013   
Given 71% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Characteristics important for the ride are very good, but tire wear and noise is a little too big.32000km. I think it will withstand 50000 km.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2013   
Given 39% while driving a Toyota T Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Had these fitted to both my cars (one light weight sports car and the other a people carrier). Terrible hard compound tyre with no moving thread blocks giving extremely poor grip. Strangely these wear out just as quick good soft compound tyres. Buy Michelin Primacy 3 for all roundness or Uniroyal Rainsport for erm sporting in the rain.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2013   
Given 80% while driving a Citroën xsara picasso (185/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
Just had these fitted, very happy - grippy and quiet. Will report back in a few thousand miles, but so far so good.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a Citroën C2 VTS (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Good tyres, got my car with random mismatch tyres on all 4 corners and found these for what I see as reasonable price, and ended up having them on all 4 corners now, good grip in wet, good grip in dry, they are awful in the snow, (or my cars awful in the snow, not sure but use to be fine in saxo with random midrange tyres on). Feel like the car doesn't accelerate to its full potential, but when your up to speed the grip is immense, so you can just keep the momentum going haha
The fronts are about ready for a new set about 1.8mm left and rears have 2.8mm left so will need changing soon too. That's after 12000 miles of spirited driving, between dual carrageways 50% and town/villages 50%.
More than likely will buy again, just looking at minute for something that will allow to accelerate abit quicker maybe Michelin pilot sport 3's, but not sure if its worth changing from a tyre I know I'm really happy with to a tyre that's pretty much same, or better, but possibly won't be.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2013   
Given 26% while driving a Mitsubishi lancer (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Less than average tyre.
Done about 1000 miles in these.
Road noise is excessive and had to change them.
Average grip in wet and dry.
Too soft for my liking.
Car took longer to accelerate.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2013   
Given 86% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Very good tyres.After 50.000km (3125 miles) have very good grip in dry roads but i think is the time to change!!!
0 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2013