Volkswagen Golf MK5 GT 170 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf MK5 GT 170.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf MK5 GT 170? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf MK5 GT 170 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
BFGoodrich gForce Winter 2 (25) 85% 90% 80% 85% 86% 91%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (406) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (298) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (307) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Lassa DriveWays Sport (10) 88% 85% 84% 78% 84% 65%
Falken Eurowinter HS439 (17) 86% 83% 86% 81% 83% 77%
Petlas Snow Master W651 (27) 77% 66% 64% 69% 86% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (57) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Tigar Syneris (20) 75% 61% 62% 61% 61% 65%

Volkswagen Golf MK5 GT 170 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the BFGoodrich gForce Winter 2 given NAN% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
First winter with these tires in 600-1000metres above the sea level region with rainy,slushy and snowy winters and everyday drive to work , around 140km to work and back exceptional performance in wet and slushy roads, the snow performance is good but you actually don't have any feel with the road (Electric Power Steering) still talking about a FWD car with pretty much Nm and heavy engine infront of the wheels which create really annoying understeer, the ice perfomance is good enough so the ESP can handle almost every situation, on a dry road above 12 degrees celsius the tire tend to roll in the curve and have the feeling the it's loosing grip but the ESP compensate on that one, the tires also create a symphony at high speeds on the wet also hit a couple of fallen rocks on the road so in my opinion the sidewall is pretty strong on these.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-13 10:01:56
Writing about the Lassa DriveWays Sport given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
These are very reliable tyres and I put them at the front. Excellent grip in both dry and wet. The sidewall is just stiff enough to ensure stable cornering and handling. Not the quiestest tyres but the noise level is totally acceptable.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-24 13:30:07
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 14500 average miles
Excellent grip in both the wet and the dry. I didn't have problems on snow also. The feedback you get from the tyres is surprising good. However, they lasted only for 22,000 km (GoodYear Asyymetric 2 and Michelin Primacy 3 lasted longer). Taking into consideration the price and the period that the tyres lasted, probably I won't buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-23 21:24:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 250 spirited miles
These tires are awesome!They changed tottaly the feeling of the steer.the car became safer more accurate while steering.brake on dry roads (with bad quality) is immediate responsive!negative:they absorb very well small imperfections of the road but on larger ones they transmit the impact badly.very little driven on wet roads but i felt like they are like in the dry.Excellent tyre i would definitely buy it again
The tyres before them were goodyear assymetric 2 and in comparison is day and night in favour of PS4 of course.Have a Happy new year from Greece.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-29 14:33:39
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 71% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 14000 average miles
Very good grip in dry and wet conditions. Driving in curves, I found them a bit softer compared to Good Year Assymetric 2 F1. In terms of noisy levels, I would say that were low. The front tyres lasted about 7,000 miles and therefore I had to bring the back tyres in front. They lasted a bit more compared to Assym 2 F1. On the road, I enjoyed more the Assymetric 2 F1 compared to PS3. However, If you are looking for a comfortable sport tyre, then the Pilot Sport 3 should be your choice. My next choice was Michelin Primacy 3.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-13 21:37:17
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 66% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 average miles
Excellent grip in dry and wet conditions. In terms of noisy levels, I would say that were OK. The front tyres lasted less than 6,000 miles and therefore I had to bring the back tyres in front. I tried them for second time and I kept the front tyres until the "change levels". That was at 7.200 miles where I bought a new pair. So I am not satisfied at all of the weariness. My next choice was Michelin Pilot sport 3.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-13 21:30:22
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 84% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Awesome tyres, better than my Dunlop SportMaxx RT
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-08 12:43:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
these tyres have transformed my car i previously had vredestein ultrac but these have the edge!
comfort is better than the ultracs dry grip is on par, but the goodyears have the edge in the wet.
cant tell wear yet as only been on car 1000 miles, i would recommend these tyres strongly!
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-20 16:23:57
Writing about the Tigar Syneris given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Brilliant, my car sounds quiet well apart from my exhaust when pushing past 4k revs lol, very comfy on the roads. Look at bit weird but can't complain for what I paid, would recommend to any one.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-20 18:20:58
Writing about the Petlas Snow Master W651 given 79% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 average miles
Best price/ performance
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-14 14:49:54
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS439 given 91% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
super wintertyres!
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-16 15:28:34
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24125 average miles
Lasts forever but needs time to warm up.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-10 10:58:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre