Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews - Page 2

Given 71% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I have this on my car since march this year and after aprox. 9000km they have 1mm wear (from 6.5 when they come in new to 5.5 this week). I drove around 1300km straight (prague-bucharest) in 15h and they felt stable at 200km/h on highway. I would not buy again because of the low profile (6.5mm new).
45 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2019   
Given 75% while driving a Toyota Sienta (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 100 average miles
Just fitted a brand new set made in Slovakia, replacing almost 2 year old CPC5 of the same size that were worn down to 4mm.
Immediately I am already disappointed that the new EcoContact 6's brand new tread depth is only around 6mm!
All new tyres I've bought in the past start at 8mm. Other owners of this tyre seem to have noticed this as well and unless Continental explains this properly, it can be seen as an attempt to shortchange customers.

Performance wise, I noticed a marked reduction in rolling resistance, noise, and bumpiness vs the old CPC5. At downhill stretches in my daily work commute, my car actually now builds up speed rather than lose speed. I also noticed less need to tap on the petrol pedal to during coasting at low speeds. Tyres feel a bit 'floaty' than the CPC5.

They are very prone to squealing/screeching when turning at low speeds over car park painted flooring and it is very much louder than the previous tyres. Not sure if that's a good or bad sign. Dry grip seems to be good but no experience yet at wet emergency braking.

Will report back again once these tyres have gone through many more miles.
15 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2019   
Given 54% while driving a Mazda mx 5 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 6,000 easy going miles
The tires provide a great drive. The major disadvantage is, as already mentioned here by others, that the tread depth of the new tires is 6.5 mm or less.
Unacceptable for me. I will not buy Continental again, especially since they state on their website that 8-9 mm is normal for a new tire.
31 - tyre reviewed on April 25, 2019   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 84% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 1,200 average miles
I bought these to replace my PremiumContact 5 after six years and about 40k km (half the year i use winter tyres). Compared to those EcoContact 6 surprised me on rolling resistance and comfort. After about 2k km i noticed approx. 2-3% less fuel consumption. Road shock absorbance was astounding to me (i have a small car); almost like i improved my suspension. Road noise was also excellent; my kids for the same speeds think we are going slower. Last great positive was handling over bumps: because they seem to absorb shocks in an excellent way, encountering a bump at a turn resulted to excellent behavior; very surprised. Didn’t drive much over wet yet to infer a conclusion. On the negatives: i find steering a bit more num over the PremiumContact 5. I think spirited drivers should turn their head away from this choice (the tyre is not targeting them anyways). To summarize, an excellent tyre on what it promises: fuel economy, comfort with good safety.
30 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Honda Jazz (175/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre that provides the best handling and comfort to your car . Low road noice and direct wheel feadback.
For wear i hope that they will last at least 40k km's. Definetely i will buy the again
25 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019   
Given 36% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
In a nutshell terrible.

Bought a brand new car and they came on the car as new. Surprisingly like the other review on here they have only between 6 and 6.5mm on them brand new. They are not very comfortable either and transmit bumps in the road into the and are noisy. Dry grip is average at best as is wet grip.

A few years back I replaced a different continental tyre set on my car at only 6000 miles! the wear I expect to be terrible as on these. Previously I made a set of goodyears last 30,000 miles a BMW 320D so definitely not my driving style causing the wear.

Once these are worn I will certainly not replace them with the same junk Continental. As an organisation they should be ashamed. Low tread depths and poor wear probably to get through tyre tests with good scores.

If you are reading this review and consider these tyres I would say DONT. There are other brands out there that are well priced with better grip, better comfort, more new tread depth and better wear!

34 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2019   
Given 10% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
I bought a pair of these for the front of my car and drove them approximately 14 miles home today. I have measured the tread depths and found them to be approximately 6.5 mm. The Continental Premium Contact 5 which were removed had done about 28000 miles and had worn down to approximately 3 to 4 mm. These tyres were original equipment on the car and I am pretty sure the tread depths were of the order of 8 mm when they were new. When I have bought quality tyres in the past, they have generally had around 8 mm of tread. If the tyres wear at the same rate, it appears I will have to replace them at a much lower mileage. It is possible that the new tyres will wear at a considerably reduced rate. However, I am sceptical and suspect that I will have to replace then at rather less than 28000 miles.
Are manufacturer's quietly reducing the life of their tyres for commercial reasons?
This practice is surely environmentally unsound. More used tyre casings will be produced for a given vehicle mileage. Greater stress should be placed on tread depth (and longevity) of tyres when they are advertised new. Perhaps a statement of the tread depth in the description should be legally required. This would help to sort out the tendency of tyre manufacturers toward selling tyres of reduced tread depth.
I will try and add a further review when I have had the tyres for a bit longer.
40 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a (195/55 R15 H) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Not been on long enough to say as yet
29 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
Nice , very nice and comford for my polo 9n.
Very stable when i drive for 120-150 kmh at motorways , warm early at town but note is very soft for long distance every day use .
Fine for daily use at town and a cool trip every weekend , thats all .
428 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2018